We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip to Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    88
    116
    142
    402
See reviews for
90
170
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed in room 129, read the reviews before going and was dreading it, but I couldnt find anything in Aberdeen so stayed with it. Upon arrival the car park in clearly posted about the parking restrictions, how anyone can miss the signs astounds me, i was dealt with promptly and efficiently at reception, and given the relevant information although a smile or a more positive greeting would have been nice.

I was directed to my room which yes as well as the rest of the hotel is dated, but it was clean, fully equipped the WIFI was free and a good connection.

I used the restaurant for an evening meal, I must say the fixed menu was not extensive - being a fixed price you wouldnt expect it to be, but the food was excellent and I heard a number of people compliment the chef. It was VERY reasonably priced food in fact I would say cheap, especially for Aberdeen. The young waiting staff were polite, smiled and courteous. One young man that served did have red dyed hair and piercing and being a little old fashioned I am not sure what impression this gives of the impression they are willing to give as a "professional organisation", but I must commend his service.

I had a ver reasonable nights sleep, a comfortable bed, a good bath and shower - again the bathroom showed signs of age, but it was clean and well stocked.

I departed early was dealt with promptly on departure, the guy at reception dealt with me efficient although, I preempted him stapling the receipts and his answer was "im just going to doi it" which could be perceived as a little rude. But he did wish me a good day and say good bye.

I would stay again although, when visiting Aberdeen again I will also look at alternative options. I would say it was average.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrShezStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear MrShezStokeonTrent, thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a good stay and found the dinner excellent and also good value. Your comment on the car parking signage is correct but believe me we get a number of people saying they did not see it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is showing its age. Very dated and in need of a refurb and some money spending. The hotel isnt dirty just well worn and past its best before date. I had to change rooms due to the lights blowing the alernative room was in the same condition as the original. I wont be returning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Nick W, thank you for your comment that the hotel is aged and not dirty. You are correct in the fact that the hotel would benefit from a refurbishment in the bedrooms and bathrooms, work has began on building new rooms and public areas. Hopefully once this is completed you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Aberdeen is busy and expensive mid week, this is a fact. However £200 for a night in a room with stained walls, cracked sanitary ware and MOULD on the bathroom ceiling is taking things way to far. Next time if this is the the last hotel in Aberdeen I will politely refuse a room and instead plan a day trip involving a 4am start and an 11pm return home. It will be preferable. I am keen to see if the Britannia group management respond to this review with anything other than the standard "The hotel is under refurbishment". Mould I would argue is not a refurbishment issue, it is neglect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear G G, I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. You are correct if there was mould on the bathroom ceiling there is no excuse for that and I can only apologise if that was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Came here with my girlfriend and her family, probably the most awkward night of my life. Staff are unhelpful and unfriendly, rooms are a complete joke, and general service is ridiculous. Would need to pay us to stay here again, it's like the management have never encountered customer service before. Food was most certainly frozen and most probably from Farmfoods. Spent the majority of the evening feeling sorry for the staff, as was definitely not their fault, and management should definitely take the blame for the shoddy state of this place.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASRobertson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear ASRobertson91, I am sorry that you appear to not have enjoyed your stay but it would be more helpful if you had reported any issues when you were here so we could have attended to them if there were any.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We arrived on the 30th Dec for 3 nights.
Two adults and two children.
Receptionist very helpful, our family room a good size and clean tidy and modern .
The maids were spot on too .
Welcome drink on arrival to restaurant .
The restaurant manager was spot on David his name , he and his staff so to our needs with swift attention . Food was excellent and nice and hot .
There was entertainment every night different musicians , on Hogmanay there was bag pipes.
New Year's Day there was bingo and a comedian and a magician it was all one person the Manager Neil , he was fantastic too and very funny !
Absolutely no faults definetly recommend ! Value for money , service , etc ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Derek143, thank you for your kind comments and I am glad you and your family had a great New Year with us, we certainly enjoyed your company. We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We actually live in the area and have had visiting family stay over at the Britannia a few times before. They have awful unclean rooms, issues with heating which they said was not responded too and also complained of very loud people in neighbouring rooms on both occasions, which apparently was not rectified when brought to the hotels attention. I know they are currently undergoing a refurbishment, however this had no impact on their stay. One thing I would also point out is that there always seems to be large groups of people in rooms partying till all hours with their windows open, and we have since our family members stayed at hotel, had to phone up and complain about the noise - again nothing seemed to happen. The clientele of the hotel seems to have really gone down hill dramatically. It is a shame that any guests we have do not want to stay in the hotel nearest to us! nothing good to say about the hotel at all apart from its location to the airport, but there are other hotels closer that you can choose from. Our guests also said that the staff on reception had very thick foreign accents and did not really understand anything that they were saying. The price of the rooms is reasonable, but to be honest there is no plus to staying here at all as there are alternatives.

Room Tip: avoid rooms looking out onto the car park across the road from it. this is a commuter hotel trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubilouAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear loubilouAberdeen, before you make comments you should check facts especially when you did not even stay here but are making second hand comments. We only have one foreign member of staff on reception and they work nightshift and speak excellent English. How many more of your comments are fabricated?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 65 in Aberdeen
512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#21 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
965 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing