We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$124
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West(Westhill)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rox Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
32
100
125
146
419
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
100
125
146
419
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed for a week in May 2012, and I have to say after travelling all over the world (I am in the oil business) this is quite the worst place I have stayed in EVER for the price. The staff don't give a hoot, the rooms are dirty, no hot water in the morning and the food can only be described as disgusting. Trying to be positive, I cannot think of one redeeming feature of this place, it should be bulldozed and the staff should be made redundant, they probably wouldn't care as they sure don't value their jobs, let alone their guests. Just say NO.

Room Tip: A different hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Alan T, I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a disgrace. Rooms falling apart. Bath chipped. Walls very thin. Carpet not hovered. Food in restaurant was poor and the service was even worse. Dirty glasses!! Portions of food were tiny. Avoid at all costs!!!!! Definately not worth £165 a night. Rip off!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j3ova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear j3ova, Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you did not find the hotel to your liking. The maintenance team are constantly working to refurbish areas but as you can appreciate it is a big hotel and takes time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Two night stay for business, and very disappointed with the hotel. The room was ok if a little dated. Breakfast was terrible - just about everything on the hot buffet was burnt or dried out, and the choice of cereals, etc was completely uninspiring.

Breakfast is the one meal that just about every guest will experience. You have absolutely no chance of enticing guests to eat evening meals in your restaurant if you serve them cheap, dried out offerings for breakfast.

I won't be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROS45W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear ROS45W, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast with you, I have passed your comments onto the Chef to investigate and rectify any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The staff are doing the best they can it seams. If I were the owner I would be embarrassed to admit it.
The rooms are large, I had black mold growing in the bathroom. The mattress is about thirty years old, thin with springs nearly poking through. The tv is in a corner on the far side of the room (21" CRT), everything is way outdated. The customer service for waitstaff is poor (due to lack of training, not for effort). The food is hot but way overpriced for what is provided.
Once again I believe that the front desk staff are at least a bit embarrassed by what they charge and what they don't deliver..... I was told "the owner was here last week and does not plan to do any improvements and is cutting back further on services". I don't see where he can cut anymore.
Avoid this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Opt for somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear DM, thank you for your comments we are in the process of re-grouting some bathrooms where the grout has turned black and also in the last year have replaced over 60 beds. Constant improvements are being made all the time, but I am sure you can appreciate it is a big hotel. The comment that you say were told about "the owner" are incorrect and I apologies if you were given incorrect information. The hotel would benefit from some modernisation and the staff are new in the restaurant and are in training and I apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

stayed for 4nights BB/EM. 3rd MAY 2012. room clean & tidy. Food excellent. Staff attentive & pleasant. would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: we came with JUST GO HOLIDAYS who arranged 3 excursions for the princely cost of 139 pounds inclusive. best value around.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatticathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear chatticathy, Thank you for your comments I am glad to hear you had a great time and will pass your comments onto the team. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews