We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimidating staff and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Intimidating staff and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I will try and keep this brief and trust that you bear with me. I'll start with the good bits - nice shower/bath, nice toiletries, hot cookie on arrival, shortbread/tea/coffee in the room and a lovely, comfortable bed.

Then I went and spoiled it all by visiting the restaurant. I was given a menu and made my choice but no one came to take my order after about 15 minutes or so. The hotel didn't appear busy and there were plenty staff on duty.

I then moved to the bar and ordered there. The starter came and, although it was not hot, it was edible. I mentioned this to the waiter and he said that he would tell the chef. The waiter didn't tell me the chef's reply so I asked to see the chef who apologised and gave me a free Ice Cream.

The main course was also cold so the waiter returned it to the kitchen. I was given a second main course which seemed hot enough but by the time the waiter brought me cutlery, it was cold. The waiter then returned the second main course to the kitchen.

However, as I was late for phoning my wife (my ordeal started at 07:50, this was now 21:38), I asked the receptionist if she would kindly phone my room when the dinner came (the 3rd main course). I went to my room to phone my wife on my mobile phone and the room phone rang as I was phoning my wife. I then finished the call (which showed a total of 6 minutes 28 seconds on my call log), and went down to the bar to be told that, as I was absent, they had binned my 3rd main course!

I was informed that the fourth main course would have to be something other than my original order as that was a 'restaurant meal' and the restaurant was closed so I had to choose from a 'bar meal'. The 4th main course, I may say though, was lovely and piping hot.

It was only when I was checking out the following day, however, that I noticed that they had charged me for the meal that they threw out! I spoke to the manager who, rather aggressively, told me to pay as the wasted food was my fault as I had been on the phone to my wife for 45 minutes!

I mentioned the problem with the starter and he very kindly deducted that.

I feel rather aggrieved at having to pay for a meal that I did not have but, as I felt intimidated by the manager's tone, I thought I had no option.

Suffice to say that I'll avoid this particular hotel in future.

Room Tip: I think I'm right in saying that all room windows overlook the bar area so there is no external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Advisor_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    386
    263
    142
    85
See reviews for
225
441
71
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights which was booked by work thankfully.

Firstly, bathroom was dirty and mouldy and plumbing was round the wrong way on the bath/shower taps. Bad smell coming from the plug holes too.

Room and hotel decor is drab and dull and really needs some money spent on it, they could use the massive profits they must be making on the incredibly overpriced food to do this.

£30 for a steak!!!!! Which looked like it came straight from the bargain reduced section from a corner shop.

Breakfast food was lukewarm and very poor choice.

For £275 a night you would think you would get something really special. Dont be fooled by the words Hilton in the hotel name, its certainly not what you would expect from them.

Overall, stay somewhere else.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Stavanger, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Functional and close to all amenities. Nice hotel in general. Only thing that spoiled the stay was the condition of the bathroom. I had friend s staying in the superior rooms, and much more plush and worth the extra if it's not too much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

A good night's sleep was of paramount importance to us so we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay at this hotel after a very long drive and doing the return drive the next day. The first room we were allocated was just off the main reception area/bar was very noisy - there was also some kind of drinks reception for a 'do' going on in the reception which added to the overall racket and all within about 20 yards of our room - I asked if we could be moved to a quieter room and this was attended to efficiently and quickly by reception - the 2nd room was an oasis of peace and tranquility - till the disco started (which sounded like it was next door but was probs downstairs) - the decibells were even louder than the first room we had been allocated but we were weary and the thought of having to pack up all our belongings again for another possible move was very inconvenient so we decided to make the best of it - needless to say I lay awake for hours listening to every beat of the music until the wee small hours when the party ended on what I can only describe as a hard uncomfortable bed. This is my first experience of staying in a Hilton hotel and not what I expected at all. Whilst the room and hotel was pleasant enough, neither were anything special, however, it was the level of noise which spoilt our stay and was very unacceptable, especially as we had already asked to be moved from a noisy room but then to be allocated what turned out to be an even noisier room was very bad service indeed in my opinion. I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this hotel to anybody who wants a good nights' sleep and as to whether I would stay at another Hilton Hotel again is very debatable.

Room Tip: insist on a room away from all noise from the outset and be aware that even if a room appears quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagentaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Had a really nice stay and the price of the room was excellent as part of the package for Bring a Party to a Party. The food was delicious. evening meal and breakfast. Room was lovely and had a great sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

By far the best of the branded hotels that we have stayed in in Aberdeen. I would highly recommend this hotel. There was a cheerful friendly staff, a clean and bright hotel, a warm cookie on arrival and many extras that one expects from a Hilton Brand Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Fantastic value, family friendly and great facilities. Our family of 4 stayed for just the one night and did not find fault with any aspect of our stay in Aberdeen. We will certainly use this hotel whenever we are in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Phillipa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemant M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you Phillipa B for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you and your family found the hotel family friendly and enjoyed the great facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Hemant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing