We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a 2 night stay it's not practical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #24 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For a 2 night stay it's not practical”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

As I have stayed here before you may see that my last review was very complimentary but having stayed here again for 2 nights I seen a lot of flaws, I don't want to be too harsh but first of all there is no storage space, one tiny wardrobe with a very small shelf, no drawers, no hair dryer, no iron, no fridge (not a huge deal) but I struggle to understand how people on business can stay here for a few days let alone a week.....

I live very close so this location is perfect for getting home the next day which played a huge part in why I booked the room and also a great groupon deal so although I should not complain I just cannot understand how guests can stay here for more than one night.

The room was spotless, very clean and tidy with plenty of fresh towels and a very comfortable bed.

Staff were all fairly pleasant although I did not have much contact with them, I did notice that the bar menu was rather pricey so I opted for a take away the second night.

One thing I will say is we requested a balcony room (204) which was amazing, the views across the city on a gorgeous warm day were stunning but it's attention to detail that this hotel lacks.

Tip for guests is ask for a balcony room, you will not be disappointed.

Would I stay here again....yes but bring everything because what you get is a room but no extra's so for me it let it down.

Room Tip: Balcony room 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    69
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
85
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here on a sat night and had a great stay.Had a room with a balcony which was very nice to have glass wine and chill since it was a hot day outside.Room was on the small side but for £50.00 2people including breakfast was going to complain.Room very clean warm and inviting,plenty towels,tea,coffee ect.
Only downside is there help yourself cold breakfast but apart from that would I stay again........................ YES I would and will.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room 212 or any other balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Got a stay here on a groupon. Room was tiny with just enough room for two single beds.
Suspicious smell of damp from the hallways in the hotel itself.
Breakfast in the morning was ridiculous. Myself and my friend got ONE slice of toast each and tea. There crreal but no milk and no fruit. Yoghurts were also finished so we were starving by the time we left!! Would have been extremely angry if i hadn't got this room on a groupon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA55SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I am a trainer in Customer services and travel all over the Uk in my job, staying away in hotels 2-3 nights per week. Although when the taxi dropped me off from the airport, my initial impression of the outside was dubious, from the moment I entered the welcome was warm and professional. The staff were chatty and helpful in reception and the lady at breakfast was most welcoming - a lot of hotel could learn from her!
The food is basic but there are takeaway restaurants nearby. I choose to eat and get on with emails at night. Would I recommend, YES and if staying locally again this would be where I would come.
Good comfortable bed, clean and value for money
Well done

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Great Western Hotel. We are regulars at the restaurant and have been for a few years as we used to live locally. As a treat we decided to stay at the hotel.....at best the standard of accommodation is that of a budget hostel. Although the room was very clean it was tiny. We could feel every spring in the bed, there was one dining chair and a small shelf with a kettle on it. The door stop had broken off the wall and had just been left lying on the floor and when my husband went to hang our clothes in the wardrobe the whole rail fell down on him. When we went down for breakfast (only serve continental on the weekend) we were not greeted by anyone and we had to track someone down to get cups for coffee (this was the only drink on offer) we were not offered any tea or toast and although there were cereals on the counter there was on 1 bowl and no spoons. We had to ask for everything and we never actually got anything in the end so eventually decided to leave and go elsewhere for breakfast. Appalling service. Thankfully the whole purpose of our visit was to have a birthday meal with friends which was outstanding as always but the poor standard of the hotel left a bad taste. We will never stay here again nor would we recommend it. There are much better quality "budget" hotels in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendywoo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Excellent rate- and good value for money.

Staff very friendly, food was outstanding.

will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesBEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I decided to stay overnight in Aberdeen via Groupon (£39 for B&B). The hotel room was spotless clean with modern decor, the bed clothes where immaculate and the bed itself was very comfortable. The room was smaller than what u would normally expect, but this did not bother me in the slightest. The room had an LCD TV which was all mounted, Tea and Coffe making facilties with biscuits. Breakfast was self service continental style, very limited choice, however, we had cereal followed by a couple rounds of toast with tea and coffee.The hotel does house a bar area from which you can order Lunch and Dinner, some off the choice looked very tempting had we not booked a table elsewhere. All in all the hotel was perfectly fine and would warrant another visit, if the offer came via Groupon again :P

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyc651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beeches Aberdeen
Beeches Aberdeen
#8 of 102 in Aberdeen
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#15 of 102 in Aberdeen
16 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Guest House
Aurora Guest House
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Western Hotel Aberdeen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A granite townhouse hotel with modern rooms seasonal Scottish restaurant, summer garden and live sports bar situated in the fashionable West End of Aberdeen, 5 minutes from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing