We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few Changes Needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #21 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Few Changes Needed”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My Boyfriend and i have just returned from a weekend stay at the Great Western Hotel. We had been gifted a voucher for a two night stay with breakfast and a bottle of wine. Hotel looks great from the outside, lounge and bar are both very nice but our room was a little disappointing. Room was small, floorboards creaked, couple of rips in duvet cover and bed sheet, mattress very hard, old chair falling apart in corner, mirror in bathroom was placed far too high up on the wall, and not much space to hand clothes up. On our second day we returned from a day’s shopping to find our door had been left open. Think this must have been the cleaner; she couldn’t have pulled the door enough for it to lock. Nothing was taken but annoyed us a little. No hairdryers in rooms so had to go down to reception. I don’t think they had that many as a lady staying in the room next to us asked if we had one she could borrow as reception didn’t have any left. Saying all that the room/bathroom was clean, staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely in the lounge and hotel was in easy reach of a 20min walk from town or 5mins on the bus. I think if a few small changes were made I would return to the hotel but for the price you pay for one night at the moment I would rather stay at the Jury's Inn or Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    68
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
82
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked this hotel as advertised a special deal and we wanted to pay family a visit. Not exactly handy for city centre - best to have a car or use local buses. Hotel car park small probably only accommodating 8 cars so necessitated on street parking which did not prove too problematic on Sat night to Sunday. Hotel room was a standard double room facing the side street. A little noise permeated from downstairs at night as there was a function on but do not feel this was problematic. The room was comfortable and warm though quite minimalist with no drawers. Both the room and en-suite appeared to have been refurbished with use of a synthetic walnut burr 'cladding' which gave quite a luxurious feel and the shower was quite impressive. The bed was firm which I found comfortable but not an opinion shared by my other half! No spare blankets / pillows avail. in room. Surprisingly no hotel information was available in the room. The hotel entrance was on the side street and the door was not exactly inviting. There is also no lift with accommodation on 1st and 2nd floors. The front of the hotel was the Sports bar entrance.
Breakfast was nicely presented , hot and enjoyable. There were no side plates on the tables or beside the condiments which was rather inconvenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our 2nd visit and are returning in a few weeks with friends. We also booked using a B/B deal including a bottle of wine and once again the staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the small dark haired girl behind the bar. There is a menu for breakfast and the full English is lovely. Tea and coffee is offered and refilled as required. There is a self service for cereal, fruit juice, yogurt etc. We are booking a meal next time as the food being served looked delicious and plenty of it. There are also reasonably priced daily 'specials'. Once again a big thank you to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I booked a special deal for 2 nights B&B Fri/Sat which included a bottle of wine in the room. We arrived early but were told this was OK as the room was ready for us. The car park at rear of hotel was full but I managed to get parked on street nearby and later moved car to street outside hotel.

It's a 15-20 minute walk to the top of Union Street and about 30 minutes to His Majesty's Theatre so quite a good location if you've also got tickets for a show. About 10 minutes from the hotel is the "Ashvale Restaurant" and they also do carry out as well. If you want to have an evening meal in the hotel it's a good idea to book this early as it gets booked out quickly.

The breakfast they provided was excellent and the staff are very helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay there and recommend this for your consideration.

Room Tip: Sorry - no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The room was tiny, bathroom door wouldn't close, light bulbs not working, no drawers for clothes, windows dirty and the bed was rock hard! The staff WERE very pleasant and helpful though. Sadly we won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

aberdeen
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We booked this Hotel for a two night special offer with breakfast and a bottle of wine for the room. Easy parking and booking in although reception was unmanned and we had to retrieve someone from a busy sports bar. The first room we had was well furbished but only two of three light bulbs worked with the remaining one being an above bed spotlight making it impossible to read. One of the spot lights was flickering on and off and I asked for a change of room when no replacement bulb for the main light could be found. To their credit we were moved to a family room with bath, shower and a large TV although being a family room, the furnishings were a bit worn and shabby.

We used the bar part of the evening but did not eat there. On the second night we had a meal which was from a good selection and of excellent quality. Breakfasts on both days were sufficient for us in that we do not take "full English" but remember to ask for the toast advertised on the menu as nothing is automatically delivered.

Overall and enjoyable stay at a reasonable price though not a high star rating. We will probably stay there again and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Our first room was to the rear of the hotel and overlooked ventilation shafts but the second room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed there for three nights on a recent business trip. Very friendly staff on arrival, easy check in. First impression of room was "it's small, cramped and stuffy", but at £90/night B&B not bad for Aberdeen. Ate in the restaurant all three nights and it's excellent quality and quantity. Defy anyone to come away hungry. Breakfast likewise is good. There is a "but". I had three of the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. The walls are paper thin, the doors close noisily and sounds echo down corridors. The bar closes late so I was woken up by people retiring for the night. I was able to count the number of bathrooms being used as the toilets flushed. People rising early will wake you up as noise of the showers is clearly audible room to room as are the televsions. My advice is to got there for a meal if you're in Aberdeen, but sleep somewhere else unless you take high quality earplugs.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flash172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Beeches Aberdeen
Beeches Aberdeen
#8 of 102 in Aberdeen
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#15 of 102 in Aberdeen
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
CitiHouse Aberdeen West End
CitiHouse Aberdeen West End
#34 of 102 in Aberdeen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Guest House
Aurora Guest House
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Western Hotel Aberdeen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A granite townhouse hotel with modern rooms seasonal Scottish restaurant, summer garden and live sports bar situated in the fashionable West End of Aberdeen, 5 minutes from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing