We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #17 of 108 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got bed and breakfast through an Itison deal. The room was basic but the floor to ceiling windows and small balcony made up for the room although the mattress was a bit lumpy. The shower room was great, nice walk in shower. The breakfast was very good.
Good hotel for the price and an easy walk into the centre.
Would stay here again if we were staying over for a night out in Aberdeen.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have floor to ceiling windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    65
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
78
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I needed a one night stopover on business. The hotel is in a quiet location in what seemed a decent part of the city. The entrance is around the side of the hotel and seems ancillary to its main business of a pub/sports bar/restaurant. The check in area is a bit unwelcoming and is more like a taxi office. The room was very basic - a bed, a chair, a telly, a kettle and a bathroom - no homely touches. The bed was very firm and the pillows a bit flat. The bathroom was very nicely done with a good power shower - it looked recently refurbished. The corridors are a bit like a dorm with wood panelled doors and yale locks on each. It was okay for me on business but I don't think my wife would have been impressed. Breakfast was okay - taken in the restaurant with usual provisions, cereals, fruit juices etc and then full Scottish - food was okay but no more. Coffee was very good!! Free internet access was very helpful. If I needed to stay in Aberdeen on business then I would probably stay here, but not as a leisure break with wife/family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Really nice rooms and the food in the bar was excellent and very reasonably priced. I can definitely recommend the burgers, specially with some blue cheese.

Would stay again if and when next in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeenshiire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Went to the hotel for afternoon tea as a family of 4, 2 daughters aged 13 & 16. Deal was a bottle of Prosecco to share with afternoon tea. Due to the age of our children and the fact that we were driving we decided to pay for soft drinks instead and they were happy to give us the Prosecco home with us.The afternoon tea very good indeed with nice selection of sandwiches, scones, home bakes, strawberry/cream tart, clotted cream/jam with our scones etc. Having just been to a very well known Macdonald 4 star hotel near Pitcaple (where the afternoon tea was awful!), well done The Great Western Hotel!! Really nice surroundings and pleasant staff. Whole family enjoyed the experience. Would now like to go back for lunch!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mactur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Couple of small problems - I asked at reception about wifi and they moved me to a lower floor saying the signal was weak on higher floors. Still didn't find any wifi. Also the blind in my room (105) was broken and I could only open and close it by standing on a chair and doing it by hand.

But the room was clean, bathroom lovely, and the cooked breakfast very very good.

One other negative for me - the bar area has a large mural of George Best ... yes the violent alcoholic wife beater!! Why don't they think these things through? A quarter of women experience domestic violence in their lives and everyone knows someone who's affected. Who wants to stare at a giant tribute to a perpetrator? Well that was a fivers worth of my money for a nightcap they didn't get!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Good hotel good location for Aberdeen, rooms good size, clean and we'll maintained, breakfast good, location if on Buisness great, a good walk to union street,it's not that far. Staff a good to. If for family still good, theirs parking at rear, traffic does not keep you up at night, hope you enjoy.

Room Tip: Room to rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a gift, with the voucher entitling us to 2 nights stay, a bottle of wine and breakfast. Arrived there, £7 taxi from the train station.
We checked in and didn't receive our bottle of wine. The guy at reception said he had 'forgot' but we did get it. The rooms are nice and clean, but there is absolutely no noise barrier. We were situated at the front, in front of the smoking area so we couldn't open our window due to the smoke coming in our room. Our toilet didn't work properly and flooded, a member of staff came up and did fix it but he did not apologise once about it, know it's not his fault but could have apologised at least. Most of the staff were very pleasant and friendly, however one of the girls serving at breakfast swore us er her breath at one of the families for asking her to wipe down their table. It is her job and she was extremely rude, it's not anyone customers fault if they're understaffed - which they did seem to be. All in all was an ok weekend but wouldn't come here again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isla1795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Western Hotel Aberdeen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A granite townhouse hotel with modern rooms seasonal Scottish restaurant, summer garden and live sports bar situated in the fashionable West End of Aberdeen, 5 minutes from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing