We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern hotel in aberdeen city centre”
Review of Bauhaus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bauhaus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have now stayed in this hotel twice with my daughter. Lovely modern hotel set just off Union Street so really handing for walking to various restaurants, cinema, shopping in Aberdeen.
Rooms are reasonable size, with really good ensuite shower. Tea and coffee facilities provided, as is bottled water ( a nice touch which is not often provided).
Reception staff first class, so friendly and welcoming. Very helpful and keen to help you get the most out of your trip. I must mention Iris who has been welcoming and friendly on both visits and when phoning to arrange our visit.
My only negative is that the restaurant and bar are only open until 9pm. There is a really nice area to sit but you have to go to reception on the ground floor for a drink!
A great wee hotel, I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I'd heard all of the horror stories about trying to find a decent room in Aberdeen without paying over the odds, so was really pleased to find somewhere that seemed to fit the bill. Although the midweek room rate (£140) was still above what I would usually pay for a business trip, it was the best available in the city and Bauhaus looked like a better option that an anonymous chain hotel - it certainly didn't disappoint.

Although the hotel is located just off Union Street (great for bars and restaurants) in the centre of the city, the room was quiet and I got a great night's sleep in a really comfortable bed. My room wasn't huge, but modern and stylish with a powerful shower in a compact bathroom. Exposed brick and contemporary furniture aren't to everyone's taste, but they tick the box for me.

Downstairs, the staff at the Reception/Bar were incredibly friendly and helpful - which is what really elevates an independant hotel like this above the rest of the pack. I'll be checking in again next time I'm in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here recently but never again. Firstly went to bar for a drink before heading out for dinner and waited nearly 20mins for a beer and cocktail and when it did eventually come, martini glass wasn't even half full and you know the price of cocktails!! Secondly room was meant to be a deluxe room but certainly nothing deluxe about it. Made a comment to hotel manager at check out regarding shower leaking and so did another guest but he was the rudest man I have ever had dealings with. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in The Bauhaus after on the 15th November. £95 bed and breakfast with bottle of Prosecco. Room was rather small. Have had better rooms in cheaper hotels. Restaurant looked like a staff canteen although breakfast was freshly cooked and very good. No shower in the morning as water was freezing. The receptionist advised us they were having a problem with the water and they were trying to sort it out. She informed us someone would be in touch with an offer of compensation. Still waiting. Not even a formal apology. Poor show.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alijoh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed three nights on a December business trip. The location is central and close to secure parking, making it ideal for my visit.

The hotel and its furnishings are very stylish, perhaps too austere for me to choose it for pleasure. The room was very spacious and well designed with everything I needed, with the exception of a shower cap for which you have to pay 50p, which I found strange. The large bed was very comfortable and everything spotless. Plenty hot water and a large modern shower, coupled with large warm towels get the day off to a good start. The free wifi was straightforward to use.

Our team ate dinner here on the first night and thoroughly enjoyed the food, we would have dined here every night but found the restaurant fully booked, generally I'd expect a hotel to make provision for residents. There are two bars in the hotel, the ground floor one was manned as it doubles as reception but I waited a long time in the upstairs one without anyone coming to serve me and I got the impression I wasn't welcome there. Otherwise the staff were helpful, welcoming and friendly. A special thank you to the lovely blonde lady on reception who provided me with a complimentary coffee when I arrived back tired, wet, windblown and with no cash in my purse!
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again whenever working in Aberdeen.
Ask for a room at the back though, Aberdeen has a lively, noisy nightlife!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingersview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The superior room on the 5th floor was large, clean and contemporary. The shower room was large with a brilliant waterfall shower. Bed was comfortable. A lovely breakfast served by very friendly staff. Not the usual buffet style but served at your table. I would definitely stay here again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor and I would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Not drawn to the whole architecture/modern style, but that was more than made up for by the friendly staff and very clean accommodations. Heated towel rack in the bathroom was a very nice touch. Got a recommendation from the front desk for a good pub and were not disappointed. Very much enjoyed our evening. Breakfast was good too. Nice pot of hot coffee arrived almost as soon as we finished asking for it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuraMater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauhaus Hotel

Address: 52-60 Langstane Place, Aberdeen AB11 6EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £61 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bauhaus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Aberdeen city centre, our contemporary, iconic granite building opened its doors in November 2009. Located very close to Union Street, the hotel provides easy access to the city's shops, nightlife and sights. We recognise that style and flair for design need not break the bank. Our yummy cocktails, fabulous linen, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, luxurious Aveda bathroom products, all help to redefine the urban hotel experience in Aberdeen. It is the first high quality, no fuss, value-for-money boutique hotel in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Bauhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauhaus Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing