We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT SHOP OVER”
Review of Jurys Inn Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT SHOP OVER”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Traveled to aberdeen on the train from inverness , the absolute perfect place to stay ,right in union square undercover all the way .paid £110 for room for myself and my wife ,included was £ 50 shopping voucher to spend in union sq even at restaurants ,exellent value exellent hotel exellent location .

Room Tip: Higher you go the more you see and probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    747
    235
    75
    42
See reviews for
393
628
112
516
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karmsund
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed at the Jurys Inn Aberdeen one night in March. This was a 2 days business trip so I did not spend much time in the hotel. However the room was clean, the bed quite good and I slept well.

I had some trouble adjusting the temperature of the room and the same with the fan speed, was either too hot or it was too cold.

The location of the hotel is perfect though, right next to a shopping mall that also contain a lot of restaurants.

The service in the reception was friendly and quite effective.

Prices for hotel rooms in Aberdeen are high, I paid 170 GBP for a standard single room and breakfast was not included. Neither was wifi which they charged at 5 GBP per hour. They should offer free wifi when the price for the room is as high as 170 GBP.

The next morning I paid 9 GBP for breakfast. The breakfast was ordinary and even though I was there early both the orange juice dispenser and the apple juice dispenser was empty so only water was available at that moment.

All in all an ordinary hotel situated in a perfect location and priced too high.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Nothing much to say, negative or positive, just your run of the mill chain type hotel. No character etc but nothing to offend.

Location is excellent, bar is nice and food acceptable.

Wouldnt rush back in a hurry nor would actively steer clear

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCF_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night before a work conference; the location is great, being right beside the train station and encompassed within a large mall which included a good variety of restaurants and shops. Very easy to reach if travelling by public transport, and plenty of parking if you decide to drive.

The staff are very friendly and helpful; I had pre-booked an accessible room with a walk in shower but had been allocated a standard room; this was very quickly resolved. Instead of eating at the hotel, we opted to eat at one of the restaurants outside in the mall; however I did have breakfast and, although I didn't try any of the cooked items, there was certainly plenty of variety. In all Jurys Inns the breakfast is self service; you have to make absolutely everything yourself, including tea/coffee and toast - not as easy as you think if you are disabled and walk with a stick! Also, they do not do room service and as it's impossible to carry a tray of food with one hand, that is another reason we opted to eat out.

My only gripe with this stay was that the bed was too hard for me; I don't mind a firm mattress but this was hard, thin and cheap, with a solid base, no springs, no give. The hardness of the mattress meant I didn't get a good sleep and woke up with an aching back and painful knee; however on the plus side, the pillows were very comfortable.

On the whole I would recommend this hotel; it's friendly, reasonably priced and has a convenient city centre location. Also has good sound proofing as I had a street facing room but traffic noise did not disturb me at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizliz_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Consistent brand hotel and very similar to other Jurys properties stayed at (Derby, Bristol, Nottingham, Birmingham etc). Centrally situated adjacent to Union Square shopping centre and train station - entrance is actually inside the shopping centre on the 1st floor, next to eating establishments;Nandos, Gourmet Burger Co etc, so lots of choice. Great welcome from Patrick-Trainee; this guy had a genuine welcome and persona about him and will go far! Room fine though would like to see Wi-fi and more TV channels included if I'm being fussy. Not the greatest fan of Jurys breakfasts as completely self serve down to getting your own tea and coffee, but this is just me being picky!
Would go back in what is a very competative market in Aberdeen

Good lively bar and consistent staff (cleaners, maintenance etc) who all acknowledge you and seem to have that feel good factor.

All in all - relatively inexpensive, good facilites, well managed/motivated staff and good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phileasfoggtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in Jury's Hotel for two nights over the Valentines weekend. We didn't exactly choose the hotel, but had it recommended to us, as a convenient place to stay, when over for a family wedding on the Saturday. A number of our family connection were all staying there, so it was good to meet up with them. When we arrived , we were greeted by a very pleasant young man called Roland, who made us very welcome and inquired if we had been to the hotel or Aberdeen before and sorted out our bookings as we had pre-booked 3 rooms. A more senior member of staff did warn us that we may have 'noise' during the night, as it was weekend time, and may be people coming in late from parties!! I was not quite prepared though, for a yelling and banging match that started at approx. 1.30 am somewhere outside our door. I did not open the door to look as I was frightened, and my heart was racing. It sounded SO violent, that I feared our door would get hammered next. I did hear something breaking, and it sounded like a male and female were having a BIG argument. It eventually settled down after about 20 minutes, and I eventually managed to get back to sleep..... not great when I had to be up early next morning for a hairdressing appointment before the wedding. My daughter who was in the room next door to us was also wakened by the disturbance.

Besides that, our room was spotless clean, and the breakfast was buffet style and very ample. The most convenient thing of all was the fact that the hotel doorway opened directly into a large shopping mall, which was brilliant. I had booked a hair appointment at a Salon in the shopping centre, so it was great to not even have to go outside from hotel right to my appointment and back again..... especially if you don't want your hair-do ruined in blustery weather.!!

We were sorry we didn't have longer to spend exploring the city, and it would be good to go back again.

The only other downside to staying here is the difficulty parking. We stopped outside the shopping centre entrance, but am not sure that you are officially allowed to stop there. My daughter and I jumped out while the men folk went and parked the car in the multi storey car park, but then you have to trail cases and bags quite a distance to the hotel. It would appear that that is the only parking available for the hotel, and it is obviously charged by the hour.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the 3rd floor are quieter....... pity we hadn't been allocated rooms up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossomAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Nice hotel booked through booking.com got a good deal we had a superior room on the seventh floor the view was beautiful, check in took a while due to a faulty card machine but staff dealt with it efficiently enough hotel was spotless breakfast okay but not great bacon and sausages was hard with laying on hot plate choice was okay as well but no mushrooms and unlike other hotels you had to help yourself to tea or cofee wich isnt really a big issue!! Fantastic location for shopping and plenty eatries in union square i will be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
751 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Aberdeen

Property: Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Address: 17 First Level Mall Union Square Guild Square, Aberdeen AB11 5RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#19 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Aberdeen 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Aberdeen is located in the heart of Aberdeen city centre. The hotel is adjacent to the railway station, bus station, and only minutes away from Aberdeen Ferry Terminals. Union Street, Aberdeen's main street is only a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the nearby pay and display car parking in Union Square Shopping Centre. Our 203 comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. The rooms have air conditioning and are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Aberdeen at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing