We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Batty M

A lovely, huge Superior Room with 3 large sash windows & gorgeous refurbished bathroom

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
Although there's an air of seen-better-days about this enormous hotel, I actually liked it a lot. For a start, it's right opposite Aberdeen railway station with its adjacent shopping centre, so it's very convenient. Although you can't check in until 3pm, you CAN leave your luggage in a room opposite reception (unsecured, but there's always someone on reception).

I booked 2 nights in a Superior Room which was on the 3rd floor in the corner of the building overlooking the station, with 3 huge sash windows with quality blackout curtains plus a massive TV. The room was enormous with a huge bed, beautifully presented and the bathroom had been recently and very tastefully refurbished. I wasn't bothered by road or rail noise as I was three floors up and the windows were double-glazed.

There was even a small fridge, although this didn't actually switch on until I put the card key in the slot to activate the lights, etc.

Unfortunately the bedside lights weren't working, so amazingly and impressively, the lady on reception offered me another room of the same quality as no-one was around to fix the lights. In the end I rejected the other room because, although it was luxurious, there was no internet connection. So I borrowed the desk lamp from that room to act as a bedside light in the original room. Reception were fine about this.

At all times, I found the people on reception to be very helpful - going 'over and beyond' to ensure I had a great experience.

I can't judge the breakfast as I'd booked room-only.

I loved the hotel's (in places e.g. the grand staircase) faded opulence and had a great two nights there. I'd definitely return, but I'd ask for a Superior Room at the front of the hotel as the other room didn't have a great view and, as I said, no internet signal.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Book a Superior Room at the front of the hotel
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Official Hotel
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £95
0.4 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£107
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • Hotels.com
    £107
  • Tripadvisor
    £107
1.4 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Free parking
£85
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Skyscanner.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £90
2.5 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Free parking
£73
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Travelodge
    £43
  • Algotels
    £71
0.1 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£95
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £94
1.9 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Free parking
£161
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Agoda.com
    £129
  • Hotels.com
    £161
2.7 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Free parking
£31
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £25
  • StayForLong
    £32
3.9 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Exterior view
£64
  • Mercure
    £64
  • Hotels.com
    £64
  • Expedia.com
    £64
0.2 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre hotel exterior
£39
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£90
  • Expedia.com
    £108
  • Skyscanner.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £108
3.9 miles from Station Hotel Aberdeen
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Aberdeen
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
158
191
188
139
218
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
191
188
139
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high tea chicken maryland main meal railway station main course union square shopping centre superior room tea coffee cinema
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2024

We had arranged to meet a member of the cast of the show playing at the Tivoli. We & he were residents but could not be served as the bar closed at 10.
Room fine and got a space in car park. But no extras such as tissues shampoo . Soap from dispenser. Good breakfast,

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Very good value for money, especially at breakfast. Room was excellent. We had a very good rest and with twin beds we managed to have the space between us to eliminate the snoring of our partners. The bath was very welcome and filled up very quickly.

Room tip: Not enough staff, you need to to patient
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Came down for 1 night as I was in Aberdeen for an appointment. The room is lovely and clean. Thank you Madalina, and Kathryn at reception answered all my questions. The young lady at reception this morning too was a huge help and letting me use left luggage as well. Sorry I didn't catch your name. Curly long hair and glasses. Anyway. Thanks folks. Really appreciate it.

Room tip: Check in is at 3 but there's a left luggage room. Very handy not having to take your suitcase around with you. Just ask at reception.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Me and my wife came to this hotel not expecting too much as we have stayed in hotels which have let us down, but not here. We went into our room and loved the suite we where given, there is a few minor improvements that can be made like a little bit of paintwork and maybe replacing the carpet, however a deep carpet clean may work, however this didn't detract us from enjoying the luxury of the phenomenally large bath and separate shower in the lovely bathroom. The pillows where slightly harder than we would have liked but that is our own preference and nothing on the hotel. About 40 inch Samsung smart TV in the room not a little portable TV which was good. Bed was extremely comfy and we did have a superb sleep. For the room we would give it a 4.5 out of 5.

I would recommend buying the room with the breakfast and meal option as the meal can be very pricey. Food this weekend has been very good so please pass our compliments to your chefs - haggis sausage roll was amazing, I had that 2 nights in a row as it was very tasty. First night I had the chicken kebab - wow very tasty and my wife had the steak pie - although she enjoyed it, she thought it was overpriced for a pie that wasn't homemade as it looked like a pie you would get from a Marston's to be honest, however still tasty. Everybody needs to try the sticky toffee pudding - again I had this 2 nights in a row. Yum yum. On our 2nd night I had the burger which was tasty enough no complaints and my wife had the soup of the day which was lentil and the sea bream - she absolutely loved both dishes. The only thing that wasn't nice was the lemon curd pie. It was warm and lemon is sharp with a cold raspberry sorbet/ice-cream which was so sharp it didn't make sense on the plate and wasn't nice, maybe re-think the dish as a cold curd pie with a vanilla ice cream to cut the sharpness of the lemon. Breakfast was phenomenal. Great selection from cereals, pastries, cheese board, fruit and hot breakfast. Something for everyone. Service lets the Food down as it wasn't busy in the restaurant the two nights we had meals and the staff made us wait around 15-20 mins before asking if we would like a drink and place our order. But once we placed our order service staff where lovely, caring and attentive. Food for me was 4.5/5, service is 3/5

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Was a lovely hotel the Ladies were very helpful weather you were checking in having a meal or just a drink
We had a problem and Kathryn receptionist helped Us straight away was not a problem at all we changed rooms in the morning and the lady at the desk was very helpful too all in all a lovely hotel We will stay again

Room tip: Right outside the bus and train station
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carrie67204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews