We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but needs updates” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Station Hotel
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient but needs updates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Chose the hotel based on its proximity to the rail station across the street. We arrived in Aberdeen after a red eye from Chicago without luggage that got lost in Dublin. Had enough in the back pack to last for two days, so clear there. Could not get a room until 2 p.m., which I understand, but at the time was kind of disconcerting. When we got in, the rooms had potential, but that hadn't been actualized--nice bath though. Staff was helpful in accepting bags when they showed the next day as we were checking out. The place served a purpose.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get in early to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    95
    99
    81
    105
See reviews for
41
88
59
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in in the UK.My room was dirty, shabby, the walls were peeling the carpet had a multitude of different stains.
My bedding was ripped and the were hairs in the bed. My pillows were disgustingly stained with sweat.
I took a person claiming to be part of the managing team to the room and showed him my concerns. If I'm honest he didn't appear to bothered.
The bathroom however was very good despite there being no hot water!!!
I had breakfast at the hotel, it was revolting looking , it looked like it had been sitting for hours.
My advice to anyone is to steer clear of this overpriced dirty hole

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stay here quite frequently due to work. The location is ideal with it being within walking distance from the train station, bus station and harbour. It's also a 5 minutes walk away from the main streets where shops and bars/restaurants can be found.
The reception area is good, bright and spacious as well as the dining area and bar area. Once your past them and on your way to the room it's like going into a time warp back to the 60s. The decor is terrible throughout the accommodation. The rooms vary in size, some being a great big room to others being very small. Some of the bathrooms have baths but the majority I only have showers.
The rooms are kept very clean and new towels put on daily.
If your looking for a room with a view this is not the hotel for you! The windows are revolting, covered in bird excrement and most look onto a car park or shopping centre.
Price wise I haven't paid for a night stay myself (my company do this) so cannot say if it's good value for money. The restaurant doesn't have a big variety of food on its menu and for a main mean your looking at around £12. The drinks are relatively expensive too.
The staff are very friendly and do there best to help you anyway they can.
Overall I'd say the hotel is ideal if your just looking for somewhere to put your head down for the night but not really ideal for long haul stays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were staying in Aberdeen for a night out and were attracted by the £52 a night rate. We therefore were not expecting luxury...but the hotel is seriously run down and in need of refurbishment. The first room we were given had a broken toilet seat and was really grim. The next room had curtains half hanging off the rail and windows so filthy you couldn't see out. The room was stiflingly hot and the windows didn't open. We later got a fan but it was still really stuffy. When I commented on our way out the receptionist said she would sort something out in the morning but when we checked out ,the full amount had been deducted from my account and the staff just thanked us and were surprised when I said we had not been happy. I would advise paying a bit more to get an acceptable quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice rooms. The bar is a bit "strict". The reception people are nice. Not much noice and the beds are good.
The bathrooms could be a bit bigger, but they are adequate for my use.
Enjoyable, historical place.
Well worth a stay. Not too costly.

Room Tip: Some noice from Air Conditioning system. Otherwise: Charming. Good prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pål H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located.
Partially internally modernised old railway hotel. Characterful plumbing! Hot/cold water/no water at random adds to the interest but not the comfort.
Hot in the attics, no a/c ( that's ok) but windows didn't open.
No lift for 24 hours was challenging on 5th floor.
Room phone not working, so when all light in bathroom went off a problem to report ( 4 flights of stairs).
Possibly acceptable at a bargain price, but the price was higher than some much better hotels I have stayed in in Aberdeen.
Won't repeat the experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was booked for just one night, and only wanted the room, wasn't interested in dining, and so I got just what I wanted. The room was clean and had the usual things you'd expect (kettle, etc). It was at the back of the hotel so not too noisy overnight. Breakfast was not included so unable to comment on that. No hotel in Aberdeen is inexpensive, but this was the best deal I could get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing