We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Customer Relations and Dated rooms”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Service, Customer Relations and Dated rooms”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were traveling to Aberdeen for my partners birthday night away and were looking forward to getting checked in and to start our relaxing weekend away.

Unfortunately check was a sign of what was to come. The receptionist on duty had no clue of what customer service is, "I've already charged your card so just pay for your extras" and " If you want breakfast you need to pay for it" even though my breakfast was pre paid for. Also when asking if we could book a time for dinner we were told we had to go and do it ourselves.

The room we were given is something you would expect to find in the Hotel Inspector, room 240 avoid at all costs. There was paint flaking off the ceiling, wall paper coming off and the ceiling above the bath was starting to come down. Not to mention we book a large double and got what could only be described as a large single bed certainly not a full double.

We dinned out for lunch but when we returned we decided to have a drink in the bar after waiting for more than 10 minutes with not one member of staff coming near us we had to go to reception to ask if someone could come and serve us, We purchased a bottle of wine yet again poor service as no ice Bucket was offered to which we had to ask for.

Dinner was o.k food was fine however yet again service let the whole experience down i asked for an Bearnaise sauce to go with my steak and to my disbelieve the waiting staff said, " i have never heard of that one write it down for me" as she passed me her check pad. Also when seated at our table there was all of the breakfast settings on it, Jams, sugars side plates which is just not acceptable especially when you have reserved a dinner table.

During our main meal the staff started to bring out toaster, cereal and other breakfast commodities which put us off our meal and made us feel as if we were being rushed.

The worst was yet to come, we went out for a few drinks to return to the hotel to the room above us clearly having a party when we called reception the night porter said he would look into it after 20 min the noise was still there so we called again and he said he would go up again, yet again this time an hour from our original call to reception we called again to which the reply we got was "there is no noise above you are you sure" enough was enough we went down to repetition to speak directly to the staff as this is clearly not acceptable and being called a liar is certainly not on.

The first night porter we spoke to said there was nothing he could do as the hotel was full, so we went outside for a smoke to return inside to see a different porter behind the desk so we asked him if there was any other room to which he replied yes and gave us a different room key, and moved us room.

When these points were brought up to a very unhelpful Head Chef in the morning with all he kept saying there is nothing a can do i do not have the authority is just diabolical after all he was the duty manager and a failed call from their Head Chef which he said he would do on the Monday never happened

After waiting for 2 days we finally received a call from senior management who was apologetic and understood our issue and could not of tried any harder to help resolve this issue but to be honest at this point it was to late and the damage was done no wonder this hotel is 58 out of 61 for Aberdeen in future i will be checking on TripAdvisor before staying away.

Avoid this hotel at all costs

Room Tip: Do not get room 240
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncairns1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    101
    107
    84
    109
See reviews for
47
94
63
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Chose the hotel based on its proximity to the rail station across the street. We arrived in Aberdeen after a red eye from Chicago without luggage that got lost in Dublin. Had enough in the back pack to last for two days, so clear there. Could not get a room until 2 p.m., which I understand, but at the time was kind of disconcerting. When we got in, the rooms had potential, but that hadn't been actualized--nice bath though. Staff was helpful in accepting bags when they showed the next day as we were checking out. The place served a purpose.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get in early to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in in the UK.My room was dirty, shabby, the walls were peeling the carpet had a multitude of different stains.
My bedding was ripped and the were hairs in the bed. My pillows were disgustingly stained with sweat.
I took a person claiming to be part of the managing team to the room and showed him my concerns. If I'm honest he didn't appear to bothered.
The bathroom however was very good despite there being no hot water!!!
I had breakfast at the hotel, it was revolting looking , it looked like it had been sitting for hours.
My advice to anyone is to steer clear of this overpriced dirty hole

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stay here quite frequently due to work. The location is ideal with it being within walking distance from the train station, bus station and harbour. It's also a 5 minutes walk away from the main streets where shops and bars/restaurants can be found.
The reception area is good, bright and spacious as well as the dining area and bar area. Once your past them and on your way to the room it's like going into a time warp back to the 60s. The decor is terrible throughout the accommodation. The rooms vary in size, some being a great big room to others being very small. Some of the bathrooms have baths but the majority I only have showers.
The rooms are kept very clean and new towels put on daily.
If your looking for a room with a view this is not the hotel for you! The windows are revolting, covered in bird excrement and most look onto a car park or shopping centre.
Price wise I haven't paid for a night stay myself (my company do this) so cannot say if it's good value for money. The restaurant doesn't have a big variety of food on its menu and for a main mean your looking at around £12. The drinks are relatively expensive too.
The staff are very friendly and do there best to help you anyway they can.
Overall I'd say the hotel is ideal if your just looking for somewhere to put your head down for the night but not really ideal for long haul stays.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were staying in Aberdeen for a night out and were attracted by the £52 a night rate. We therefore were not expecting luxury...but the hotel is seriously run down and in need of refurbishment. The first room we were given had a broken toilet seat and was really grim. The next room had curtains half hanging off the rail and windows so filthy you couldn't see out. The room was stiflingly hot and the windows didn't open. We later got a fan but it was still really stuffy. When I commented on our way out the receptionist said she would sort something out in the morning but when we checked out ,the full amount had been deducted from my account and the staff just thanked us and were surprised when I said we had not been happy. I would advise paying a bit more to get an acceptable quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annieroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice rooms. The bar is a bit "strict". The reception people are nice. Not much noice and the beds are good.
The bathrooms could be a bit bigger, but they are adequate for my use.
Enjoyable, historical place.
Well worth a stay. Not too costly.

Room Tip: Some noice from Air Conditioning system. Otherwise: Charming. Good prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pål H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Centrally located.
Partially internally modernised old railway hotel. Characterful plumbing! Hot/cold water/no water at random adds to the interest but not the comfort.
Hot in the attics, no a/c ( that's ok) but windows didn't open.
No lift for 24 hours was challenging on 5th floor.
Room phone not working, so when all light in bathroom went off a problem to report ( 4 flights of stairs).
Possibly acceptable at a bargain price, but the price was higher than some much better hotels I have stayed in in Aberdeen.
Won't repeat the experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#48 of 65 in Aberdeen
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 78 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6GN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing