We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished room, but with an old lumpy bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #38 of 106 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Booked on a Groupon deal for £34 B&B. We were allocated a room on the second floor.

It was a small room, but seemed bigger as it had floor to ceiling windows with a patio door to the balcony. The room was quite nice and modern and the bathroom had been refurbished recently with a good shower, toilet and sink. There was one small built-in wardrobe with 3 hangers and no drawer space. There was a desk under the 32” flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

The floors were very creaky every time you walked on them so I was glad we didn’t have anyone above us.

The bed was very lumpy and you could feel the shape of the springs as soon as you lay down. It’s a pity they didn’t spend some of the money refurbishing the rooms on new beds.

Breakfast is served between 8-10. There were cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, croissants, tea and coffee and it was quite good.

Both phones and the netbook connected to the hotel’s free wifi with a strong signal, but none of them would connect to the internet. Spoke to another guest at breakfast and he said the wifi was temperamental, that there were several connections at the hotel and it was trial and error to get one to work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony so that it appear larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank luci5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

First the downsides - Duvets too small, toilet paper too thin! Upsides - It's cheap and cheerful but breakfast was nice and the staff are lovely and friendly and it is very handy for the centre of Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here last weekend with a friend, bought on groupon deal so got 2 nights B&B for £60 which was a fantastic deal, we were given roon 202 which had a balcony and was situated above the outdoor area for the lounge bar, noise was not a problem for us. Friday evening we took to the bar for some food and few bottles of wine it was really busy but service was still quick and the meal was tasty. room itself was clean yes there wasnt much storage but we were only staying a few days so not a problem for us, staff at reception/bar and breakfast were all polite and efficient. weekends they didnt do a cooked breakfast but we were happy with the selection of cereal/toast etc especially considering the price we paid. there was a bus stop outside hotel which we used for going shopping and out into city centre in the evening. taxi fare home at 2am was only £6 - would definately stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap Aberdeen deal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazelArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for one night on a groupon deal for £34 and considered it to be very good value indeed. Although the room was small and did not have much storage (no drawers, small hanging space), it was comfortable, clean and had an excellent shower room. There was plenty tea/coffee/biscuits. We had a room at the front with a balcony and since the front of the room was all glass, it let in lots of sunshine. It was nice to wake up and see the trees across the road. The continental breakfast in the comfortable restaurant was very good: fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, croissants. For a stay longer than a couple of nights, I think you would feel the lack of space and storage. I think it is a little misleading to say it is 10 minutes walk from Union St. Maybe a very brisk walk would take you to the nearest end of Union street, but to get to the centre would be double that. We used the bus and it took the bus 10 minutes to get to the main shopping area. We only stayed one night but made 9 bus journeys getting to and from the hotel/shops/beach. We will certainly consider coming back for a return visit.


rt

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a Groupon voucher 2 nights B&B for £60. Thought the hotel was great value. Rooms clean and modern bathroom looks like its had been recently refurbished. Great hotel if you have children at university in Aberdeen and want to visit. Breakfast in the morning was continental lovely freshly prepared fresh fruit not out a can like some hotels cereal croissants etc. lots of lovely freshly made toast. Would definitely recommend it for a short trip. Excellent value. My only downside were the pillows which were very flat I like nice fluffy pillows. Maybe an extra one could be left in the cupboard if needed. No hairdryer in the room but one available at reception. Tea and coffee making facilities. Staff very friendly and amazingly organized in the morning. Will definitely be back for another visit

Room Tip: Rooms on the back probably quieter our room 104 above entrance of bar so smokers were out chatting b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneD222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Was dissapointed with this hotel, first impression was good, but bedroom was no bigger than broom cupboard, certainly not one of the ones shown on booking website. Very basic, would not reccomemd this hotel, definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I stayed here last night for the 34pound groupon offer. I can honestly say that the standard is comparable with more expensive hotel. My room was the last one available and I was advised about possible music coming from the bar, but this was not an issue for me as I was not planning on going to sleep before midnight. The room was lovely, the bathroom did seem to have been designed to cater for a mobility user (which I thought was good). Good supply of normal/decaffeinated coffee and biscuits were also available. Only remote downside being the lock on the door was a bit awkward to open and the Shower was a little bit tricky to try and get the right temperature.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Arlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
2.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,277 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Western Hotel Aberdeen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A granite townhouse hotel with modern rooms seasonal Scottish restaurant, summer garden and live sports bar situated in the fashionable West End of Aberdeen, 5 minutes from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing