We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bauhaus Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Colwyn Hotel(Aberdeen)
View Hotel
Highland Hotel(Aberdeen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
194
160
43
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
160
43
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion streetsuperior roomcool hotelcoffee makergreat hotelbottle of proseccocooked breakfastmini fridgecentral locationgreat showerstayed here for one nightincluded breakfastbars and restaurantscomfortable bedsaturday nightbottled waterbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Bauhaus for the weekend, and can on the whole only say good things about it. It's very close to the city centre with all the bars and restaurants easily within walking distance. Be aware however that the hotel doesn't have any parking facilities, but there is ample parking on the streets around the hotel, which you do have to pay but it was affordable. The room itself was very modern and well equipped, and scrupulously clean, the bed was super comfortable. A few of the other reviewers have mentioned the fact that it was very hot in the rooms, although ours was warm, we were on the 3rd floor, it wasn't uncomfortably hot, and there was a portable air con unit in the room, which we didn't feel the need to use. The shower was incredible. Breakfast was excellent too with the kitchen situated in the dining room, it was good to see your breakfast being freshly cooked in front of you to order and on the Sunday morning it was a buffet service. There are only a couple of negative points I could raise and they would be that drink in the hotel was quite expensive, with 2 drinks, a vodka and a Malibu along with 2 cans of coke costing almost £11, which was definitely not worth it, a shame as the hotel lounge area was a nice place to sit and relax, the other being that there are a couple of busy cocktail bars straight across the road, Orchid and Dusk which were very busy and noisy right on until 3.30am that did keep me awake but it wouldn't put me off visiting, all in all a super weekend at a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 302, it was a beautiful room and the shower was amazing
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsmarydoll1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 nights here, but would have swapped hotels after the first night if we could have. We were on the 5th floor, and whilst the corridor and main reception were cool, our room was overbearingly hot.
The window opened only slightly and the little air it allowed in brought with it the never ending screech of seagulls.
The management tried to remedy the problem on our last night by plugging in a portable air conditioner but it had little effect unless we planned to sleep upright in front of it!
The staff were friendly, the location good and I am sure that the hotel would suit most travellers in cooler months.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mercedes341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The Bauhaus is situated close to Union street and many of its restaurants, pubs and shopping outlets. The hotels exterior is modern, however a little less spectacular than its rivals close by. The common area situated around the entrance includes a bar/reception with tables and sofas dotted about. It is modern and relaxed but lacks atmosphere in my opinion.
The room itself was nicely presented and had all the mod cons you would expect including smart LED television and small fridge, telephone and free internet (wifi and wired). The room has a small en-suite, however has a terrific powerful and large shower. The only downside to this is everything in the en-suite will be soaking wet by the end. Size wise the rest of the room was good and also features a couple of chairs and table. Nice large windows also adored the room and set the room off nicely. We would recommend this hotel, although lacking in a little atmosphere, for the quality of rooms/friendly service and inexpensive room price its certainly worth a visit.

Double room overlooking the front of the hotel in may 2013.
Room cost: £60.00

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillingshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Fancied a weekend away and tried Aberdeen for a change, Bauhaus was a great choice room was clean, modern and spacious the staff were very friendly and helpful overall good value for money only drawback in my opinion would be that at times our room was a bit hot with no sign of air con, however there was a rather large fan provided which was better than nothing. As for location it was perfect literally across the road were at least three good bars/cocktail places the bar in the hotel itself was also a good option to have there was also quite a buzz in the area especially over the weekend, overall would definitely go back and recommend strongly for those looking for a modern well located and clean hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JDS790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First time in Aberdeen for many years, therefore used on-line search and came up with the Bauhaus. Certainly no regrets. Upgraded to suite on 5th floor with all the facilities you could wish for (even an ironing board for the masochistic among us), resilient wifi, free bottled water, Krups coffee-maker and feisty shower in a large-ish wet-room. Only gripe was the smart TV - nice bit of kit, but let down by poor bandwidth so that internet radio stations suffered from frequent drop-outs and the interface was clunky. They had provided a large fan as it was uncharacteristically hot and the window could only be opened a crack for safety reasons.
We tried to get a table in the Japanese restaurant opposite, it being a busy Saturday night this proved impossible so we ate in Grants (the hotel restaurant). Great service, food cooked in open kitchen by chef who seemed annoyed by something or someone (there was a hen party about to arrive so maybe that was it?) but that didn't stop us having a well-presented and tasty meal (the veggie curry was prepared with authentic ingredients and nicely spicy). Breakfast was again excellent with flavoursome mushrooms and a salty black pudding, though the buffet was rather limited in choice, perhaps a Sunday anomaly?

Room Tip: Can be noisy at weekends so the higher the better (top floor 5 seems to be all suites).
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phlashmair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews