We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for AECC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location for AECC”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for a concert in the AECC. Can't fault location and only a short bus ride from the city centre. Staff very professional and so helpful - really can't do enough for you. Breakfast is continental but you also get link, scrambled eggs beans. Basic but filling. We went for breakfast at 8.45am and there was still plenty there and the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM271277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear SJM271272,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

I am very pleased to hear that you found every thing to your satisfaction and that you found the park and ride bus service located out side the hotel, good for getting into the city centre.
It saves the hassle of trying to get a parking space.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    197
    83
    9
    7
See reviews for
88
136
11
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel location next to the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre is great if you are attending events there. Rooms were clean and bright, no cupboard or drawers to store clothing.

Breakfast on the first day was very disappointing - hot option of scrambled egg, sausage (very hard and overcooked) beans, after that did not bother - just grabbing fruit as I left.

No room service, although some people were ordering in Pizza to the hotel. You can eat at the Holiday Inn next door, which we did a couple of nights, food was average.

Adequate for business purposes, but after 6 nights was glad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear CareySJC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express AECC.

As you have indicated the hotel is situated next door to the Aberdeen Exhibition and conference Centre and also ideally for Aberdeen Science park.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer limited service value for money accommodation and I am sorry that due to your length of stay we where unable to provide all the amenities that you where looking for.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We usually book into Holiday Inn which is directly in front of this hotel but the oil and gas exhibition made booking hotels extremely difficult. We believed that the Express was a sort of poorer cousin but how wrong we were. There is ample parking. The reception area is clean, light and airy. The adjoining bar is comfortable and spacious. Although we had to attract bar staff attention from stocking shelves whilst customers waited to be served. The reception staff were welcoming and professional. The only real difference between the two hotels for me was the size of the bed which I thought smaller in the Express. Other than that I am struggling to choose a clear favourite. No problems with wi-Fi. We would certainly visit again as the hotel is ideally situated to visit Aberdeen and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Jeffrey W,

Thank you of taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the standards and service provided where a nice surprise for you.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We found out that only 30 min of free wi fi was included when we checked in. I would not have booked this hotel if I knew that. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly enough. The breakfast was okay but no wi fi pretty much kills it for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Nancyinlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express AECC.

I am sorry to hear that you where dissatisfied with having only 30 mins of free WIFI. However I am pleased to inform you that all Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the Uk now provide free wifi access to all guests as of the 1st September.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely


Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my small house trained Dalmatian on the weekend of 24th August. There were no problems and the stay was comfortable. My dog slept in her own bed with no problems..
I have just tried to book again and now the hotel states "NO PETS". This is very confusing as the Reception staff thought Mia was lovely, she doesn't bark, make a mess or cause any problems, so basically pet owners beware! If you stayed here before with your pet you cannot take them any more. I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express (newer building access at top of 1st Floor car ramp)
My suggestion to the Hotel is to make just a few rooms available for pet owners!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure it overlooks Ellon Road, especially if there is a function on at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsibbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Hsibblad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent saty at the Holiday Inn Express AECC.

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall at the hotel and I take note of your comment regarding the hotel pet policy. However the hotel has always had a no pet policy in effect with the exception of assistance dogs and is clearly indicated on the hotel website. I am sorry if the staff on duty did advise you of this on your arrival at the hotel.

thank you once again for your comments and for taking the time to write a review of your stay

Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The desk, closet, and bathroom are all efficiently placed and clean. I can tell the hotel paid attention for business travelers. The only drawback was the window was muddy / dirty, so they should clean it more often. The breakfast was good too. I would consider holiday inn express next time I travel b/c of this stay.

Room Tip: don't pick the room facing the inland. the sunset light is a bit bothering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backspin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear backspin18,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express AECC.
I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and you found every thing to your satisfaction. I am however sorry to hear that you found the windows dirty on this occasion but will hard work to ensure that they are more regularly cleaned.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerley

Jim Thomson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for one night in August 2013 in a twin room. The service is acceptable, beds comfortable, showers good and even the "basic" Internet connection cuts the mustard (beware, some sites are blocked). There's also enough parking nearby, so that should not be too troublesome. Of course, the surroundings are not that glorious, but for a short stay it does not matter that much. Breakfast is a partial mix of continental and cooked - at least there is enough to start the day. For £60, it's not too bad and would probably call again if I could not find a better deal nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aeccexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Marek90,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the holiday Inn Express Aberdeen Exhibition Centre.

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and have awarded us 4 stars for your last visit. AS you have commented we are located right next door to the Aberdeen Conference Centre and Aberdeen Science park, which is ideal if your here on Business. For those on leisure the beach area and Aberdeen countryside are only minutes away from the hotel.
Thank you once again for writing a review and I hope it is not to long before we welcome you back.


Yours Sincerely

Jim Thomson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
3.8 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 65 in Aberdeen
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Address: Parkway East | Bridge of Don, Aberdeen AB23 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern well-situated hotel for the business and leisure interests of Aberdeen, with well-equipped bar and public areas and two fully equipped air conditioned meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition Hotel Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing