We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel a lot around 15-20 years ao, and at that time the place was acceptable.
This is not the case now! I was unlucky and had to stay one nite in the fall of 2013, and was shocked by the state of the hotel.

Room Tip: In another hotel.....if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnt-Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Arnt-ErikH, the hotel is currently being refurbished as it is in need of it. I am sorry if this spoiled your stay and hopefully next time you will find the hotel back to its older standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Two of us stayed Sunday 2nd Feb on a wine dinner b and b deal for £59. Staff were really friendly esp Graeme, the waiter. Felt sorry for him in an empty restaurant. Yes the food wasn't the greatest however why would you expect a lot for the price. Rooms were dated but on a whole clean and secure. The hotel still caters for smokers with good sized rooms on one floor which in this day and age is great - smokers do have a choice and money to spend on hotels too !!! Britannia need to spend some cash here and help this hotel get back to what it used to be, the staff are there so give them something to work with!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for although they are cozy and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrIB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mr MrlB611, thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a good stay and found our staff friendly. The hotel is currently being refurbished so hopefully this will show an improvement when you stay again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having stayed here recently, upgrading to an executive room wondered what we would have been given had it been the standard double!!! Hotel is very tired, not too clean, hate to think what it is smeared on the bathroom door! white bedding / towels are actually grey. Hotel renovations with drilling and banging which was not noted online before booking. 3 Star, I am not sure how they achieved this rating, swimming pool / leisure perhaps but not my idea of facilities. Not happy swimming around with all and sundry wandering by the window into the bar. Staff helpful but did not make up for the hefty charges. Furnishings in public areas stained and dirty which is not surprising as construction / offshore guys wandering around straight from site. I know there are Youth Hostels with cleaner and better facilities. If I had not prepaid would not have checked in. In general Aberdeen Hotel prices are just a rip off. Ridiculously high rates and will not be back.

Room Tip: Doubt there are any!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportygirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Sprtygirl1959, the hotel is currently being refurbished so there is workers going around and some work related noise during day hours. There is one glass door from the leisure centre to the corridor in the hotel, this is quite common in hotels. We are very busy during the week and a number of guests are workers and do arrive and depart in overalls etc. I am sorry if this spoiled your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have just returned home after a lovely weekend in this hotel. The staff were so helpful and the accommodation perhaps a little tired but very comfortable. It is out of the city centre but as we now have bus passes it cost us nothing to go in and out at our leisure. I would certainly go back and stay there again. I believe it is busy during the week with oil workers but it was nice and quiet at the weekend.

Room Tip: Our room face the car park and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Anita622014, thank you for your comments. I am glad you had a lovely stay and found the staff very helpfull. The hotel is in need of refurbishment and work has started on this so hopefully it will be even better when you next come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If your a relic hunter this is the place for you. Absolutely disgusting "hotel", would not let a dog stay here. Unfortunately I had been booked in by a travel company and was informed it was the only place available. Even at check in I should have walked.
There must have been about 70 guys checking in the night arrived and @ £140 min a night, looks like the place is making killing. They could with investing some this money in turning this very dated early 1950s tip into a decent place to get your head down. And that is basically all it is, most of the customers the night I was here were offshore workers, some even wearing their offshore overalls in all areas.
Never ever again will I put up with the very very basic conditions that this "hotel" offer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Subeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear john1, we did have a mechanical fault with our boilers in one part of the hotel for 4 hours, which did take time to repair (unfortunately we had to call the engineers out and they take time to get here). The manager you talk about was actually not on duty at the time and was in to see where the engineers were in getting the heating working and the man in the bar was actually the duty manager at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Room and hotel in general is VERY dated. Carpet needs a good going over with a hoover. Bathroom is minging. I am writing this review at half 3 in the morning as I have been lying wakened most of the night because of the noise coming from the radiator. Only booked this because everywhere else was full. Do yourself a favour and book a descent hotel early to avoid having to stay in this sh**hole.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pissedofftraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Pissedofftraveller1, I apologise that you had issues with your room but had we been aware we could have sorted these or changed the room if there was indeed issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

An old and shabby place. Currently doing some renovation on the building but in general in very poor shape. During my stay construction work was going on which was very noisy. Breakfast was terrible in an dim and smelly place. Room are spacious which is the only plus. With 130 pounds a night heavely overrated!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear JanT, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us. We do have some construction and refurbishment work going on which is kept to day hours, however this is to update the hotel and standards. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast and have passed on your comment. The prices are higher mid-week simply due to supply and demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,023 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Aberdeen Airport
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Airport
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#36 of 65 in Aberdeen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £27 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing