We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite place”

Fusion Bar and Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Fusion Bar and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 665 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$53
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: With its city centre location the restaurant is fully accessible through a wide range of public transport.
Description: In the heart of the city centre sits Fusion Bar + Bistro, striking and contemporary in appearance it offers diners a range of eclectic dishes freshly prepared using only the finest ingredients. With imagination and a palette for creating balance, the chefs strive to push the boundaries and deliver exceptional quality food, through an evening menu which is updated monthly and a frequently changing Lunch/Early Supper menu. Our wines, beers and specialty cocktails are selected from around the world and offer the perfect accompaniment to any dish. Coupled with attentive and professional service, it combines to make Fusion Bar + Bistro a 'must do' dining experience.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favourite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I've just finished my meal in Fusion and feel compelled to leave a review. It's only the second time we've eaten here but the food is so truly delicious that it's firmly on our favourites list. It's not the cheapest place to eat but if you're looking for high quality, good value for money food, this is the place for you. If you're looking for cheap, there's a pub across the road.

All the dishes we ate were full of flavour and satisfying without being stodgy or heavy. We felt the portion sizes were well judged, we left full but not bloated. I can't wait to go back next month for the new menu.

Helpful?
Thank LaurieSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusionbarbistro, Manager at Fusion Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Laurie

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of Fusion. Your kind words are very much appreciated, especially the comments about portion size and value for money! We work hard to ensure that customers can enjoy 3 courses and leave satisfied but not overly full.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    101
    37
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very expensive for lunch!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have to say that it was only OK. Starter was very nice but the main course was a bit disappointing, possibly wrong choice but night time prices for a lunchtime....wow! Be prepared to pay £20-30 per person for food only. Service was good though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millicent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusionbarbistro, Manager at Fusion Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of your visit on Saturday lunchtime. I am pleased to hear that you found the service to be of a high standard.

I am sorry to hear you felt our lunch menu was expensive. We feel that our menu is very competitively priced, especially when everything is made on the premises (where possible), using locally sourced seasonal produce.

Our starters are priced at £4.95/£5.95 and our main courses are £8.95 - £10.95. We occasionally have a rib eye steak on at lunch (£14.95) and we do occasionally have extra dishes on as a special, but these will be as an addition to the menu.

We hope you will visit Fusion again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb food but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very nice restaurant serving superb food with my only reservation being the price! They keep the menu small and change it monthly and it's £25 for 2 courses and £30 for 3. None of us could decide on anything other than the scallops for starters and unfortunately, this came with a £3 supplement. Yes, they were beautifully cooked, but for £3 extra I would have expected more than 3 tiny scallops and this most certainly did not justify the extra.charge and could easily have been accommodated in the original price. For mains I had the blade of beef but was offered this as Chateaubriand for a £5 supplement which I declined. Two other specials were offered as mains, fillet steak (think this was a £7 or £8 supplement) and ribeye (£5 supplement) so if you do want anything different than what's on the menu, there is an extra charge for everything. The blade of beef was a well crafted dish and was excellent. The other mains we had were the duo of lamb and trout. Again, well crafted dishes which were very good but again I would suggest the fish dish was overpriced. Two of us had the lime cheesecake with lime sorbet for desserts. This was quite superb with the sorbet adding a wonderful freshness to the dish. With a bottle of lovely white and red wine and with the 11.5% service charge added, it all added up to a few pence under £200 for 4 people, so I won't be rushing back, which is a pity as the food was superb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeefyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusionbarbistro, Manager at Fusion Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your review of your visit to Fusion last weekend. This was the first few days of the May menu, and to have such positive feedback is encouraging.

Your high scores for the food, service and atmosphere is very much appreciated, and we are pleased to hear that you found the experience to be of a high standard.

We are surprised that to read that you felt we were expensive. We feel £30 for 3 courses is extremely competitive when compared to similar establishments in the city. Indeed some charge more for a single steak (plus extra for sauce and accompaniments!) than we are charging for 3 courses (including the steak supplement).

The supplements are there because the main component of the dish is a high value product (scallops, fillet of beef, Chateaubriand etc), This allows us to keep the set price low and those that want to 'trade up' can do so. The fillet of beef was a special on the evening, and the Chateaubriand is an addition to the braised blade, which is optional. The cheesecake dessert special was a non supplemented special.

We hope that you will return to Fusion again in the near future, and thanks again for your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words can't do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We dined here on the 1st day of the new menu. Words can't do it justice!!! Has to be tried.
I've eaten here before but their May menu is on another level! The Goatfish had us both stunned into silence as we ate. Best dish I have ever had! The balance of beetroot and blue cheese in the risotto was divine.

For main I had the wild sea trout. And it was perfectly cooked. The tortellini with it was a real treat. For the 1st time ever my partner and I ate in silence as we relished at our meals!

For dessert I had the choc and ginger cake. Lovely. Loved the malt ice cream it came with. The pressed mango looked amazing! Dessert wine is a must at Fusion with your dessert.

Everyone needs to try this menu!!

Helpful?
Thank GraniteGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fusionbarbistro, Manager at Fusion Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of your visit to Fusion. This was on the first evening of the May menu, and the chefs were very pleased to receive such positive comments.

Ethan was particularly happy with the feedback on the smoked Goat fish as this is his starter for the forthcoming Grampian Young Chef Of The Year competition. Likewise the Sea Trout, which is Miles' entry for Chef Of The Year.

As always, we make as many of the menu components in-house as possible. On this menu that includes cranberry mustard, confit fennel tortellini, tagliatelle, foie gras dumpings, raspberry sorbet and malted ice cream.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review, all feedback is welcomed.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent fayre, well presented and delicious too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

A family meal here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We all had starters which were very well presented and tasty too, We all had different main courses a couple of fish dishes and a couple of meat dishes and all were very good, a bit sparse with the veg but what was there was very tasy and well presented. A couple of glasses of the house red which was very nice and not too pricey.
Only one desert and it too was very nice, rhubarb triple was excellent!
Finished with coffees, and overall a very good meal.
The restaurant was fairly quiet as it was a school night but staff were very attentive without being overpowering and the atmosphere was quite relaxed.
Overall a very good night out, I would go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niseach16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fusion Bar and Bistro also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Fusion Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing