We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restuarant”

The Restaurant at the Craighaar Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Restaurant at the Craighaar Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #180 of 680 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restuarant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

No hot and spicy food. Good value clean and friendly staff. Nothing is a bother. Food is excellent. Has a car park at the front so worries about parking. We never enjoy eating anywhere else. Now only go there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times nice place for a meal in the restaurant. The food is usually always good. Well worth a visit!!!

Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable club dinner.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A meal was booked for nearly 40 people and the restaurant we were put in was elegantly prepared with covered seats. The tables were all well laid out with jugs of iced water on each table. The friendly staff could not have been more helpful with drinks orders and then dinner orders quickly and efficiently taken. Any concerns over the time for the food to arrive were quickly dispelled with all dishes arriving at the table on/in appropriately hot or cold crockery. No staff fingers touched any of the plates etc when serve which whilst basic hygiene, frequently does not happen. On my table 7 of the 8 chose the sweet potato & courgette soup which we all agreed was a very good decision. The main courses were again enjoyable apart from the accompanying potatoes & carrots which I suspect had been cooked slightly too early and were not as firm as I would have preferred. The deserts let no one down and to my surprise an excellent cheese & biscuit option was available within the set price of £25.00 per person. Altogether a very enjoyable dinner was capped of by some good strong coffee with top ups available as required. A quick look around the hotel at the other public areas and one of the other smaller more intimate dining areas left me in little doubt that I would gladly return in the future. My only slight other disappointment was on leaving when the receptionist was unable to give me the recipe for the sweet pepper & courgette soup.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“More variety please!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I occasionally stay at the Craighaar. The hotel itself has a Fawlty Towers feel about it with basic rooms and service in the bar that can be quite poor (staff tend to cover both bar and restaurant duties).

The restaurant is not bad at all. Menu variety is ok but rarely changes - a bit of an issue if you stay regularly at the hotel. There is a daily 'special' soup starter and main course, but the starter has been known to be the same for a couple days presumably when they haven't sold it all first time around.

To be fair, I don't think I've ever had a bad meal, but equally I don't think I've had one that I would class as excellent either. This time, I had pigeon salad to start which was ok, followed by a good quality sirloin steak.

The hotel has no restaurants in the immediate vacinity other than the Dyce Tandoori, so pretty much has a captive audience. As with many hotels, this has probably made it lazy in its outlook regarding the needs of its customers. Nonetheless, I've eaten in much worse.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I ate here last saturday with my wife and can say that this palce is very good. We both had fish and chips and it ranks up there with the best. The fish was cooked to perfection and the chips were the biggest I've ever eaten....magic!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuchanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at the Craighaar Hotel also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing