We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Inverness
2 reviews
“Basic but Fun”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The hotel itself is like a step back to the seventies. It has that wierd sort of charm you would expect in an eastern block country. The decour is faded and the carpets and curtains a little drab, but thiers something attractive about it. The room itself was VERY large with two double beds in it. The decor once again was a little drab. Under the beds were a games case and a watch along with a crisp packet. There is a sauna, steam room gym and swimming pool which is of a good size. The hotel has an elevator and separate smoke rooms and off street parking although the car park was a little rough on the old tyres. We ate out that night so no idea what the food was like.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking rooms if I remember correctly. Ask for a double/double if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danger1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear danger1807, thank you for your comments. The building is old and would benefit from some refurbishment.. I am pleased that you found the rooms large and the benefit of the Leisure Centre and apologise that under your bed was not properly cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    89
    116
    142
    402
See reviews for
90
171
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

No customer service. Response to every enquiry was no or unable to help - when enquiry made again still not be able to help. Poor service. Food terrible. AWFUL.

Room Tip: Other hotels nearby would be better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Kirsty H, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and will pass your comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Booked into the Britannia online. £135 for B&B. Never again. Hotel generally very dated, with poor furnishings. Room smelt of stale fags and mould. Mould around the bath. To use an iron, I had to go and collect from reception. Didn't expect the look of contempt when I asked for the iron, and no attempt at smiling or being helpful. I asked if they had a cashpoint machine. "yes just through the bar on the right" . When I asked the batman, he said go through the door, and it's about 200 yards down the street on the right! Breakfast was grim too. Couldn't work out what hadn't been deep fried. Maybe the cereal!
At £20 per night, they might just get away with it, but charging £135 is bang out of order!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear JonCH, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I will ensure your comments are passed onto the relevent team members. I think that you may have not understood that the receptionist did say through the bar (as in all the way through, not stopping in the bar) and out the other end, where the machines are on the right as instructed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Got allocated this hotel by my employer due to crap offshore weather, think i'll resign if they think we want to go to places like this, where do i start. Checking in took a lot of time and effort both for the stressed but otherwise helpful staff and our party. The rooms themselves were very poor and tired, ancient tv's, carpet's held together by tape, window's that wouldn't shut right. Didn't bother to check out the pool and gym, to be honest the owners should have spent the money on upgrading the accommodation rather than adding a gym/pool. What was truly wrong and unforgivable about the britannia was the restaurant, the menu that was offered was limited and basic, the soups that were served were the wrong kind advertised on the menu, and the steaks that my party ordered were all cooked poorly and in one case completely the opposite of what was ordered, The breakfast was non existent, by this i mean breakfast was SUPPOSED to start at five o clock but no hot food was available until after half past six, this was put down to the chef not turning up, this is nothing short of poor management, the duty manager should have informed the general manager when it dawned on him the chef was not in the building. In whole this hotel has some serious problems and will not be solved by the general manager constantly apologizing on tripadvisor, The general manager should be looking at ways to improve the hotel, the most urgent issues are the restaurant and the outdated accommodation, ps the staff were friendly, this is the only good comment i can give about this place.

Room Tip: if you smoke they have smoking rooms (do the place a favour, when you check out leave a cigarette bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Alan E, as I am sure you can appreciate the check in the night you stayed was slow due to, as you state, all the last minute bookings caused by the offshore weather. The hotel is slightly dated and would benefit from refurbishment. The pool and gym were actually built at the same time as the rest of the hotel. I am sorry that the Chef did not cook your steaks to your order and that the breakfast chef came in late. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here in june 2012 for one night, to be honest I didnt think much of it but as it was just a place to sleep I didnt bother! the bed was comfy enough but we waited a long time at reception and after my husband ordered a surprise bottle of champagne he had to debate the price with the girl at reception he finally got it for the agreed price hed booked on the phone, the bathroom really needed a complete overhall the room was just worn out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear pammy85, I am sorry for the issue you had with the champagne pricing. The hotel is dated but I am glad that you found the bed comfy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Booked this hotel for a quick stopover while working in Aberdeen. When we approached the hotel it looked very disappointing to say the least!! Needs some updating! when we got to our room we were surprised to find they had given a lovely suite and we could have dinner in our room which was lovely as were too tired to go to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Julie2294, thank you for your comments the hotel is not very inspiring from the outside but I am glad you had a lovely room and enjoyed your dinner in your room. We hope to see you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

i was put into a dirty room sheets all stained toilet pan all dirty carpets in reception very dirty and chairs pool u had to pay very small never seen enything like it in my life disgussting hotel

Room Tip: just dont go no room is better than others disgrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank isobel Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilTurner, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear isobel Q, I apologise if the housekeeping was not up to standard, the room attendants follow a strict cleaning regime and obviously this has not happened on this occassion. I have passed your comments onto the Housekeeper. There is a minimal charge for the use of the leisure facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#35 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing