We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same old same old”

Atholl Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 670 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Same old same old”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Oh dear. Haven't been at the Atholl for over a year and nothing has changed. Think the menu is still the same!!! Even the "incontinence seats" in the restaurant for the vast majority of it's patrons (average age 75). Go to the Atholl if you don't like change. Rather boring and staid for average joe. Certainly won't rush back and can't recommend unless you are a Senior Senior.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HankBrogieLabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for a family function. We had a family room on the top floor of the hotel, it was spacious and very well equipped. The breakfast was really delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha-dima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
766 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Good traditional fayre”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Atholl has been a venerable institution in the Beechgrove / Upper Rosemount area of Aberdeen for many, many years. I know that it must hae evolved, but i reality, it is still like the same place I first visited 25 years ago, and still serving real Scottish food, cooked traditionally and served well.
We had taken our staff out for dinner, and found it hard to fault. I had the lamb, which rivaled my favourite lamb from the Flualp in Zermatt. The brullee over chocolate mousse and orange was a really good dessert.
Please keep this going for another 25 years!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Food was first class. Had breakfast and dinner two days and lunch one day. Everything was cooked to perfection. Can recommend the breakfasts, in particular the Smoked Haddock and poached egg at breakfast. The evening meals were beautifully cooked and well presented.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank allyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had the Atholl chicken curry perfect as always. This hotel never let's you down lovely atmosphere pleasant staff no wonder it's always busy if you haven't been give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atholl Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Atholl Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing