We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service, will not be back”
Review of Circles@Mannofield - CLOSED

Circles@Mannofield
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful service, will not be back”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

After another visit here the service at an all time low. When I arrived all but one table was taken, the one that was left only had one seat at it and 3 was needed. I was given no acknowledgement whatsoever, no estimate on time for a table to be available, no thought of sorting out extra chairs to add on to the free table, not even a hello. So off to a bad start, a table did become free in which I took it upon myself(since no staff was) to take the chair from the free table to add to this table. Order was taken soon after, but only food, no drinks and no checking the order was correct. After serving one or two tables she realised she hadn't taken our drink order which processed to come but wrong. The food was brought out but again wrong, no soup and for 2 kids an adults toastie, not what I had asked for and at 4, my child looks like a child, so why give him an adults one?! Said to the waitress that the order was all wrong and she did then bring out one child's toastie. No apology. So I went to pay to discover from the receipt that for their mistake I had to pay £1.20 extra, it's not the cost that bothers me but the fact it was their mistake but I still get charged for it does bother me.

I know the service isn't the best but it's getting worse, being ignored and getting orders wrong with no apology and making me pay for their mistakes leaves me angry. Why annoy a regular customer?

The food is lovely which is why I have put up with the bad service but I think it's gone too far now

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Redheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food, service to improve”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I have become quite a regular here because the food is tasty. Tomato and pepper soup is amazing, best I've tasted, panini's are good and cakes are lovely, honeymoon slice is my favourite. Good choice of daily fillings that aren't the usual.

They also have a small area with toys and books which allow my kids to be entertained whilst they wait on food arriving, always a good addition(wish they had a bit in westhill). My kids often ask to come to circles.

But the service isn't great and it can vary, I have had some quick and pleasant service but more often slow service. I watched a table that had been empty with leftover plates when we arrived take a further 10mins til it was cleared. Can take too long to get your order taken, have encountered two tables order being taken before mine despite me being there first. Been given our cake and our plate from panini still left on the table and had to ask for them to be taken away. I feel these simple errors could be tightened up and would make the experience a lot better and live up to how good the food is.

So overall nice, clean, tasty food but inconsistent service.

Helpful?
Thank Redheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“I should come more often”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Friends tipped me off about this place for a light lunch on a Sunday. Soup and sandwiches are nice, and they do a very well presented baked potato. The scones, cakes and tray bakes all look very tasty. I found the service prompt and pleasant, there were papers to read while I was eating, and the atmosphere in general was fine. Hard plastic seats was about the only down side.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Not so good as usual ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Disappointed to find that the soup was somewhat cooler than I would like. Panini and cakes were tasty as always, but overall an expensive visit considering what was on offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank AbClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Always a joy to eat here.”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly and the food is always of a very high standard. A little gem of a cafe,the quality of the soups, sandwiches and in particular the cakes are of the highest order. It is no wonder that they are always busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circles@Mannofield also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing