We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average fare” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bhan Thai

Bhan Thai
Ranked #126 of 658 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lovely starter, poor main (bland). Two eating (different menu choices) and both came to same conclusion. Regular Thai eaters.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gosbts1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    71
    17
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still good, but getting pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Five of us went back to Bhan Thai on Saturday, had the usual banquets.
Can't fault the food, it really was exceptional, as ever.
The only thing we noticed is that the prices have risen to a level that doesn't really sit comfortably with the ambience/decor of the restaurant.
£45 a head, which is what we paid, is the sort of money we expect to pay for great food and a nice restaurant.
I'm not being unfair to Bhan Thai when I say the decor isn't modern or particularly comfortable, having a bit of a ramshackle/haphazard feel to it.
If I can put it another way, it's not the sort of restaurant you feel the need to smarten up to go to!
Some may like this and I used to as well, when the prices were more reasonable.
But the fact is the prices are now at the level where they need to spend money on the place itself to justify them, as the food alone (whilst superb) isn't enough any more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My boyfriend and I used to go here a few years ago and always had a great experience. After moving away we came back to have a meal and had a brilliant time. The food was delicious (I recommend the green curry!), hot and quick to appear - but more importantly, the service was exceptional - waiting staff were very attentive, we never had to ask for a refill and everything was incredibly prompt. They were also very friendly and engaging.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Went last night as a last minute decision, staff were very accommodating especially as we did not have a table. The restaurant soon filled up so we were lucky to get a table at that was only at 7.00pm - good sign. There was a mixture of Thai and prawn crackers on the table which was a nice contrast. We had prawns throughout, prawn skewers with a Thai dip to start were very fresh, large and well cooked I.e. not over cooked and the Thai dip was definitely a taste of all the 4 Thai senses. I then had jumbo prawn green Thai curry and my husband had jumbo prawn BBQ sizzler player - both out of this world, the jumbo prawns were more like langoustines - huge they cam split and on the shell which made both dishes visually stunning as well as tasting delicious. We had coconut rice which was fluffy light and flavored and they gave more crackers which between two was ample.

Would thoroughly recommend and will be back like a shot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rltradesales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai in Aberdeen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Third visit to the Bhan Thai and still same Thai style service not always good but usually eventful and if you can accept it in the correct manner it will bring a smile to your face. For some reason they always seem to run out of Singa and Chang beers, so must keep a very limited stock. Food was excellent as usual but portion sizes were less than previous visits. It is always busy so hopefully they are not cutting back for the extra "Bhat" as they will only loose credibility. Will go back though as nice relaxed atmosphere and great authentic Thai food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bhan Thai also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Bhan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing