We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Good”
Review of Silverbirch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silverbirch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Certificate of Excellence
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Good”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The bed was so comfy I slept it out and was almost late for work!! Good complaint for the bed bad for me who turned off the alarm! The room was really clean and genuinely comfy! The shower was one of those epic showers with a good power wash feeling and perfect temp as well! No wonder I slept so well. I didn't eat there as after looking at the menu I decided it was expensive for what was on offer and opted to go into town instead. Breakfast was rushed-I had slept it out but the variety of cereals was good. I would like to see something other then a fry as a hot breakfast option though. If I find myself in Omagh again I would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    124
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
95
105
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff. rooms are fine although the windows don't fit properly, which is a common problem in mass built irish hotels. Which is a bit daft considering the money that goes into building something this size. So plenty of road noise but it's quiet at nighttime.
But the food....... Oh dear. Dinner in the "Grill" was microwaved packaged food, that included the roast lamb and the pork belly. We didn't even know you could get slow roasted pork belly in a vacuum pack!
Breakfast was even worse! The mushrooms, also microwaved, had a sheen of sweat on them and we're the same pallid colour as brain material. And probably tasted similar. The bacon was obviously ordered extra extra extra salty. Maybe to make you drink more of the chicory flavoured brown water masquerading as coffee.
Stay here. Just don't eat anything here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding at the weekend at the Silverbirch hotel and found both the helpfulness of the staff and also the quality of the food excellent, a credit to the hotel and their management. Keep up the great work.
We have been to this hotel a few times now and have never been let down.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dshawphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PONTEFRACT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel in Omagh Northern Ireland along with my wife, her sister and husband. The reason for the stay was to attend a birthday party for my wifes brother. The hotel is located around 10 mins walk from the town centre and is a family run business. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful, we arrived ealier than anticipated so our rooms were not ready this was no problem to the staff, they quickly arranged for us to leave our luggage in a safe places and pointed out where the dining area/bar was should we wish to have some form of refreshment.
The hotel only has a three star rating was far better in all aspects than a four star one I stayed at last year.

The food is first class having a good selection, all the meals were hot tasty and plenty full.

The rooms are modern clean and tidy and have all the usual items you would expect plus a trouser press and ironing board and iron .

It was nice to return to The Biches agin as I had my wedding reception there almost 46 years ago.

I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel again in the future and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DENNIS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone, NI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After reading previous review Im wondering do people just 'accept' too easily the food they are served. My children kindly offered to take me to lunch on the Saturday before Mothers Day for lunch in the hope of missing the normal rush on the Sunday. When we arrived the hotel was certainly not busy. However, the food, oh dear it was terrible!. The steak I had was just about able to be chewed,it was supposed to come with mushrooms and onions on the side,four mushrooms(the tiny ones),and three small french fried onions and oven chips. The black bean stir fry had hardly any vegetables and a plateful of sauce and the chicken wrap was dry and tasteless. How these three simple dishes can be so bad is hard to comprehend. To cheer ourselves up we asked for the desert menu which was impressive but the food again did not match. The banoffee looked that simple a child could have served it. I then had an Irish coffee but it was served without sugar. I could go on but I won't - enough said - it was the worst food and service that we have had in a long time.We did bring it to the attention of the waitress when we were paying but she was disinterested.We won't be back I can assure you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelGirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo de la Miel, Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We enjoy visiting Omagh and always look forward to staying at The Silver Birch.

We'd asked if we could have early check in and on arrival everything was ready for us.

The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and are pristinely cleaned, plenty of tea and coffee with delicious biscuits and a sachet of hot chocolate. I'm not a fan of the milk cartons, so I asked for a jug of fresh milk (I do this in the majority of hotels I stay in). There's also plenty of toiletries, a shoe shine and a small sewing set which came in handy.

The Hotel is set back from the main road so we managed a pleasant nights sleep each night of our stay.

The food is delicious and tasty and there's always plenty of choice.

Looking forward to returning in the next few weeks.

The staff are very attentive in all departments and made our stay very comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, just passing through and needing somewhere to stay. The price was OK, the location also. The bar/restaurant is a bit 'plasticky' but decent Guinness and good food nonetheless. My lady friend was tickled when I returned from a visit to the loo with a small box of 'Poppets' the chocolate covered toffees. Yes, they really do have Poppets in 'that' machine! Breakfast was excellent. All in all, a pretty good find.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieGillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omagh
13.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Clanabogan House
Clanabogan House
#2 of 3 in Omagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
23.2 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
22.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbirch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbirch Hotel

Property: Silverbirch Hotel
Address: 5 Gortin Road, Omagh BT79 7DH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Omagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Omagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbirch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverbirch Hotel is a family-run 3* hotel in Omagh, offering you the finest tradition of Irish hospitality, superb cuisine and a warm welcome in lavish and modern surroundings, that will make your visit a memorable one. Provides an ideal base for discovering the sights and attractions in the local area. The hotel is located less than a mile out of the town heading on the B48 towards Gortin. Furthermore the hotel is located on the North West Passage and the Ulster Way leading to the Sperrins, Gortin Glens and close by the renowned Ulster American Folk Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silverbirch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverbirch Hotel Omagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing