We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Great day

We appreciated the beauty of the villages and naturel sites under the sun in the morning and in the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
annetteaV5081QL
A wonderful day in the Royal Deeside

Thank you, Jacqueline, for a lovely tour to Balmoral and throughout the Royal Deeside! I... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
amydR6743QR
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 63 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
60
0
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
0
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small group private tour day tour scotland tour the north east coast great tour glen garioch loch ness stone circle jacqueline inverness grampians highlights braemar butteries balmoral whiskey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2023 via mobile

I went on the tour to Inverness, Highlands and Loch Ness. Our guide and driver for the entire day was Jacqueline and she was amazing! She answered all of my questions and was very personable and friendly. She made sure we saw many sights and had “bio breaks” and a nice place for lunch in Inverness. My only constructive comment is I wish I knew more about Inverness, it seemed like a place with many stores, but the cathedral we had a chance to visit was amazing. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grampian Escape... a, Owner at Grampian Escapes & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Thank you Lauren, it's nice to hear you enjoyed your time in Inverness & the Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2023

We were very pleased with the organisation and the logistics of the day mini bus tour to Balmoral and surrounding attractions. We were delighted to have two hours to explore the Balmoral estate within the gates and this included the gardens and greenhouses, the Ballroom, walking by the river Dee near the castle and time for coffee and scones in the Balmoral cafe. The driver / tour guide was very informative and spoke with a good clear voice about the area, landmarks, mountain peaks and other castles. The stop at Tomnaverie Stone Circle was impressive as there was a 360 degree panorama from the stones and with clear skies there were views to greatly admire. It involved a 10 minute walk from the parking area to reach the view. Ballater where we stopped for an hour had an impressively clean railway station built for Queen Victoria and many shops had the signs to denote royal patronage. Ballater Church was more impressive from the outside than inside, but we had time to explore. We also enjoyed two brief stops to take photos of highland cattle and of some heather growing beside the road. Three other stops for the Feugh Waterfalls, the Queen’s View near Tarland and the Cambus O May Bridge helped to appreciate the area. The highlight was definitely having good access to Balmoral gardens, and having impressive views of the Castle from many angles. It was good that we were dropped off back at the William Wallace statue.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank Julia-art-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grampian Escape... a, Owner at Grampian Escapes & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Thank you for your detailed review, it is sure to help others thinking of booking on this tour. We love this tour as there is a lot to see and not too many long car journeys. The walk up to the stone circle is steep on a short section but it is worth the effort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2023 via mobile

I was on the trip, that a reviewer has complained about been left behind, (in fact, there were two couples four people) that left a one star. First when you first book these tours, it clearly states to be at the meeting point 10 minutes before your departure time (this one was 9am) as departure is prompt. Myself and another couple and the tour guide were all at the meeting point a good twenty minutes before the 9am departure time. We waited 10 minutes after 9am before we left as in that time the tour guide did not receive any comments from the missing four people. Also a few of the events had timed entry’s that we had to get too. Needless to say that we all had a very good, happy and informative tour and I would highly recommend this company for their tours and our tour guide Jacqueline was fantastic, very informative and considerate of our individual needs. In fact I had more tours with this company which were just as enjoyable. (And all the people in the tour was considerate of everyone else in the group to be on time that we left early) So cannot go wrong with this company and again Jacqueline was extraordinary.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Hilma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grampian Escape... a, Owner at Grampian Escapes & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2023

Thank you Hilma, I'm glad you had a great experience on your tours! We appreciate your support with your feedback and for booking multiple tours with us too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2023

We were 8 minutes late and there was no sign of the tour. Another couple came a few mins after us. It was booked as a small tour…how could you leave 4 behind? Not happy.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Leslie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grampian Escape... a, Owner at Grampian Escapes & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2023

At the time of booking guests are asked to arrive 10-15 minutes before departure. In the booking reminder email we ask the if you are running late to phone ahead so we can wait for you to arrive, we understand that things can happen to delay you. Since you phoned after the tour departed, it should have been possible to phone before? As the rest of the tour group was on time, and we didn't have communication from you, the tour departed. We understand the experience is very disappointing when you miss a tour, but small group tours also leave on time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2023

I had a wonderful tour from Aberdeen to Scottish Highlands & Inverness. Jacqueline was a gracious, and knowledgeable guide who gave a relaxing tour.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank Nongnuch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grampian Escape... a, Owner at Grampian Escapes & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience. We aim to create a sightseeing day at a comfortable pace, so glad you had a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews