We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of The Mariner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mariner Hotel
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was large and bright with hairdryer, tea & coffee facilities. Toiletries werent that good, could do with some hair conditioner. Shower was old fashioned type in the shower, could do with a good clean, the pipe was filthy, no shower mat so a bit slippy when getting out, other than that I dont have any complaints and this could be easily fixed. The staff at the hotel are professional, efficient and pleasant and what makes this property worth staying at. There is a nice relaxing bar and breakfast was excellent. It was about 10 to 15 minute walk to union street. Definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqBMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated. We are in a continual process to update our facilities. But will put it on the never ending list.

We are very happy that you continue to stay with us and that you enjoy it so much.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    50
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
42
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Having had a fantastic meal in atlantis we decided to stay at the hotel. Room was very clean and cosy. Just like being at home. Breakfast was a rare treat, cooked to order. Staff very efficient and helpful. Was very busy but had a great buzz. Would definitely recommend the mariner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmrm2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review and recommendation.

A homely atmosphere is exactly what we aim to provide and am glad to hear that we achieved that for you.

We aim to please & are grateful for the patience during the busy times.

Many Thanks,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just had dinner with my husband at the Atlantis Restaurant. Food was brilliant as usual, service great and the atmosphere very relaxed. The food is very reasonably prived. i have never had a bad meal yet. Was driving tonight so just on water but they have a lovely desert wine The Stump Jump Sticky Chardonnay which is a must

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your very good review. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner; it was our pleasure having you.

It is great to see that you keep coming back; we hope to see you again soon.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have stayed at the Mariner many times in the last 2.5 years and rated it 5 last year. Following my stay last week, I have decided to re-review it and drop a point. Let me be clear: there was no problem with my stay in particular and I may well stay here again, but I've decided to try somewhere different for my next trip.

It is a small privately run hotel, a short taxi ride from the city centre and near the main access routes from the south and west. The hotel has a large car park.

Service is always good, warm but unobtrusive.

It is difficult to generalise about the rooms because they are very varied. Having said that they have all been very clean and well maintained.

The reasons I am dropping a mark are that the rooms are a litte tired, although I understand that they may be being refurbished. My last room in the top floor was a bit of a trek, a bit small and was hard to cool down. While breakfast service is good with excellent cooked options I think there is substantial room for improvement in the continental options e.g some continental meats, better croissants and rolls, more fruit etc.

Overall a very good hotel. Perhaps I just need a change.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Sorry to hear we’ve dropped a point…

Our recently started programme of renovations and redecoration continues a pace.

Our ‘crows nest’ rooms are a bit wee and quite a hike, admittedly – but we do reflect this in the price- and they’re usually just sold last thing once all our larger rooms and suites are full.

Have passed on your comments re breakfast to chef…and we’re currently looking at some further options for the breakfast buffet.

Thanks so much for the feedback,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Great Pub Food, at a friendly location.

The service was quick, prices good, quality of food excellent. Wine choice wide, and prices OK.

Ambience - superior to the ordinary pub. Panelled wood, normal levels of conversation.

The menu had a wide range of dishes; but the 'Specials' Board nearly doubled the choices.

Staff were friendly, prices affordable - and a wide choice - who could ask for anything more!

We really enjoyed this pub bar restaurant - had we not liked the menu; there is the hotel restaurant right next door, with different choices, presumably at another price point.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank obione980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely well rounded review.

As you may or may not know we recently won the Bar Food Award for Grampian, and it is nice to hear that you feel it well deserved!.

The specials board gives us a chance to not only have more variety but to provide a seasonal twist with lovely local produce .

And in the end it is all about the experience, and it is glad to know you enjoyed yours.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed in the mariner with my 16 year old daughter and 75 year old mother in one of their suites - it was perfect for all of us, a lovely bathroom, extremely big comfortable room, really nice staff, brilliant food, and well worth the price - I will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review- so glad you enjoyed your stay.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you with us - and I'm glad you liked the room (esp' as you were the inaugural guests to use our new Bunk-Beds in that suite!)
we really hope to see you and the rest of the family back with us soon.
Best Regards,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have stayed in the Mariner several times over the past few years. Some of the rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up, but the friendly staff and good food more than make up for this. Quiet (best ask for rooms at the back or in the annex) and only 20 mins walk from town, or 10 mins by bus from the bus stop outside the hotel.

Room Tip: A few rooms face the fairly busy road, for a quiet night ask for rooms at the back or in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markymarkxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thanks for the lovely review-and for taking the time to post it.

a bit like the painting of the Forth Road Bridge, we're working our way through all twenty five bedrooms with a programme of sprucing, re-design and general tarting up.

Glad the staff, food & location all added up to a good stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 65 in Aberdeen
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
743 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Hotel

Property: The Mariner Hotel
Address: 349 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mariner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing