We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value on a voucher deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #21 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good value on a voucher deal”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights B&B on a voucher deal. Room very basic with extremely limited hanging and storage space - 1 coat hanger - but clean with decent TV and tea / coffee making facilities. Bathroom clean and tidy with good shower. Bed not hugely comfortable but ok for a night or two. Walls are very thin - I was kept awake for most of the first night by snoring from the room next door or above - certainly from somewhere close! Fortunately second night was more peaceful! Our room did tend to be a little noisy as right above entrance / outside smoking area - this meant too that we couldn't open window as smoke from below drifted in - most unpleasant. This was not really a problem for us though as we were out most of the time and tend to be late going to bed by which time it was quiet. I would request a room on a higher floor and in a different situation if I stayed again. It would appear from other reviews that the rooms on a higher floor tend to be better in any case.

Only had breakfast in the hotel - it was fine - so can't comment on food quality other than that. Breakfast area was very pleasant - we had a table at the window both mornings. Corridors stairways and entrance area not so pleasant and don't give a good impression of the hotel - really need to do something about them. Bags of what appeared to be laundry were stacked on a landing for the whole of our visit - poor. Bar was busy - mainly with local people I think - this is usually a good sign - we went out both nights so didn't use the bar but would have been happy to do so as it appeared welcoming enough.

Staff were pleasant and helpful and hotel is in an excellent position in Aberdeen - a quiet residential area within walking distance of the centre. We enjoyed the walk in and out but there is a very good bus service to and from the centre. WiFi is free - I think this is really essential now - but connection certainly better in the public areas - could be a bit "iffy" in our room. Parking is free in the hotel car park - a huge bonus when visiting a city. There is also plenty on street parking round the hotel.

Overall I would stay here again for a short break - if the price was right. Pretty good value for the voucher deal we had but on rack rate prices I would probably go elsewhere as deals are always to be found.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor in quiet position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avrilritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    68
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
82
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel is in a lovely location, away from the city centre but easy to access via bus or taxi. Staff were great, food also and atmosphere in general. Rooms have been nicely renovated, we had one with a balcony which was fun and bright. The only and unfortunately the biggest let down was the mattress, it was like sleeping on wires with a sheet over them, barely got any sleep and my body felt like it was beaten up. It was a shame as everything else was great. Did mention it on checkout so hopefully they will address it soon.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 2nd floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRp0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped in at the Great Western in the late afternoon on the off chance that they might have a double for us. We were given an excellent reception, clear recommendations, good impartial advice and a top notch breakfast to get us started the next day. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbroath scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

been here a few times and cant fault it. rooms are clean and modern nice bar where you can have bar lunch or dinner in there nice restaurant. location is 10 min walk to union street or a taxi ride is £5.00 all in all good base camp for a weekend away

Room Tip: ask for lower level if you have any ailments as top floor bit of a trek as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culloden1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Loved this hotel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the all the staff were fabulous. Sooo friendly,great breakfast,relaxed atmosphere will definately be back.About a 15 min walk to union street a nice walk. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifer
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

my wife and i stayed for easter,having stayed before upstairs ,however on arrival was given downstairs room no out look and very dark due to only one light working,this was replaced instantly when brought to attention of management.Room still good lovely shower tea, coffee,etc.Staff are first class,breakfast very good ,evening menu reduced only because hotel was so busy easter sunday ,best of all the manager (lindsey) we think an absolute gent we even met him off duty in aberdeen and still had time for conversation.Will return again as long as other hotels dont head hunt great western hotel manager as his service was first class.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs have beautiful picture window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiferWdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the hotel. We arrived in a taxi from the station (£6). We were on the first floor room 109. No problems with noise, lumpy beds and the pillows, well that all depends what you are use too. The room was comfortable enough, no it's not the Hilton, but I think it is comfortable enough. The sports bar was very busy when we were leaving to walk into town at 5.30pm. So seems to be popular with locals. We decided to have a nightcap on the way home and were made to feel extremely welcome by the owner Gavin in the main lounge bar and a few locals. It was a lovely end to a lovely day in Aberdeen.
Yes they offered hairdryers and irons, but when I travel I tend to take my own hair products with me... Great power shower in the bathroom.
The hotel is exceptionally clean, outside and in. The main lounge area is lovely, breakfast was served in here, and Alex Polizzi would find it hard to quibble with the breakfast service. Cereal, toast, juice, pastries, full cooked breakfast or healthier choice (adapted if you asked). Lovely fresh fruit too. The serving staff were extremely pleasant to us as were all the staff in general.
I think considering what we paid through Itison we definitely had exceptional value for money.
As others say it is a 15-20 minute walk to Union St, but it was a nice stroll through the residential area for us, the Number 19 bus is frequent should you wish it.
All in all we had a lovely stay and I feel the new owners are striving to give the best attention to every little detail they can, they certainly made us feel welcome and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Beeches Aberdeen
Beeches Aberdeen
#8 of 102 in Aberdeen
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#15 of 102 in Aberdeen
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
CitiHouse Aberdeen West End
CitiHouse Aberdeen West End
#34 of 102 in Aberdeen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Registry Guest House
The Registry Guest House
#1 of 2 in Peterculter
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aurora Guest House
Aurora Guest House
#4 of 102 in Aberdeen
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Great Western Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 239 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Western Hotel Aberdeen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A granite townhouse hotel with modern rooms seasonal Scottish restaurant, summer garden and live sports bar situated in the fashionable West End of Aberdeen, 5 minutes from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Western Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing