We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful, awful, awful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful, awful, awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Checked in and within the first 3 nights was moved room 3 x, one of which I was not told about and returned to the room to find that my belongings had gone. Each time was downgraded due to a 'large party arriving'. This large party turned out to be a wedding in the Friday night which kept every paying customer in the hotel awake throughout the night. No apology from the staff for any of the issues. Awful service but generally typical from Hilton. Not to mention, rooms look on to breeze blocked wall and are constantly roasting hot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadvise789D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    386
    263
    142
    85
See reviews for
225
441
71
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed last week for a business trip (actually at the hotel) and first time staying there. Not sure what to expect but very pleased at the end of the day - ate exclusively in the hotel - good menu that was varied enough for the 3 days visit and food always well cooked and presented. Bed was super comfy and choice of TV viewing good although the menu interface was a little quirky and slow to respond. All team members were very helpful and kind, patient and aware. Not that I had time to take advantage, but location is just a few yards from the coast promenade with its views across the sea and some brazing walks if the mood takes you :-) Would recommed

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank philip2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The visit was in December 2012 for business with family in tow.

My favourite, the Hilton Garden Inn, was booked so we went to the Doubletree.

Overall: The hotel is alright. I do recall this as being under another name years ago, but it seems to have gone thru a Doubletree transformation. The one limiting point is that Doubletree design is usually for larger rooms. Having said that, I would stay again.

Room: Two Queen size beds and three people made it a tad snug, but perfectly acceptable. Sheets , bed, etc. were top notch. It does seem to get stuffy and the heating is hard to figure out.

Staff/Service: No complaints. Service in the breakfast room was more than fine. Front desk and concierge were on the ball.

Pool: A real bonus. Indoors and a great way to relax.

Bar area: its actually the centre of a large spacious lobby and its not intimate, but it is fine and service was fine.

Parking: Plenty

Location: Near Beach Blvd and for some who break into a sweat if they have to walk 100 feet, it could be a turnoff. But its five minutes from the St. Nicholas Centre by foot, and it has the bonus of being quiet in the evening.....anyone who has stayed in City Centre will know that the noise that comes from the crowd leaving the bars.

Food: Breakfast was the only meal at the hotel we sampled. It was buffet and more than fine.

Al in al, I booked this because I had to, but I would have no hesitation returning or recommending.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergyVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Overall the hotel is fine but I was hoping for more from a hotel that typically charges over £90 per night.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the room was perfectly clean and the cookie (given free at check in)was tasty, and it was free using AVIOS point gained from BA.
However the bed was uncomfortable, the heating kept turning itself on and our window looked out onto a wall about 3 feet away so no daylight, also got the feeling we were given the worst room because we didn't pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed with my family on Aberdeen this summer, and we've stayed on this hotel. Our stay has been very relaxed and without problems. The room was very good and nice, just the window were a little bit small.... but in my opinion it wasn't so important, because there was light anyway :) The room had all things and all was clean. The staff was kind and expert, congratulations to restaurant and its chef.... the dishes were delicious ..... especially cookies, salmon fillet and sticky toffee pudding !!!! We loved them :) The atmosphere was elegant and high ..... we've really enjoyed !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Maria A
Thank you for your kind comments - we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I've passed on your feedback to the departments concerned, as it is always a pleasure to receive such feedback. We hope to welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton very soon.
With best wishes.
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'll start with the positives - the staff we encountered were all friendly and courteous and the hotel location is great for families.
Now the not so good - The dining area feels a bit grotty - the chairs and curtains need a good deep clean. This impression wasn't helped by being given a high chair for our baby daughter which was ripped and encrusted in dried food. Not pleasant.
Very disappointing as this hotel should be a great place for anyone with children looking for a base to explore Aberdeen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear SR74
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and I'm delighted to hear your comments about our staff; we're very proud of our team. However, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience in the restaurant and we'll make sure these things are addressed. As you mentioned, we are at a very convenient location for families, and I hope you will return again soon, when you can see the improvements for yourself.
Best wishes.
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having stayed at several Double Tree by Hilton hotels I was somewhat dissapointed by this hotel in Aberdeen. The roomtemperature was way too high even on a cool summerday and there was no airconditioning. I could not keep my drinks cold as there was no minibar/fridge in my room. I received a free password for WiFi which was only available in the hotel lobby. Those are essential matter for a modern traveller, and something I do expect when staying in a 4 star hotel. The room was small and located right above an entrance where laundry and other goods were delivered which caused some disturbance. It seems like most of the frontdesk staff were not british, but they were very friendly and helpful. Location of this hotel is close to the sea/beach and just a 10 min. walk from the main shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear DTH70.
Sorry to hear that your experience did not match that of your stays at other DoubleTrees which is disappointing, however, we have taken your feedback on board. Next time, I hope you will have the chance to stay in our Premier rooms as they are more spacious and have a fridge in the room. Our Platinum Club rooms are more luxurious still, and come with free internet and complimentary soft drinks and fresh milk in the fridge. Also, I'm very pleased to hear that you were impressed with our international team of staff - I'll be sure to let them know.
Thanks again for your review.
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing