We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a disgrace. Rooms falling apart. Bath chipped. Walls very thin. Carpet not hovered. Food in restaurant was poor and the service was even worse. Dirty glasses!! Portions of food were tiny. Avoid at all costs!!!!! Definately not worth £165 a night. Rip off!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j3ova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear j3ova, Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to your liking. The maintenance team are constantly working to refurbish areas but as you can appreciate it is a big hotel and takes time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Two night stay for business, and very disappointed with the hotel. The room was ok if a little dated. Breakfast was terrible - just about everything on the hot buffet was burnt or dried out, and the choice of cereals, etc was completely uninspiring.

Breakfast is the one meal that just about every guest will experience. You have absolutely no chance of enticing guests to eat evening meals in your restaurant if you serve them cheap, dried out offerings for breakfast.

I won't be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROS45W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear ROS45W, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast with you, I have passed your comments onto the Chef to investigate and rectify any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The staff are doing the best they can it seams. If I were the owner I would be embarrassed to admit it.
The rooms are large, I had black mold growing in the bathroom. The mattress is about thirty years old, thin with springs nearly poking through. The tv is in a corner on the far side of the room (21" CRT), everything is way outdated. The customer service for waitstaff is poor (due to lack of training, not for effort). The food is hot but way overpriced for what is provided.
Once again I believe that the front desk staff are at least a bit embarrassed by what they charge and what they don't deliver..... I was told "the owner was here last week and does not plan to do any improvements and is cutting back further on services". I don't see where he can cut anymore.
Avoid this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Opt for somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear DM, thank you for your comments we are in the process of re-grouting some bathrooms where the grout has turned black and also in the last year have replaced over 60 beds. Constant improvements are being made all the time, but I am sure you can appreciate it is a big hotel. The comment that you say were told about "the owner" are incorrect and I apologies if you were given incorrect information. The hotel would benefit from some modernisation and the staff are new in the restaurant and are in training and I apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

stayed for 4nights BB/EM. 3rd MAY 2012. room clean & tidy. Food excellent. Staff attentive & pleasant. would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: we came with JUST GO HOLIDAYS who arranged 3 excursions for the princely cost of 139 pounds inclusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatticathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear chatticathy, Thank you for your comments I am glad to hear you had a great time and will pass your comments onto the team. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently and for the price I paid I was completely overcharged. The hotel needs completely revamping, we were put in a family room which I didnt mind but it only had one plug socket...bizarre! The telephone line was dead in the room, this was frustrating as we had an early flight the following morning. We did complain about it but I dont know if it ever got fixed as we didnt hang around too long to find out. The hotel should be ashamed at how much they charge for what you get...very dissatisfied!

Room Tip: check out your plug sockets before you dump your bags in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borntoshop7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2012

Dear borntoshop7474, I am sorry that you feel you were overcharged but the price is clearly displayed and is your option to pay or not. The hotel is old and would obviously benefit from some revamping including more sockets in rooms, although there are more than one. I apologies for the telephone not working and the issue has been repaired now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

If you like cold showers, yesterday's food severed the next day, no beer in the bar grumpy awkward staff who insult you, things stolen from your room, Internet that they claim is free but can't use because they can't cope with the amount of people there, tv with your standard 5 channels (not even FREEVIEW), old and disgusting decor ( could do with a fresh lick of paint), noisy and abrupt customers then this is the place for you. I could go on with more faults about the place, but I suggest you overlook this hotel as I wouldnt go back to the DUMP! Even the manager BARRY wasn't helpfull in any way, he didn't care about any of our problems and complaints. If the was a minus selection it would have got full marks in minus. VILE - STAY AWAY FROM. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johndoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Johndoe2012, I am sorry that you found our customers to be noisy and abrupt and did not really enjoy anything about the hotel. I am puzzled as to your comment about things stolen from your room as nothing was reported to Barry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Day 3 on the round Britain tour. I had trouble booking a hotel in Aberdeen, I was told it was to do with the Oil rig staff. I settled for the Britannia which up to this point was the most expensive hotel on my tour at £97.38. It was a big ediface and from walking in to the foyer I realised I was in a business hotel. It was slick and precise, There was no personal touch, Still it was only for one night
Room service was reasonable as was the room. It all felt like a DeVere Hotel that had been sold to a company that didnt really have the money to keep up a standard. Breakfast was food, nothing to commend it.
It was nice to get on the road again the next day
Next stop Wick

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freespiritashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear BOOTFAIRBILLIE, thank you for your comments, unfortunately Aberdeen is an expensive place for hotels and especially during the week. It is nice to hear that you found it slick and precise however the staff should still be friendly so I apologies if they were not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#44 of 65 in Aberdeen
921 reviews
3.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 65 in Aberdeen
491 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,050 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#23 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,262 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £29 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing