We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had no choice but to stay here, if you have the option avoid it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Zurrieq, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“had no choice but to stay here, if you have the option avoid it!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Had no choice as all hotels fully booked due to bad weather offshore and it was the only room the company could find.

Where do I start , the room had a very bad smell, torn carpets fixed with gaffer tape, it looked like the room was decorated in the 1970's and nothing done to it since. Furniture scratched, heater was not working and room was freezing cold. Also the furniture was dirty and that was a very thick layer of dust on the lights and fittings and behind the bed.

went to have a meal at the bar and funnily enough the only items one can order are soup of the day, burger and chips, fish and chips and curry of the day.

I know that the hotel is close to the airport but it was very noisy very noisy, other hotels which are closer to the airport like the speedbird inn, thistle and courtyard by marriot are much quieter!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear kolskaya, the hotel is old and we have just started a refurbishment and building program. We do serve a limited bar snack menu in the bar at night as well as a full menu in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    88
    116
    142
    402
See reviews for
90
170
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Groupon had good deal on so for girlie weekend we booked up......bad mistake.Utter disgusted. Where do you start with the complaints.The room.......filth and in need of a good clean.came home covered in rash from bed.Bathroom, if your tall you are scunnered for a shower as shower head attached to wall for "shorter" people, in our friends room the toilet moved and hairs all around the bath,TV didnt work which worked out ok as only slept there.Bar area, filthy and in need of another good clean. Food.......oh my god disgusted by what I seen. Kitchen staff using hands to help them self to the breakfast buffet........including beans and mushrooms. The al a carte menu.Your having a laugh.rice that has ben cook for a long time and reheated. Tasteless frozen desserts that would break your teeth trying to eat them. Pool area is disgusting. Spa is a health hazard and steam room is musty and not what a steam room should be.Stale smoke from smoking rooms going through the whole hotel
This hole hotel needs checked by enviromental health from food, rooms, facilities, infact the whole general place. I could see no work being done to do it up which is a shame as this could be ideal place for airport. Defo needs a whole makeover starting from top to bottom.Start with the beds cos i am convinced they are full of bugs.
Did we complain.....no as we got a very cheap deal and only used it for sleeping. what we paid was ok for the deal we got but if I was to have been charged more the managers head would have been nipping.

Room Tip: Best tip I would give is dont book.Look elsewhere untill this place is done up. Friends have pics th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roslynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear roslynh, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. We do have refurbishment work going on but this is currently it the far end of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Oro Station, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This has got to be the worst Hotel I have ever stayed in, the rooms are absolutely filthy, and please don't look behind the bed or you will never sleep.
The restaurant offers , A la carte menu which I have got to say is nothing short of awful and gave me a severe case of the runs and stomach cramp.
The bathroom is a genuine health risk as well.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 355Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear 355Jerry, I apologise if the cleaning was not up to standard and will look into this. I am unsure how you know that the food from the restaurant made you unwell, no one else was ill that evening and ate the same food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Why this hotel is still in exsistance is anybody's guess, quite frankly I would not let my dog sleep here.
For a hotel that at one stage in its life was owned by the Sheraton group it has certainly fallen a long way the rooms are disgusting the hotel far to over priced and food a joke.
I would certainly advise every one to avoid it at all costs

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allymcdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Allymcdee, the hotel was originally built as a Sheraton and has been through a few differant companies since. We are in the process of refurbishment and this will be ongoing for about the next year. Prices vary dependant on availability with mid-week rates being the highest generally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is the worst hotel ive ever stayed in in my whole life! AVOID AVOID AVOID!
Staff are rude and unhelpful
Rates are daylight robbery
rooms are worse than a hostel
i wouldnt let my dog stay in the room i was given!
This hotel should be shut down , knocked down and started again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Fayella13, I am sorry that you did not find the hotel value for money and had a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is nothing short of scandalous. The smell of dampness, shabby carpets and décor, bathroom disgusting with dirt and mould. If we had booked a very cheap budget hotel then maybe but the standards of this hotel for the cost incurred is nothing short of daylight robbery. We will be writing to the hotel direct with our list of complaints and requesting a substantial refund -- a complimentary stay would certainly not be welcome. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and advise anyone to give serious consideration before booking.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anadnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear RussellGlasgow, the hotel will benefit from the refurbishment we are currently going through. I am sorry you found the rates high, rates in Aberdeen are high mid-week simply through to supply and demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was really pretty grim. Staff were friendly, but hotel was very shabby - paint and wallpaper peeling, carpets threadbare, and actual holes in the walls in places!! The worst part was the stink of cigarette smoke. I would never have booked it if I'd known there were any smoking rooms in the hotel at all - we were in a non-smoking room, but the bedlinen, towels and whole place stank of smoke. There was mould in the bathroom, and it was really noisy with some sort of buzzing from the kitchen/service rooms below all night. And we paid over £200 for the privilege - absolutely dreadful. We had paid for breakfast but didn't bother - left as soon as we could in the morning. I will be emailing management with a view to a partial refund. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Charlotte S, thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and we do have some smoking bedrooms on the top floor which should not effect other rooms and I apologise if they did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#21 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,004 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
528 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
5.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing