We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing wee hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunavon House Hotel
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Have stayed here on and off over the years and have never been disappointed, lovely rooms, good food and friendly staff! What more do you need?
Being close to the heliport and airport there are a lot of transient workers but hotel always maintains a good standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

...or a bill when you are the only customers in a restaurant!

Two lovely main courses, very tasty and no complaints. Deserts were so so...one had obviously been heated in a microwave and had gone hard round the edges, but in general food was good.

Staff seemed much more concerned with setting up for breakfasts and chatting than serving paying customers tho which was extremely annoying when it is not a cheap place to eat.

Not our first visit and sure it won't be our last but definitely some improvement on service required.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank habzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very friendly and well presented, all rooms are excellent and well appointed.The food is very good and the staff are welcoming and accommodating. One downside is if you at the front of the building the noise from taxis dropping off can be disturbing also smokers congregate near the front entrance which is not pretty.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the building , also the noise from the airport can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We have eaten in the restaurant several times as it is open to Non - Residents.
The food is excellent but it is all downhill after that.
Service is poor and most of the staff appear untrained, young and not very interested.
This would be forgivable if the prices were not extremely high for pretentious pub grub.
The food and prices are not compatible with the standard of service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank twoshortplanks56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I am a female business traveller and have stayed in many hotels in and around Aberdeen.

This, most recent stay at the Dunavon, was my second time; it would not have been my first, second or third choice but most of the other hotels in the area that I prefer to stay in were fully booked.

My first stay (around June 2011) was ok but one minor dislike that I had at that time about the Dunavon on that stay was the lack of windows in any of the public areas e.g. dining room/bar. I was also, on that trip, allocated a room on the ground floor that had no windows and overall I felt rather claustrophobic. That was in the summer though and now it's winter and dark outside anyway, I decided that this was not likely to be an issue for my second visit.

This time, I was given a room on the first floor, it had a window. Yaay. What it also had was a remote control for the TV that did not work, though a call to reception quickly brought a lovely lady with replacement batteries – this did not fully solve the problem though - not her fault-, bedside lamps which gave off little or no light, a bathroom which bizarrely had no radiator or form of heating (the temperature in there was arctic ,being January), no shelf or anywhere on which to put toiletries and no towel rail. So toiletries and towels had to ‘live’ on the floor of the bathroom, or in my case, in my luggage as this was the more hygienic option. Who designed this bathroom?? Seriously. The room also had a ‘desk/dressing table’ which was positioned under a sloping part of the ceiling in the room that had no mirror and the desk lamp did not work. What was the point in this? It could be used neither for work or as a dressing table.

On my first night, while brushing my teeth in the freezing bathroom, I noticed that the ‘stubble’ from the previous occupant, who had obviously had a shave, was all over the tap area of the sink and had been missed by the cleaners. On opening the bedside drawer, I saw that his half eaten bag of peanuts and discarded beer bottle top, had been missed too.

The food at the Dunavon is reasonably good, and I found the staff that I encountered to be pleasant and helpful, so why do they let themselves down by not paying attention to the detail? This is the difference between a good and a bad hotel.

Dunavon is by no means the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in and has some good points but I will not choose to stay there again. Can I suggest that he owner/manager goes into each room and tries to envisage being a guest in their own hotel? This might help them to see the shortcomings and to rectify them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hearts21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

if you are looking for a hotel room near Dyce airport at a reasonable cost this is a good choice. Modern clean hotel rooms ( maybe a bit small) and a restaurant that provides a good standard of food a t a reasonable price. The main draw back is the noise from the airport as well as the noise from other guests moving around at early hours in the morning

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

During my two night stay I was rather happy with the staff. The restaurant served some great meals, not extremely fast but I wouldn't expect that from a small place. My room was very clean, but very small. Twin bed with barely enough room to turn around, I got a little claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NFLDkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.3 mi away
Craighaar Hotel
Craighaar Hotel
#47 of 65 in Aberdeen
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Speedbird Inn, Aberdeen Airport
0.3 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#39 of 65 in Aberdeen
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunavon House Hotel

Address: 60 Victoria Street | Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7EE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £56 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunavon House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dunavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunavon House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing