We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at the Station hotel over new year's and thought the hotel was good value for money. The room was spacious, the building was charming and full of character and the bar area cozy. The location was excellent -within easy walking distance of shopping, dining and clubbing- and the hotel even has a big parking space so we had no problem parking the rental car we got for two days. I'd definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdagarpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    96
    99
    81
    105
See reviews for
42
88
59
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Worst hotel ever. Noisy cleaners in the morning woke me up shouting in french and still came in my room when I had a do not disturb sign on the door. I had an amazing view of nothing but pigeon poo, and my electrics wouldn't work properly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you can ignore the swirly green carpet & similar wallpaper in the restaurant, then you can enjoy a great value for money high tea at this hotel.
Served between 4pm - 6pm, for £6.50 per person you get a pot of tea or coffee, refills included in the price, a rack of toast, a generously portioned main course and to finish, either three scoops of ice-cream or a plate of mini cakes & fruit.
We sampled the beef & Guinness pie, served with potatoes & vegetables and the Chicken Maryland, a large escalope of moist breaded chicken served with onion rings, bacon, banana fritter, pineapple and chips, all of which left little room for dessert, but we persevered!
Other choices include fish & chips, curry & lasagne.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Staying in here before I go offshore tomorrow and this is by far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. I will be reporting just how bad this hotel is to my company so no other people have to face a night in here. Tiny rooms, issued 2 rooms which were occupies already, tv was unwatchable, rooms are ridiculously hot and buzz all night...AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank skinsman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has the ability to be fantastic. Exceptionally large rooms, sweeping staircase, I can imagine that in the past it was a very opulent beautiful place. It would need a lot of money spent to sort it out though - shower poor, not enough light switches or points. Shabby. Aberdeen is so expensive though - this place cost over double what I paid for a much better hotel in Glasgow, and breakfast was extra! It is worth a visit, but don't expect assume that paying over £100 per night guarantees a plush hotel! I was unable to draw the curtains - but it looked as though I overlooked a sort of walled in room with no roof!

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The station hotel is very well located in the heart of Aberdeen, not surprisingly considering its name, close to the train station. The rooms are great and good value for money. The only thing letting this hotel down is the sultry staff. The check-in staff clearly don't like their job and seem to resent having to do anything.

It's seems strange that the owner went to so much trouble and expense in renovating this lovely old building, yet hasn't bothered to ensure a decent level of service by employing people that actual care about what they are doing.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Somewhere_nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here 1 night having been working in Aberdeen and the firm found us a room at short notice.
We ate out in the centre straight opposite excellent choice of restaurants a stones throw away.
Breakfast was a buffet type breakfast and anyone who's read my reviews before will know I'm not a fan of this style of service whilst I understand its less staff intensive food kept in bain maries can be sub standard by the time it reaches your plate especially open air heat lamp types as is at the station hotel. On the plus side breakfast is available ultra early 4:30 AM till 9 AM so if you need to be up and away early for work flight or train then its a great service.
The evening menue wasn't so appealing hence eating out but thats all about personal tastes.
The halls smell old and the overall decor would be best freshened up some time soon. The room was okay however the booking form mentioned a mini bar that I didn't see and the Tea coffee tray was a bit sparce.
My room was on the 4th floor and it was clean and comfortable but it was a twin room.

Overall not an overly bad stay but I've had better that were cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#45 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing