We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service bad food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cocket Hat

Cocket Hat
Ranked #474 of 665 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great service bad food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

went here for mothers day, the restaurant was very busy but the waitress got us seated straight away in a quiet corner :)
the food took a long time to come and we didn't all get our food at the same time. when the food arrived it was bland to say the least.
overall the service is really great but the food lets the restaurant down

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diamonds93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    50
    60
    53
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dreadful service amongst other things ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The food was ok when you eventually got through the massive queue. One person taking orders - very polite but service gave my meal to another table! The restaurant was full of noisy badly behaved small children running riot who at 8.30 should really have been in bed. Won't be repeated!

Helpful?
2 Thank MBDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Would like to thank Pat the barmaid in the restaurant for making our night more enjoyable. She was very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Improvement on other Premier Inn restaurants!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We've stayed at different Premier Inns around Scotland and England but tend to steer clear of adjacent restaurants due to a couple of poor experiences.

As a family of 2 adults and 3 children under 6, this was the 2nd time we've stayed at the Cockett Hat Premier Inn but it was the 1st time eating here.

It was our last evening in Aberdeen and we decided to give the Cockett Hat a go as our previous evening meal at a Japanese Sushi chain restaurant set us back over £70 with no alcohol.

We weren't very hungry and fancied something cheaper so we decided to take our chances at a "Deputy Dog" hot dog and Scampi with curly fries as sides on both. Did not expect much as our previous experiences with Premier Inn restaurants has taught us that most dishes would be mass produced elsewhere and reheated in the kitchen looking nothing like what was printed on the menu.

We were pleasantly surprised when the 2 dishes arrived at our table. We weren't expecting gourmet food but it's nice to see simple dishes cooked well.

The hot dog was the most surprising, the bun was warm, soft, stretchy and not dry like your average hot dog bun that is served in most UK restaurants.

The onions were cooked perfectly being soft and slightly caramelised. The hot dog was also very good as it looked like it had been lightly seared rather than being cooked in water giving a good texture and bite on every mouthful.

Won't go into too much detail for the scampi and curly fries as we all know that these are all brought in premade and just deep fried before serving.

BUT, what is most important here is that everything was fried perfectly. Anyone can throw in premade food into a fryer but the difficulty is getting the temperature and duration spot on so the food isn't burnt or excessively oily. Everything was crispy and dry meaning that nothing was left on the plate except a little bit of ketchup.

Finished off with Apple pie and Sticky toffee pudding both with lots of custard. Nothing special here but not bad either considering it's probably premade and sourced elsewhere. Custard was very good, better than the branded canned stuff and not over the top fancy stuff that tastes nothing like proper custard. We could have easily eaten more custard but already ordered an extra serving of custard to go with our pudding already!!

Shame we found out on a our last night as it would've save us a lot of money over the 4 day stay in Aberdeen.

Order was taken at the bar promptly and politely by a friendly lady called Pat. Food arrived quickly which was as expected considering it was 8pm Thursday.

We can see a previous review mentioning a long wait for food and cheap café style presentation.

Coming from the catering trade, we'd like to point out that people should expect to wait at busy periods like Fri/Sat dinner time.

Don't expect gourmet food or spoon pushed sauces from places that charge two for £10.99 meal deals and you will not be disappointed.

My family wouldn't fault the food/service even without the meal deal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Eat Elsewhere!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were staying at the Premier Inn and decided to invite our family for a meal at The Cocket Hat. After ordering our food we waited for some considerable time and eventually we had to go and ask where our food was. When the food arrived it really wasn't worth the wait. The presentation was cheap cafe style and not worth the money. Bland and unappetising is the best way to sum it up! My advice is to eat elsewhere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cocket Hat also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Cocket Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing