We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location best factor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Location best factor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We arrived late one afternoon by car in Aberdeen and I needed to stay somewhere close to the city to see some city sights in the morning. Aberdeen traffic is terrible so was keen to stay close to the centre...but everywhere but this place was booked. The location is great but it is expensive for what you get. Then again, other hotels were equally as pricey, so I think there is a supply/demand issue at work here. The WiFi was ok...but the room was crooked - the floors were not level to the point where it was a little vertigo-inducing. It was clean enough and breakfast was ok. The staff were a bit uninterested and I had no problem with them but could see how other reviewers got frustrated. I'd probably try other places first if/when I return to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    95
    99
    81
    105
See reviews for
41
88
59
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is very well situated. Like no other hotel in this city. Just opposite very modern shopping mall and bus station. In city centre I would say. Weekend entertainings are just few minutes of walking. Restaurant Chef has been working there for longer time and and Chicken Corma ( now under new name in the menu) or any other Asien meals are done with very good taste and touch of soul. Rooms are clean and good serviced.
However some refurbshment is required in deed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Myself and a group of friends went here for lunch on Sunday afternoon.it was coming to the end of the lunch service so this may be why the dining room was deserted. The waitress took our drink order first .the rose wine was not chilled and we were asked if we wanted to wait 20 mins for it to chill.they had NO vodka left!!! This should have been a warning sign .after placing our order from a very limited choice .we waited and waited finally on arrival of our meals they were terrible across the board out of 4 steaks ordered not one was cooked as requested .the special of roast pork arrived with watery gravy 2 Baby potatoes and a selection of silent overcooked vegetables.the pork itself was in 2 lumps on the plate "not sure what cut of meat it was from" but it was pink in the middle . As with other comments the staff did not speak English as a first language and although their spoken English was of a high standard they seemed to have difficulty in understanding our order. Non of my group of friends will be eat here again . A shame that a hotel in such a good location should be so disappointing.

.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel has a very grand feel about it, big wide corridors with high ceilings and huge old doors but it is in need of a bit of care. The hotel lobby and bar are well decorated and equiped but the rooms are a bit dated, I had a single room at the back end of the hotel and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall and the window had a bit of a breeze getting through. The hotel is in a decent location next to the train station and the huge shopping complex accross the road and Union St just around the corner so that is a plus. The rooms have tea and coffee facilities and the bathroom was actually quite decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The whole place is vey very dated with décor from the 80's, could do with a good clean & update. The breakfast in the morning is self service and of very poor quality, no fresh fruit juice so I went out to the local shopping centre to get a fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel facilities are modest, but good enough for a comfortable stay. My problem is not with the hotel infrastructure but rather with the staff and hotel policies. I booked a room for my mother and she had to travel two nights earlier than planned. The hotel was unwilling to refund the remaining two nights stay, so I decided to use it up even though I stay in Aberdeen so as not to waste it. It was my birthday and she bought wine and gifts for me which I left neatly on the bed with the intention of opening it when I returned. The bag mysteriously disappeared and for the past five days, the hotel staff have been tossing me around with no logical explanation and some being quite rude even. This is an absolute disgrace for a supposedly well renowned hotel in the city. So, I would advise you either look elsewhere for your stay, or ensure your items are locked at all times and keep a DO NOT DISTURB sign outside your door when you are out and about, because this hotel is quite okay with housekeeping helping themselves to your belongings.

Room Tip: There is zero sound insulation between room walls so I'm afraid you will be treated to a myriad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Old victorian station hotel (oposite station in Aberdeen obviously). Unlike a lot of old hotels they havent just kept period features in the main foyer but have been sensitive to it throughout the building and it gives a great sense of continuity. I found it to be clean, organised and though the view from my room wasnt wonderful (221) the room itself was great! Could have done with brighter lighting if I am to be honest guys - couldnt tell the difference between a pink and a yellow t-shirt when searching my case because of it. Lovely clean bath and big white fluffy towels were great. Ate in the restaurant quite late but the lovely and really really pleasant girl who served us couldnt have been more helpful and so quick. Most of all i liked the lack of pretention which I feel always adds an uncomfortable air to a place so they didnt bat an eyelid when I only wanted a main course and my husband only wanted a desert - not a problem! Would be grateful if you could provide guiness in the bar please! I walked through lots of corridors etc. whilst there and I found them all clean and well cared for with new carpeting. I checked out the toilets in reception and restaurant and found them absolutely satisfactory. No cant fault it to be honest - from me this is high praise indeed!

Room Tip: Ask the staff to match your room to your needs - I prefer a peaceful room to a great view for a city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing