We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always enjoy our stay, eat well, drink well and are made to feel very welcome.”
Review of The Mariner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mariner Hotel
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
forfar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We always enjoy our stay, eat well, drink well and are made to feel very welcome.”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Whenever my husband and I visit Aberdeen we always stay at this hotel. Having stumbled across it when arriving in town without a booking very late one night back in 1997 the staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Since then we have stayed at The Mariner numerous times, eating in both the bar and the restaurant. The food is always excellent and the wines are lovely. We have also enjoyed the Sunday carvery with our children, and you know how difficult they can be to please! The rooms are clean and comfortable and at our last visit I was pleased to see that the cups had been replaced by mugs - a particular bugbear of mine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jippywhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    50
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
41
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Hi was only staying here one night - arrived late (after food service) but the check in staff could nt have been more helpful - she arranged for a sandwich to be brought up to my room and bless they put a pint of iced water on the tray which is just wanted I wanted. Room was quite small but clean and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradcob43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I've stayed here well over a dozen times and like it for its friendly service, excellent food in the bar or restaurant, comfortable rooms and having decent real ale from local breweries in the bar rather than over chilled fizz that seems to be the norm in most hotels. The breakfast is also one of the best in Aberdeen, with a good choice and it's freshly cooked rather than sitting on hot plates.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I was staying nearby so I popped in for a barmeal, I ordered a homemade cheeseburger @ £11 expecting something special and although the burger itself was delicious, it was served in a cheap, tastless bun. The barmen who served me were the worst part of the experience, after eventually getting their attention I felt I was inconveniencing them. Receptionist was the only member of staff who smiled.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Heelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Live locally to the hotel. Were due to go for a birthday dinner at the restaurant but our babysitter cancelled at last minute. Our host knew owners so got a room organised for us to stay with our sprogs. Staff were brilliant ! Upgraded us to a suite which was two rooms with adjoining doors, put DVD player in room (they even asked our kids ages and got one of the managers to bring in toy story and Madagascar!) did room service kids food for us while we got ready, listened to our baby monitor at the reception...Saved our night!! Meal was great as was breakfast in the morning ( smoked haddock with poached eggs)felt like guests in an old friends house - brilliant!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bally
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This is an extremely well run, cosy and friendly place to stay. We have stayed at this hotel twice and have been very impressed by the staff, service, food, prices and location (bus stop across road to town) each time. The food in the Atlantis restaurant is of a very high standard and the staff couldnt be more helpful and efficient, prices are average for this standard, but not over the top. Our suite was spacious, small living room area with wide-screen tv and a selection of dvds to play, good-sized bedroom and lovely bathroom. Breakfast is ample, aberdeen rowies, croissants, cereals, and a choice from the cooked menu, full english, kippers, omelette and fruit juice coffee etc. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audihally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macroom, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Aberdeen hotels are always pricey so for 120 a night I had low hopes. However, the staff were great and juggled room allocations so i had an extremely early checkin and waited only 20minutes. the room was right above the bar ( it might have been elsewhere if I had checked in at a normal time), but it did not create a problem (maybe at a weekend it would be). The room was a good size to contain loads of luggage. Hotel wins no prizes for decor as it is well and truly stuck in the 1980s. Apart from room size, the best thing was free wi-fi broadband throughout the hotel, After a rip-off stay days before in the Hilton Belfast where everything was extra, this was a real joy. I will definitely stay here again. Can't comment on restaurant as I only had breakfast.

  • Liked — clean, wi-fi, space
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.1 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#47 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#60 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#18 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Hotel

Property: The Mariner Hotel
Address: 349 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mariner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing