We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you should never have to wait for a drink....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunavon House Hotel
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“you should never have to wait for a drink....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

...or a bill when you are the only customers in a restaurant!

Two lovely main courses, very tasty and no complaints. Deserts were so so...one had obviously been heated in a microwave and had gone hard round the edges, but in general food was good.

Staff seemed much more concerned with setting up for breakfasts and chatting than serving paying customers tho which was extremely annoying when it is not a cheap place to eat.

Not our first visit and sure it won't be our last but definitely some improvement on service required.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
9
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very friendly and well presented, all rooms are excellent and well appointed.The food is very good and the staff are welcoming and accommodating. One downside is if you at the front of the building the noise from taxis dropping off can be disturbing also smokers congregate near the front entrance which is not pretty.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the building , also the noise from the airport can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have eaten in the restaurant several times as it is open to Non - Residents.
The food is excellent but it is all downhill after that.
Service is poor and most of the staff appear untrained, young and not very interested.
This would be forgivable if the prices were not extremely high for pretentious pub grub.
The food and prices are not compatible with the standard of service.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshortplanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I am a female business traveller and have stayed in many hotels in and around Aberdeen.

This, most recent stay at the Dunavon, was my second time; it would not have been my first, second or third choice but most of the other hotels in the area that I prefer to stay in were fully booked.

My first stay (around June 2011) was ok but one minor dislike that I had at that time about the Dunavon on that stay was the lack of windows in any of the public areas e.g. dining room/bar. I was also, on that trip, allocated a room on the ground floor that had no windows and overall I felt rather claustrophobic. That was in the summer though and now it's winter and dark outside anyway, I decided that this was not likely to be an issue for my second visit.

This time, I was given a room on the first floor, it had a window. Yaay. What it also had was a remote control for the TV that did not work, though a call to reception quickly brought a lovely lady with replacement batteries – this did not fully solve the problem though - not her fault-, bedside lamps which gave off little or no light, a bathroom which bizarrely had no radiator or form of heating (the temperature in there was arctic ,being January), no shelf or anywhere on which to put toiletries and no towel rail. So toiletries and towels had to ‘live’ on the floor of the bathroom, or in my case, in my luggage as this was the more hygienic option. Who designed this bathroom?? Seriously. The room also had a ‘desk/dressing table’ which was positioned under a sloping part of the ceiling in the room that had no mirror and the desk lamp did not work. What was the point in this? It could be used neither for work or as a dressing table.

On my first night, while brushing my teeth in the freezing bathroom, I noticed that the ‘stubble’ from the previous occupant, who had obviously had a shave, was all over the tap area of the sink and had been missed by the cleaners. On opening the bedside drawer, I saw that his half eaten bag of peanuts and discarded beer bottle top, had been missed too.

The food at the Dunavon is reasonably good, and I found the staff that I encountered to be pleasant and helpful, so why do they let themselves down by not paying attention to the detail? This is the difference between a good and a bad hotel.

Dunavon is by no means the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in and has some good points but I will not choose to stay there again. Can I suggest that he owner/manager goes into each room and tries to envisage being a guest in their own hotel? This might help them to see the shortcomings and to rectify them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hearts21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

if you are looking for a hotel room near Dyce airport at a reasonable cost this is a good choice. Modern clean hotel rooms ( maybe a bit small) and a restaurant that provides a good standard of food a t a reasonable price. The main draw back is the noise from the airport as well as the noise from other guests moving around at early hours in the morning

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

During my two night stay I was rather happy with the staff. The restaurant served some great meals, not extremely fast but I wouldn't expect that from a small place. My room was very clean, but very small. Twin bed with barely enough room to turn around, I got a little claustrophobic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFLDkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The reason i say more like a B&B than an hotel.
My room was on the first floor at the rear so i had to walk along a corridar of plaster board walls and doors,on entering the room everything was adequate apart from the cupboard/wardrobe
which i did'nt use as i was only staying one night.the floor in the bathroom creaked quite a bit,the wall between the adjoining room was just plaster board and i could hear the person talking on his phone,sneezing etc.the decor was all well kept as with the carpet and was all very clean and tidy.
No complaints with the food i ordered my soup was pipping hot as was my main course and plenty of it,the hotel has quaint bar with a good stock of malt whisky's the beer i had was spot on
i sat on a comfertable sofa after my meal and enjoyed a nice cold pint of belhavens best and read a newspaper of which there was plenty.
Breakfast was another story i walked into the breakfast area and helped myself to juice and cerial which i had finished before anyone noticed i was there (i was not that early 6.30am ish)
then i ordered a full breakfast on which i can't comment as i can't remember so it can't of been that good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.7 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
#47 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Moxy Aberdeen Airport
0.3 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunavon House Hotel

Property: Dunavon House Hotel
Address: 60 Victoria Street | Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dunavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunavon House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing