We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum Club is the way to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is our third or fourth visit to this hotel on the beach at Aberdeen city. The platinum Club is private and luxurious. It is a stand alone building with its own reception and staff, a comfortable lounge for platinum club guests with wifi and cable internet, private bar and of course the buffet breakfast included in our junior suite cost. There is a Fitness centre, pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam room and beauty spa in the main building just a few steps away from the private entrance of the Platinum Club.

When we arrived (straight from a long haul of 30 hours) we were greeted with the usual warm welcome, a complimentary drink and a warm chocolate cookie. However, our requested room which is one of the junior suites on the 1st floor was not available and we were placed at the southern end of the Platinum club. Because we travel from Australia to visit my mother in law we need to be able to complete business via the internet. My husband is in the Computer business and found the wifi signal to be weak at the southern end. When we explained this to the reception staff they immediately penciled us in for a change of suite the following day into our requested room as soon as it was vacated and the wifi worked very well at the Northern end of the club building. Other family members were travelling via London and when they arrived the staff did their very best to accommodate them in a room on the same floor also at the Northern end.

The Platinum club junior suite we had was a very large and spacious room with floor to ceiling windows and exclusive views over the grass to the beach and the sea of Aberdeen. We had a very comfortable supersize king bed, a full lounge suite, a good sized desk, coffee table and a large flat screen TV. The furnishings are tasteful and in pristine condition. We had complimentary drinks placed in the fridge every day and chocolates too. It was quiet and private and has been every time we have visited. We have always been given the VIP treatment and this time it was the same. The staff always acknowledged us as we returned through the dedicated entrance each day (a large walk-in glass revolving door) and were interested in what we had been doing around the area. The Hilton is very close to the esplanade beach walks, the old fishing village of Aberdeen with its very quaint fishing cottages and pedestrian narrow streets, and easy driving to the coastal villages of the North coast such as Pennan and south coast such as Stonehaven. It is also walking distance to the recently built shopping centre using the old train station and Union Street shopping.

The Platinum club is exclusive and private and always very warm in the Scottish winter. Our room had 3 heaters and all worked very well. We could adjust the heat as needed. The bathroom also had its own heating. There was individual heating in the corridors too. We feel very at home here and thank the professional staff for assisting us in every way to make our stay a great experience. The Platinum Club is our preferred choice in Aberdeen as we need a quiet, private and attentive hotel for our 6 or 7 day stay each time while visiting an infirmed relative and then doing the return 30 hour long haul back to Australia.

Room Tip: ALWAYS stay in the Platinum Club and choose a junior suite facing north east (or south east if the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loutro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

Needed a good nights sleep having just flown in from Sydney , ver good and comfortable , quiet room.helpful staff . Shame about the weather ! It really gave us time out and refreshed us for the next part of our trip

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Well located near to city centre and the beach. Our classic room was well modernised although the bathroom was a little tired. Sound proofing was very good and we hardly heard any other guests. Breakfast was of good quality although choice a little restricted given the size of the hotel. All staff were very helpful and attentive showing good training. Reception was particularly helpful with knowledge of the city and in ordering taxis for us whenever we required transport.

Room Tip: Ask for an outward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selsdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Arrived at this hotel after requesting a bottle of wine in the room on arrival for a special occasion. It was supposed to be a surprise but no wine had been left. Anyway got it sorted out with reception. This was a minor grumble compared to what was to come.

Our first night was fine, but the following night was probably the worst I've spent in any hotel. There was a university rugby function on and the hotel was like an overspill from Magaluf. Some of the students were staying in rooms on our floor, including next door to us. They came back worse for wear and started partying in their room. At 12am enough was enough and we contacted reception. They told us that it would be sorted out and they did contact the room, it quietened down for about a half hour and then started up again. Our door was hammered on at 2am. So by this time being slightly irate, reception was contacted and we were told to calm down. I think we have every right to be annoyed, only paying guests after all.

Anyway same scenario, now at 4am, had to get dressed and walk down to reception in order to get the night staff up, by this time the corridors were in full party swing mode. At this stage the management should have identified the rooms and removed them from the hotel, but that would mean having to make a decision.

Next morning the duty manager had a queue of upset guests venting their frustration. We received a complimentary room upgrade, but unfortunately this didn't get our restless night back.

On another point the leisure pool was over run on the Saturday afternoon by a kids birthday party, no control by the staff who seemed to care less, so much so that we left the pool for some peace and quiet, kids running from treatment rooms into the pool area and back shouting at the top of their voice. By the way we have kids and wouldn't let them behave like that. In the changing rooms towels had been thrown about and no staff in sight to tidy up.

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and we won't bother again, especially as we previously had been to it for a quiet getaway. Think Hilton should turn it over to travelodge it would be better run.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank guitar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Couldnt really fault our weekend stay,will use this hotel again.food slightly expensive,rooms are a good size and quite warm.well equipped with everything.emily at reception was very helpful as were the porters at night time.breakfast was warm and plenty of choice.

Room Tip: premier rooms are quit spacious and the accessable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Spent the worst 2 nights ever in a hotel here.

Drunken yobs running through the corridors till the early hours, kept us awake all night.
The previous night they had to move us because we had been put in a room directly above the function suite with a wedding on!
Feeling drained and upset we were offered a token free meal from the restaurant, still wanted us to pay for the bottle of wine and the tip of course.

Manager on duty gave us a token apology, when we complained to the Hilton they told us we had a meal discount, what more would you want after a weekend from hell???

Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear bob n
I'm very sorry to hear about your experience when you stayed, and I have contacted you directly so we can discuss.
I apologise if there has been any misunderstanding, but I can confirm that the food and tip was refunded as a goodwill gesture - it is always our intention to ensure that guests leave the hotel happy, as this gives the best outcome to both parties, and I'm sorry that we were not able to resolve things to your satisfaction at the time.
Moving forward, we will certainly be more vigilant in allocating bedrooms for our guests, and thank you for your feedback.
Best regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very poor service; food is extremely slow and not vary tatsty. We had to wait over one hour for lunch for a clubsandwich. The dinner was also about one hour and then soup and main course were served at the same time.
Bathroom very poor (poor light, no shaving mirror, no toiletbrush shower in the bath with a bathcurtain in stead of a screen).
Taxi ordering service is notoriously poor (we ordered a taxi for 0800 hours at 7:50 hours it arrived at 08:35 hours!)
In short;
For me it is the last time I go to this hotel again

Room Tip: best is no room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rensvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_karwl_jackes01, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for using trip advisor as to your recent stay, I am pleased you have mentioned the taxi service as I explained to you yesterday in an email Aberdeen is a very busy city and the taxi service is exstreamly busy at peak times, we do ask at check in do you require a taxi in the morning if so it is advisable to reserve it as early as possible.
I was disappointed to hear that you felt you had a long wait time for food service I have to say I was not aware I had a challenge however I will look into this all food orders are timed from the minute they are taken to the guests receiving them. We have a wonderful new menu on offer which has recently been launched and is being well received the menu is now available from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week with a wide selection to choose from.
Health and safety is paramount to us and screens over baths can be a hazard, your comfort is always a concern and should you require additional lighting in your room we are happy to oblige. I say to all our guests please make us aware of any challenges that you may face immediately so that we get the opportunity to overcome them for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind Regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#10 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing