We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Poor food.”
Review of Craighaar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craighaar Hotel
Ranked #46 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice room. Poor food.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. A very nice room and good staff. However the food is poor. My main and starter were both below average. Two colleagues said the same. There is a nice tandoori around the corner though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
26
39
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston_traveler
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Its quite an average hotel as they go, i would rather a premier inn to be honest. The rooms are reasonable but some have very think walls. I think you could lift the carpets and loose many thousands of screws fixing the floorboard creaks too. Its not realy bad, but would not rate as really good either... Pretty average, but quite clean and tidy .... it does the job!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent weekend at Craighaar hotel. Third time we have stayed bed and breakfast. Didn't have the dinner there but breakfast really good. Lovely hotel near the airport well looked after would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights here. Not in the nicest location (unless you want to be near the airport) but spotlessly clean, comfortable, good, reasonably priced, food and perfect as a base for travelling around the area as we were doing. Staff were efficient, friendly and welcoming.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

As Area President of the The Association of Speakers Clubs it was my task to choose a venue for our annual dinner which has 30-40 attendees from all over Aberdeenshire. Having looked at some of the positive reviews from individual travellers I contacted the Craighaar and they were able to accommodate us.
We had our dinner last night and I would recommend this as a venue to any other small club or society looking for a venue for a dinner. The Hotel had taken the trouble to find out a little about our organisation and customised the menus to suit. The room looked elegant and inviting - we had round tables, but other options are available. We had chosen an inexpensive menu, but the food was excellent, nicely presented, and there were lots of clean plates! The staff were polite and helpful, and our members were full of praise for the hotel.
Another bonus was that the hotel were able to accommodate guests who needed to stay over and there is a generous sized car park!
A great venue - give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TootTootTootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Have stayed here several times. It's quite a nice small hotel, but very comfortable with nice bedrooms and shower room. Fixed head shower ladies! The breakfasts are delicious and they serve fish at no additional cost. Dinner was equally tasty, with a good choice of menu. The staff including chambermaids always have a friendly word. About 5 minutes in the car from Dyce station.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Having stayed mainly in Premier Inn type hotels over the past few years, it was refreshing to stay in a hotel that had character rather than being a corporate soulless block of rooms. However, you need to be prepared for a small room. Booked into an executive room, but I'm not entirely sure what would set it apart from standard. Narrow beds, thin mattress, tiny TV. But a DVD player was provided (apparently you can borrow DVDs from reception), and a rain shower over the bath, which might account for the extra you pay. Seems to be a heated mirror too, which stays clear after showering.

I found the room smelt a little stale, but otherwise clean and decor in good order. Thin walls though, as I could hear every word from the guy next door as he was on the phone. Likewise his TV was annoyingly intrusive, but thankfully he decided to turn it off around 11pm.

Ample breakfast cooked to order, which is refreshing in this day and age of help yourself buffets, although quality of the food was rather average. Aberdeenshire has great local produce, but it didn't appear that the hotel takes advantage of this.

I needed to be up early, so wasn't too bothered by the noise of early morning flights to and from the nearby airport. But if you want a lie in, I'd imagine the aircraft noise would be problematic. I'm surprised this fact wasn't taken into account when deciding on window design.

A reasonable enough hotel with a far from budget price, which is competing with brand new hotels right beside the airport. Although I doubt it will suffer much as a consequence, as Aberdeen is still desperately short of hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.9 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#35 of 65 in Aberdeen
512 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atholl Hotel
Atholl Hotel
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
371 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Bucksburn
4.3 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#45 of 65 in Aberdeen
642 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pinehurst Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craighaar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craighaar Hotel

Property: Craighaar Hotel
Address: Waterton Road | Bankhead, Aberdeen AB21 9HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Craighaar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Craighaar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craighaar Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing