We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is nothing short of scandalous. The smell of dampness, shabby carpets and décor, bathroom disgusting with dirt and mould. If we had booked a very cheap budget hotel then maybe but the standards of this hotel for the cost incurred is nothing short of daylight robbery. We will be writing to the hotel direct with our list of complaints and requesting a substantial refund -- a complimentary stay would certainly not be welcome. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and advise anyone to give serious consideration before booking.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anadnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear RussellGlasgow, the hotel will benefit from the refurbishment we are currently going through. I am sorry you found the rates high, rates in Aberdeen are high mid-week simply through to supply and demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was really pretty grim. Staff were friendly, but hotel was very shabby - paint and wallpaper peeling, carpets threadbare, and actual holes in the walls in places!! The worst part was the stink of cigarette smoke. I would never have booked it if I'd known there were any smoking rooms in the hotel at all - we were in a non-smoking room, but the bedlinen, towels and whole place stank of smoke. There was mould in the bathroom, and it was really noisy with some sort of buzzing from the kitchen/service rooms below all night. And we paid over £200 for the privilege - absolutely dreadful. We had paid for breakfast but didn't bother - left as soon as we could in the morning. I will be emailing management with a view to a partial refund. Avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Charlotte S, thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and we do have some smoking bedrooms on the top floor which should not effect other rooms and I apologise if they did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Having read reviews, I was dubious about Britannnia, but can now report there is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel at all! Very pleasant, room was very large with good heating, clean and good amenities present. Good hotel facilities too, particularly enjoyed the bar and free wifi offered.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear dawn c, thank you for your comments, I am glad that you had a good stay with us and hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I had a rush job on and the prices in Aberdeen are dearer than London but if you sign up for their e-shots you can get a really good weekend deal. I got bed, breakfast, evening meal and free bottle of wine for £50.50 for Sunday.

Room was good and warm with aquality bathroom. dinner was a buffet with great soup but only 3 mail meals but fortunately one of them suited me. Sweet was perfect.

I relaxed in their bar after and e-mailed all the work in on the free wi-fi.

Breakfast the following morning was right on the money.

The staff wre brill but did not stay there until Friday as like all Aberdeen hotels they very expensive during the week so I moved to their sister hotel in Peterhead and a review on that will follow.

Staff in this hotel are brill

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrym49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear gerrym49, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you had a great stay and found the hotel value for money. Unfortunately you are correct in the fact that Aberdeen hotels are expensive during the week unless booked far in advance. It is good to hear that you found all our staff brill and I will pass on your comments to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel (if you could call it a hotel) 1.11.13 omg never stayed in a place like it shocking dirty, smell of Bo at reception, patched up carpets, paid for an evening meal, well, restaurant was freezing, piled high with cardboard boxes. in the meal deal got a bottle of wine. waiter came over placed two glasses upside down on table, bottle was opened when he brought it to table just walked away haha. Actually wondered if it was a hostel for the homeless. My wife didnt feel safe in it she wanted to pile our cases up at the door. Carpets were threadbare, all of the walls needed a good lick of paint, just shocking really bad bad experience. Had to rate this as 1, as it is the only way I could post a review.

Room Tip: No rating rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doonhamer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Doonhamer1960, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel has just started work on a refurbishment (that was why there were some boxes at the back of the restaurant), I am not sure why the restaurant was cold but will investigate as we have had all new heating put in there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is absolutely shocking. The walls in the lobby were peeling with paint from the damp behind them. The bedrooms were stained everywhere on walls and wood work, mainly due to damp, which stunk. The bathrooms were so old practically all the enamel had flaked off the baths. The beds, well that was the worst part. Pulled back the duvet to find lots of hair and even mould on the sheets. I really wouldn't even let my dog use the room. We didn't stay at the hotel and resorted to staying in out van as no other hotels were available at that time of the night!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Burhead1, I am sorry you did not have a good experience. We have had an issue with a leaking pipe causing some water damage (this is not damp). We have started on a refurbishment program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This place is a toilet. Firm paid £225 room only for one night as I was late back from oil platform. Couldn't find my booking, tripped over bent carpet retainer on way to room, walls flaking off from being damp, bath patched up, mould round bath,no socket for kettle(boiled on floor) skirting boched with odd shaped wood, breakfast you wouldn't serve a pig.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nwood555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Nwood555, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay. The hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment to sort some issues out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
3.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 65 in Aberdeen
500 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#23 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,319 reviews
3.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#44 of 65 in Aberdeen
933 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £28 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing