We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #20 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Yes, the rooms may be a little dated, but they're a good size & very clean. From the moment we checked into the hotel, every single member of staff is a credit to the Hilton chain from receptionist, bar staff to waiting staff. Our 3 year old loved her cookie at check in, nice extra touch as was the rollaway bed they had put in our room to accommodate her, at no extra charge. It beggars belief that someone in previous review can make such criticisms about the breakfast. The selection was vast to suit all tastes from wide range of fruits, cold meats & cereals to the full hot breakfast. 10 minute walk to city centre, but sits right opposite beach with variety of eateries & great play park. My only negative comment would be only 1 female changing room for the pool. Well done hilton staff for making hotel what it is & for great 1st impression of our visit to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Claire B. Many thanks for your review. We're delighted that you and your family had a good stay, and it's especially good to hear that you were well looked after by the staff. Thanks too, for your comments about our DoubleTree breakfast - I do agree that there is a plentiful selection for our guests to choose from. We hope you'll have the chance to visit Aberdeen again, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again for your feedback. Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    393
    269
    143
    87
See reviews for
233
454
72
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel as usual is excellent, friendly staff, good food, good bar. Unfortunately this stay we had a large party staying over in the hotel. This party were extremely inconsiderate, the room opposite mine had people, (felt like an army) constantly banging on the door to gain access at 2am,3,30am,5.00am, I did mention this on check out and they had a few complaints from other guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Simon D. Thanks for your review, and I'm sorry that the noise from neighbouring guests spoiled what was an otherwise enjoyable stay for you. We do our best to ensure noise levels are kept down during the night, and I've shared your comments with our night team so that they can keep an eye on this in the future. Wishing you a much better night's sleep next time you stay. Best regards. Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We enjoyed an excellent weekend stay in the Doubletree Hotel which is ideally located close to city centre and to the beach boulevard,. The reception staff were welcoming and immediately handed over an envelope which had been left for me along with two hot cookies for our consumption. On this occasion we only had breakfast in the hotel but this was of a high standard and on both mornings we got very good service especially from Inma. Our room on the first floor was spacious and comfortable but there was some external noise as it was immediately over a storage area.
The coffee bar service was prompt and the young lady in charge was friendly and helpful.
All round the staff were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your review, jerryattrick, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. It's always a pleasure for us to receive such positive comments, and I'll make sure that your feedback is passed on to Inma and the rest of the team. Thanks for your continued loyalty, and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards. Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights. Still not able to believe that this a hotel maintained and run by Hilton chain. Rooms are old and lacking any style. I stayed in the Premier Bedroom. The room was dark and dingy. The bathroom didn't have a proper shower, the hand shower had to be adjusted to be used as shower. The breakfast was absolutely minimal, same menu throughout the week and average taste. To add to all this the internet was down for 3 days. I had to sit in the lobby to access internet. They kept working on the problem for 3 days !! It was really annoying to not have internet access in the rooms.
I still cant believe that I paid such a high price for this hotel. Disappointed to say the least. To be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suddu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Suddu85. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, and I'm sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction.

Regarding the internet, it sounds like there was an isolated problem in your room, as the lobby internet was working, and had we known at the time, this could have been resolved.

Our Premier rooms are decorated in a traditional style, and I know this is not everyone's preference. We hope you will try one of our Classic or Platinum bedrooms next time, which are decorated in a more contemporary style, and hope you will have a much better experience. Thanks again for your feedback. Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked a room via 3rd party, paid £110 for a family room. Two woman and a child. Long story short room was of low standard, z-bed was not even able to be slept on, bathroom looked old and dirty.

Complaint passed to Manager but they said room was upgraded 18 months ago and z-beds checked and that this room was one of the better rooms they have as it was a corner room.

So my advice, if that was a upgraded room and it was still below the standard of a Travel Lodge, don't stay! The manager has offered me a upgrade next time I stay but they would have to pay me to stay there again.

Thankfully the third party have offered me a refund. I can see by the reviews here that I'm not alone with my thoughts of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlottes-mammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear charlottes-mammy. Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations when you stayed. You have already been in touch, and we have taken your feedback on board. As mentioned at the time of booking, this room was not a family room (with super-king bed and sofa bed), but a standard room with a z-bed as per your request.

We receive many positive comments about the standard of our refurbished rooms, and therefore I do hope you will accept our offer of an upgrade so that we will have another chance to look after you and change your perceptions. Best regards. Gavin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Great special offers for stays at the weekends. The pool is great and location perfect if you are bringing a dog. Big Comfy beds, helpful staff, plenty of free parking. Good choice of movies and wifi available!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemant M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear ELEMGEE, thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear such positive comments about the hotel and its facilities. I certainly agree it is a great location if you have a dog as we are located on the beach front. I will share your comments with the whole team who will be delighted to hear that. We do often have Getaway deals on our doubletree.com website, which offer excellent value for money, and we hope you’ll book one again soon.

Kind regards
Hemant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night with my Mother for a Birthday treat, found the Hotel to be excellent, staff friendly and facillities were as expected to a high standard. The spa was rto a high standard and the massage. we both received as part of our package was just bliss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemant M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you Lorraine G for reviewing your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the spa facilities were of a high standard. Glad to hear your massage was bliss and I will pass on your feedback to the Spa Manager so that she can share this with her team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Hemant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,932 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
1.0 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Beach Boulevard, Aberdeen AB24 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Doubletree Aberdeen City Centre
Hilton International Aberdeen
Patio Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Hotel Patio
DoubleTree By Hilton Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing