We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rule Britannia !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We got a great between Xmas and New Year deal. Do check their website for deals at their hotels.
Our room was lovely and warm and like a mini suite with sofa and coffee table. Good maid service too.
The first night proved entertaining as we don't think the chef turned up - but the drinks were free!
After that the food was good and great choice - hubby had a perfect steak - and he's fussy.
The 727 bus from the Airport to Union Square passes close by. Union Square joins the bus station and train station together with a super shopping mall. Great planning!
Don't forget to take your swimming gear as the leisure facilities are free to guests.
Aberdeen can be an expensive place to stay so this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: advise when booking if you have walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear kisty e, I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the food after the initial hiccup with the Chef being late.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returned from a three night package for New Year with 4 other friends and dogs. Let's just say the hotel is dated and looks tired and needs some upgrading but the room we had was spacious especially as we had our two dogs with us. It was clean, the bedding too and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom clean and shower was good. The staff at the hotel from manager down were extremely helpful and polite and made our stay enjoyable. The food was fine with a great choice and was hot! Roast beef on new years eve was delicious and plentiful. Breakfasts were all you could ask for. On the downside the new year party was in a room too small for the numbers of people attending so no room to have a dance. It could have been set up better. The Village bar is fine and we used the pool sauna and steam room which again was clean and acceptable. Not sure why some people have put on such bad reviews, it was better than we were expecting. Plus free wifi which many hotels i have been in do not offer this. Thanks to the Manager and staff for a good stay and an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERVIE4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear BERVIE4761, I am glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the food, had a nice clean room and found the staff to be helpful. We would have loved to have had a bigger dance floor however unfortunately due to the size of the room and the number of guests we had to limit the dance floor size to get the optimum number of guests in for Hogmanay. I hope that this will not put you off booking again for the next Hogmanay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Arranged to meet a hotel guest for an informal business meeting in the bar area. I was running a little late due to the infamous Aberdeen traffic and pulled into the near empty hotel car park avoiding the pot holes.

Entered the hotel and told the receptionist I was there for a meeting with one of their guests and gave the name. They asked if I wanted then to call the room but I said no need as I can make contact on my mobile.

Positive note: 1) Met a nice new contact at the meeting

Negatives: One week later I received a "PARKING EYE" charge for parking in the hotel car park while meeting one of their guests.

I now have been asked to pay £60-100 fine for a two hour meeting in the Britannia.

I contacted the hotel reception and was told it was "NOT THEIR PROBLEM" and I should CONTACT PARKING EYE.

However, I know that parking eye hosts (hotels etc) do have a say on the matter as a colleagues parking eye fine was wavered by a national hotel chain recently when it took the hotel over one hour to check him in resulting in him leaving the hotel/car park to find other accommodation.

Very disappointed with this money making excersise, the receptionist should ask new visitors who approach the desk if they have observed the parking restriction status. In a genuine case the hotel can check circumstances and not expect customers to fight it out with a clamping type company who will not even talk to you on the telephone.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank cirmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear cirmhor, there are signs at the entrance to car parks, in the car parks, at the entrances to the hotel and in the hotel (including entrance to bar) all clearly stating that all vehicles must be registered on the terminal at reception. I am sorry if you failed to read these signs and surprised if you are aware of parking companies that you did not look for signage. We do not send the parking charges they come from ParkingEye and as such only they can cancel them. If you can prove you were indeed in the hotel on business they will cancel it, however anyone can say they were in the bar visiting someone so they require proof. If you had simply read the signage and followed the instructions this would not have happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Wold not recommend this Faulty towers to any one. Rooms cold service good evening meals horrible. Had cooked breakfast on Sunday but not Monday .have heard other people saying that they would not stay at that place again

Room Tip: Go to another hotel Rooms quiet but needs doing up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear carolhay, I am glad you found the service good but surprised that your room was cold, had you brought it to our attention we could have moved your room or rectified the issue. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel 24th 25thwe were checked in by a friendly lady our room we a nice large room with 2 double bed which were very comfy however on our return from our Xmas festives we found our room not serviced we found this very disappointing . When we checked out we mentioned room not serviced we were told the maid had left early saying all rooms had been serviced as previously mentioned by another reviewer is there not a housekeeper who checks the rooms . We did leave the notice on the door when we left for our festivities the room was ready to be serviced this was still on the door on our return

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AberdeenKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear AberdeenKaty, I am glad you found the staff friendly and the room nice. We do not service rooms on Christmas Day and there was signs and letters explaining this, I can only apologise if reception also did not mention that to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

OK, it's not the most modern hotel in the UK but we were happy with our one night stay - all four of us. So it may be a little dated, and have a strange layout... we didn't care - some would say this is a minor detail. We found the the staff more than helpful, the room was larger than that found in your "normal" branch hotel, and the breakfast was terrific.

The room itself was well clean and the bed very comfortable and despite being in a city, quite quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penguins1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear andrew f, thank you for your comments. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and found the hotel clean, your room large and clean, the staff good and the breakfast terrific. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

The place was very friendly and me and my boyfriend found that the receptionist on the desk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms and found our room to be equipped with everything that we needed. Room was clean and very spacious and the bed was incredibly comfy and big! I have got no complaints regarding my stay and would return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jora8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Jora8, thank you for your review, I am glad you had a great stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,019 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Airport
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
2.0 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing