We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bauhaus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bauhaus Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Disappointing boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great location to Aberdeen's nightspots, bars and restaurants but unfortunately was disappointed with room size. Small for £80 per night, nothing fancy. Room cold on arriving, heating off. Bathroom had no extractor fan for steam, door to be left open to allow steam out which then set off alarm at reception to then get a knock at the door to check all ok! No windows to open in room so felt very stuffy. All in all afraid won't be returning, rather go to Park Inn which is a 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50tyshades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    145
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
18
161
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Bauhaus hotel is a small and cosy hotel, just off the main street in Aberdeen. It is my favourite hotel when I travel for business to Aberdeen. The rooms are clean and quiet. The decoration is kept minimal but quite modern, the beds are comfy and the shower is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here while on business in Aberdeen. Ultra modern and very clean. Bed very comfy but the highlight was the breakfast which was exceptional with the freshly squeezed orange juice an unexpected but very welcome touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastDonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

It just shows that a small room is fine if the decor is arty. Friendly desk staff, prices reasonable for Aberdeen, central location, free wifi, excellent shower. A lovely change from Premier Inn. Only quibble: the mattress was on the firm side and would benefit from a topper pad. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capnbob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

First time I've stayed in this hotel and quite impressed. The hotel is a bit different but very comfortable. I was given one of the suites for my stay. Room was very clean and comfortable and despite looking over the main street in Aberdeen, road noise was minimal. The shower was fantastic!!

Slightly disappointed that the room service was so limited but the hotel itself had a nice restaurant, although I didn't use it and opted to get a takeaway from a pizza place down the road.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It's modern, clean and comfortable. The only thing that put me off was the price. I booked through a booking website and paid £145.00 for the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

With a name like Bauhaus, I was not really expecting lots of adornment...but the minimalist style is a little spartan. Depends on your preferences, really. It is well located, very clean, but a little soulless. Good place to stay for a night, and it has all you need for such a stay. I found the breakfast less than lavish, very little fruit, yoghurt etc., but the cooked breakfast was fine.
Top marks to the lady on reception who sorted out the credit card prepayment for me when the computer said no!

Room Tip: Street facing rooms can be a little noisy because there is a bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked this hotel at last minute direct with them and on the phone the were very nice. Confirmation email within minutes. Paid £80 for our room, parked in the nearby Park Inn @£12 for 24hrs. The hotel was very clean, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable bed. The pole in the middle of the room was a talking point! (Room 306). Breakfast prompt and cooked in full view and also very good. Location means you are at the top end of union street, close to nice Italian restaurants and a great location for shopping. Best value hotel we have found in Aberdeen and we will be back. Note - has its own restaurant which we did not use but many others did.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayScot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#28 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
1.1 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauhaus Hotel

Property: Bauhaus Hotel
Address: 52-60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bauhaus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Aberdeen city centre, our contemporary, iconic granite building opened its doors in November 2009. Located very close to Union Street, the hotel provides easy access to the city's shops, nightlife and sights. We recognise that style and flair for design need not break the bank. Our yummy cocktails, fabulous linen, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, luxurious Aveda bathroom products, all help to redefine the urban hotel experience in Aberdeen. It is the first high quality, no fuss, value-for-money boutique hotel in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bauhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauhaus Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing