We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peacefull and quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Lomond

Loch Lomond
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.37*
and up
Loch Lomond Cruise: Northern Highlights
Ranked #407 of 3,053 things to do in Scotland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest fresh-water loch in the United Kingdom.
Milton keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“peacefull and quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

As I have grown up I have appreciated mother nature. Loch lomond really hits the spot for truly relaxing place to be at , when I went it was a little out of season but to me it felt more private. The weather was a bit cold but misty so I didn't stay too long. There was a good range of shops there and close by was a lovely place you can stay in called Tullie inn. I had a lovely breakfast there and the staff were polite and courteous. Overall I would recommend a nice weekend there to relax and take in all that nature can give.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ally4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    86
    23
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited this place whilst staying on a caravan site in Ayr. We went along with my son who lives in Kilmarnock so we had the day with him plus see the sights. We spent the day here, had lunch in the shopping complex and looked around then drove further around the loch. Lots of boats for hire (although we didn't hire them) Plenty of cafes for drinks, food and toilets. We saw a duck family 2 adults with about 5 babies following so cute. Plenty of photo opportunities too we took a lot of photo's. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscath52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Changing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have recently visited Loch Lomond for the first time. We were struck by it's size but enjoyed the changing view as we drove round the Loch. The light and cloud changed the colour of the loch and hillsides so that the same view changed as you sat and watched.
We would recommend trying to use some of the smaller roads that run parallel to the main route as these bring you nearer to the Loch and allow you to stop and enjoy the view. It is worth the trip to see the Loch even if you are not based there, we travelled up from Troon but was well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant scenery - Poor staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from a two night stay at this great location. We used this site many years ago previously and really enjoyed it .We travelled as a family of five and one dog. The site is spotless and well set out. As usual for Loch Lomond at this time of year the MIDGES had the tackety boots on and were not afraid to use them. The site has changed over the years unfortunately for the worse. We were in the process of putting our pop up gazebo up when we were immediately approached by one of the wardens ( the older one of the two who were patrolling on bikes ) who said we weren't allowed to put it next to our tent and that it had to be 6 metres away from it due to fire regulations therefore we decided not to bother with it. We put up two wind breakers and were once again given a visit by the same warden who informed us that we could not have two as they exceeded the six pole rule due to fire regulations. After I had removed one of the wind breakers he proceeded to tell us that we shouldn't have our car on the grass - as there is just a single track road in the site god only knows where your car was supposed to go .By now this would be policeman was on a roll and told me to keep my dog on a short lead at all times - but the best was yet to come. The rule master then informed us that we weren't allowed to sit outside our tent and have a relaxing beer or wine as it was still classed as drinking in public - are they having a laugh or what. You pay your money and then you are under the command of the most unhelpfull jobs worth we have ever had the misfortune to meet on the numerous camp sites that we have visited over the years. As you have probably guessed by now we will not be making a return visit. Just before I go and book a better camp site in Morar may I advise Mr jobs worth that riding a bike after dark with no lights on must be against your rules - so take heed you never know you might crash into an un-manned gazebo or god forbid a SEVEN pole wind breaker.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cashel Camp Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The plan was to give Jarvie, our 1972 VW Camper (www.amilight-campers.co.uk) a wee test run before the start of the camping season so popped along to Loch Lomond, just over an hour from our Ayrshire base.

We arrived later than we expected but called the site to let them know, upon our arrival we were greeted by Jan, one of the site managers and given a lovely warm welcome. We were taken into the well stocked shop and given an explanation of site facilities and regulations. We were advised we could take our pick of vacant pitches as we had paid in advance on-line for the premier Loch-side pitch.

We opted for a quiet corner of the site right on the water, the views are spectacular. We quickly got hooked up to the mains power supply and popped up the awning, typically the wind picked up for this part, just to add the genuine Scottish feel to the experience!

After a nice and much deserved cup of tea in Jarvie we had an explore of the site with our wee Cocker Spaniel.

Cashel is a lovely site, not just its fabulous setting on the Loch and surrounded by natural beauty but also its well maintained pitches and immaculately clean facilities.

We picked the furthest pitch possible from the facilities (nothing like planning) but still the short walk through the site (even in the rain) was pleasant and returning down the pebble beach lovely. The shower blocks were immaculate on every visit and although the camp site was not busy there were certainly enough people about to make a mess. The piped music in the blocks was a nice touch as was the central heating that kept a very comfortable temperature despite the pouring rain and howling wind. The showers are fabulous, with buckets of hot water, and, again always perfectly clean.

Although not used on our short trip we noticed the laundry with large washer and dryer and the family shower room would be great for those travelling with kids.

Drinking water taps, waste water disposal and general waste bins were all located discreetly but conveniently around the site and again kept clean at all times during our stay.

The site is full of wildlife with ducks roaming the pitches in search of left overs, many campers were happy to oblige!

The site is a little remote if you don't want to drive from it, but we were there to test out the van and walk the dog so perfectly happy with some great walks through the forest and up the hills behind the site, great views, probably even better when not raining!

In summary this is a great site with a fabulous location, friendly and welcoming team and immaculate facilities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amilight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loch Lomond also viewed

Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing