We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far”
Review of Aurora Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurora Guest House
Ranked #4 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here for one week. It is a good location from town, bus stops are close and 24 hrs supermarket close by if you have forgotten anything. This B and B has it all lovely hosts, comfortable warm rooms, very clean, and a breakfast that would suit anyone's tastes, (great range to choose from). Loved the sitting area with the open fire to relax in the evening. Car park to the rear easy accessible. Highly recommended, I've already booked my next stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam186487, Owner at Aurora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Maybe next time the weather will be better and you can sit in the garden and not at the fire. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights as I was studying at nearby Robert Gordon Uni for work. I couldn't have picked better! Location was great, there's a bus stop directly opposite and a car park round the back. Hosts were really lovely and cleanliness second to none. The breakfasts were anything you could wish for, nothing was a problem. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Host was helpful in welcoming us to Scotland holiday and accommodations were comfortable and clean. Nice eateries nearby and caught a stagecoach bus right outside the place to train and bus station downtown.

Room Tip: It's difficult to book a B&B in Aberdeen -- plan ahead! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissusPinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here for two weeks.Its a wonderful experience and most memorable for me.Dave and Pam are are the best.They just like to help you out for any sort of matters.Been at several places in UK and Scotland and stayed in B&B's,but this is the best place to stay in.The morning breakfast is served hot and it's just awesome.Cheers Dave/Pam.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAIDIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was the first time that we stayed at the Aurora, and definitely will not be the last. The hosts were very friendly, and the breakfasts were excellent. Home baking, home made jams and fresh butteries! The room we got was on the top floor and had a south facing view away from the main road. It was very comfortable, clean and quiet.

It is possible to get a bus to the city centre just outside the front door, but we opted to walk in and out. That gave us a good excuse to stop off at The Ashvale a couple of times for a fish supper...

We will definitely use The Aurora on our next visit to Aberdeen

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scots_in_Oman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

As others did the parking at the back was a little difficult to find first time. After that - nothing but good. A lovely guest house; beautiful breakfast room and spotless and comfortable bedroom.
If we do return to Aberdeen we won't look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Be aware that parking is accessed via a lane at the rear of the house. The lane is off Granville Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Outstanding and personable hosts, whose breakfasts are second to none. Parking a bit tricky, but the room was outstanding-bright, roomy, and LOVED having the shower separate from the W.C.. While the WiFi couldn't penetrate into our room, it gave us an excuse to sit in the LOVELY common area to access our email, and it was SO comfortable that my traveling partner fell asleep while ensconced in the overstuffed chair next to the fireplace. The breakfasts were perfect (I still yearn for his homemade jams and his "butteries"), and a special thanks to our host for going "above the call of duty": our T-Times required us to depart each morning by 7 a.m. (before the time breakfast normally even started), and when we asked whether it might be possible for him to get us coffee (since we would have to skip breakfast), he did much more: HE GOT UP EARLY AND MADE SURE WE HAD A FULL BREAKFAST EACH DAY! I just wish every host was as accomodating as Dave and Pamela.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardiffjops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
915 reviews
1 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 103 in Aberdeen
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ferryhill House Hotel
#7 of 103 in Aberdeen
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Jays Guest House
The Jays Guest House
#3 of 103 in Aberdeen
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kildonan Guesthouse
Kildonan Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Aberdeen
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guest House

Address: 429 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guest House/B&B has 4* Visit Scotland, There is a real homely feel with home bakes on arrival in this beautiful Victorian house. Just over 1 mile to city centre with public transport on the doorstep. Free private car park and Wi-Fi. Immaculately clean, quiet and a real Scottish welcome awaits you. Only 7 en-suite rooms including 2 family rooms and 2 ground floor rooms ensure you get that individual attention. Excellent standard of breakfasts (Scottish produce high on our priority for which we have the "taste our best" award). Healthy option as well as full cooked breakfast cooked to order. Most allergies catered for. Our homemade jams & marmalades are very much appreciated. Free range eggs - straight from the farm, award-winning Stornoway black-pudding, smoked salmon for your scrambled eggs, fresh coffee, various teas. Residents lounge with an open fire and dining room with open outlook where you can soak up the sunshine while you have your breakfast overlooking garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aurora Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Guest House Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing