We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room, food disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Ranked #11 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent room, food disappointing”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in Feb, March and April. Check in was always sraight forward and staff friendly. The rooms on the first floor are not lift accessible which is a nuisance with heavy luggage. The rooms are clean and roomy, the bathrooms a little tired but not an issue.
The disappointing feature of this hotel is the food, especially at lunchtime - soup was alsways too salty and mains generally lacking flavour. The eveining menu came well presented and much better all round.
Very expensive bar which closes early!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have any luggage! There is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyleask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor P, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel.
We offer porterage to all our guests, I am sorry to learn that this wasn't communicated to you upon your arrival. We are happy to accommodate requests for ground floor rooms.
I was disappointed to read your comments about the food, and have passed them onto our head chef for his attention. The extended variety of evening meals is part of our improvement plan.
We Look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,

Gabor Petia
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    166
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
93
33
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just arrived home from a weekend at the Thistle Airport Hotel. Lovely accommodation and good food. Staff all very nice. It is near the airport terminal but aircraft noise was not a problem.
Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor P, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.
We are more than happy to be at your service next time you visit Aberdeen.

Kind Regards
Gabor Petia
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston_traveler
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stay here quite regularly, its generally good, food is very good (although overpriced) service is always excellent and for the airport its ideal. The room size, cleanliness and facilities are very good..... However a general well know issue is that some rooms are too hot... there is no air con. If you open your window the 2 inchest that it lets you, you are liable to an industrial early monring call (if you are sleeping at the back of the hotel on a weekday).

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms right at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep after 8am on a weekday, there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor P, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback.
I was pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service we provided and that you like our bedrooms and food offering.
I am sorry that you have experienced noise from the neighboring industrial estate, unfortunately we are unable to prevent this happening as the works start at 8 a.m. on weekdays. We do offer a flexible room allocation and we are more than happy to provide you a room on the other side of the building if we have one available.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Gabor Petia
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stay fairly regularly here - it's ideal for me going offshore from the heliport. The Thistle provide free transport to/from anywhere within about a 5-mile radius. It's quite a large hotel on two floors; the rooms are comfortable and the bar can be lively. The food's a tad expensive but it's good - the best example being the cooked breakfast in the morning (served - if you want it that early - from 05:30!). The ladies who serve breakfast are a joy to behold, always having a smile for the bleary-eyed chaps going offshore - nothing is too much trouble for them. And the reception staff deserve credit too - very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that the breakfast and reception staff took care of your requirements. I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highampton
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions, mainly for one night stays. I've always found the staff very friendly, accommodating and always professional. The rooms I've had have been clean, comfortable and well decorated with good TV and wifi service. The restaurant serves good quality food, well presented and cooked. All in all a good hotel, well placed with good staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HighamptonGroomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback , I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel. I will certainly share your comment's with my staff.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stay at the Thistle at least once a month before going offshore. I can honestly say that the staff cannot do enough for you. They are really friendly and go the extra mile. The food and accomodation is excellent with a wide selection of dishes on offer. It always takes the sting out of having to go away from home when you receive good service and a friendly smile. The place is spotlessly clean as well which makes it a winner in my book.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive feedback and for the 5 star review!. The team look forward to welcoming you back next month.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agadir, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very impressed at check in young Robert acted as if he had known us all his life very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and warm. Food was great, we had an early morning flight, the gentleman on night shift gave us an early morning call and had breakfast delivered to our room' Wont be going anywhere else in the Future if we have an early flight. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona W, Manager at Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that your stay was very pleasant and that the staff took care of you. Look forward to welcoming you back soon the Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel.

Kind Regards

Shona Westland
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen Airport (Dyce) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
Courtyard Aberdeen Airport
#21 of 65 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Aberdeen Airport
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#37 of 65 in Aberdeen
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport

Property: Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Address: Argyll Road, Aberdeen AB21 0AF, Scotland (Formerly Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a short walk, or complimentary door-to-door shuttle bus ride from the airport terminal, Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport is an ideal choice for business or leisure guests looking to explore the awe-inspiring Highland landscapes and traditional Scottish towns. Just 1 mile from Dyce railway station and 5 miles from the city centre, the hotel offers easy access to Aberdeenshire and beyond. World renowned sights such as Cairngorms National Park and Glen Garioch Distillery are just a short drive away. The hotel has 147 newly designed stylish bedrooms with large comfortable DREAM beds, an en-suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries, free WiFi, flat screen television and Freeview. You’ll also find tea and coffee making facilities, an ironing board and iron, hairdryer and bathrobes to guarantee a comfortable stay. Jurys Inn Abdereen Airport is home to Just Gym facilities, which includes a range of cardio and resistance equipment. There are 5 Meeting Rooms on site catering for up to 400 people and 300 car parking spaces are available on site. The hotel also hosts weddings with a capacity for up to 600 guests in the ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Airport Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing