We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Brittania hotel Aberdeen - cheap and nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Brittania hotel Aberdeen - cheap and nasty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed in the Brittania hotel in Aberdeen on a business trip. I was looking for somewhere near the airport in Dyce. Everywhere else was fully booked. This place seemed to have lots of space. I know why now. On their website it looks good enough. It is clever photography. The place is just dirty, old, scraped, scarred, stained, cracks in all sorts of plaster, graffiti on walls etc. It oozes poor management and neglect. The rooms and corridors smell stale. I looked forward to using the pool and sauna as shown on their website. When I checked in (long business day, looking forward to relaxing) was told the pool was closing. I passed by the pool and it was tiny, not at all like what is shown on the web page. There is a bar attached to the hotel and it is grimy and filthy. The food was cheap roadkill bar grub. Not very apitizing. The staff take little pride in their appearance and don't seem very inclined to smile, they curse at each other in the bar in front of the guests etc. I don't blame them working in such an environment can hardly be inspirational for them. I opted for breakfast at the hotel and it was nothing to write home about. The original hotel was the Sheraton in 1974, it has taken a long slide in 40 years, my taxi driver said it has changed hands several times.....In all honesty, avoid at all costs if you can. It was the only place I could find with a vacancy but I will look elsewhere having experienced it first hand.....

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
I am sorry you had a disappointing stay at The Britannia Aberdeen.

I have just taken over the hotel and please let me reassure youthat cleanliness and customer service are my 2 main priorites

We have as of yesterday, included leisure in all stay.

Should you wish to discuss this in further detail please email me. My email address is karen.day@britanniahotels.com and I would be grateful if you could please drop me a line with your room name and date of stay and I will investigate further for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    89
    116
    142
    402
See reviews for
90
171
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed here while looking for accommodation for moving to Aberdeen. It severed a purpose.
Good value for money as it can be very expensive to find accommodation in Aberdeen.

Location good for Dyce and airport.

Food...again it was included int he price, which was very very low so I can not complain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokenpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Booked into this hotel by my company for 5 long days! It was not cheap at £750 and certainly not worth the money. The hotel is very dated & currently being refurbished. It certainly needs it. My actual room was ok and was clean enough although there was mould on the bathroom roof & a few cracked tiles. The public areas are a disgrace and certainly not hospitable. The carpets are worn and stuck together in places with gaffer tape. Corridor walls, skirtings etc are dirty, chipped and broken. Chewing gum stuck to a window sill. The dining room is the worst with chairs being ripped and heavily stained. Evening meal was poor - steak was tough & Dianne sauce had an extremely bitter and vinegar taste. Staff would not serve us a coffee after our meal as it was 10pm & they stated the restaurant was shut. Breakfast was an adventure with chips included in the buffet. Tea & coffee are served in large flasks. As a result they were cold & stewed. Why not serve fresh tea & coffee. Helped myself to the cups & saucers but had 3 attempts to get a saucer as at least 4 saucers were stuck together from the 3 piles I tried. Worst of all was the dried blood on the dining table. My company will not be using this hotel again. Avoid it at all costs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear GJ143, prices are set in line with availability. The hotel is currently being refurbished as stated and this does take time to get everything done as it is major refurbishment we are completing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The only compliment I can pay for this hotel is. Foyer has a nice selection of snacks in vending machine. The food selection was basic and limited. Main course was buffet style, the only thing that looked edible was the battered fish, and that had been lying under a heat bulb for god knows how long. They said they were trying out a new chef...
The whole place looks as if it has been empty for years, then opened again without dusting it down or redecorating.. I get the feeling they don't care, cause being in Aberdeen, and rooms are hard to find Monday through Friday, they will always be full and charging a fortune.
Stay away from this one,

Room Tip: Sorry, can't
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonpenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Gordonpenman, I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and your comments will be passed onto the relevent heads of department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed for one night. The staff were welcoming. The hotel is stuck in the 1970s and looks like its never been updated or maintained. The rooms were very basic. I had dinner in the bar and it was horrible. It tasted like Fairy Liquid, someone needs to rinse the dishes better! it was slop on a plate and expensive! When I got into bed i got bitten on my back a couple of times. The room walls are thin so you can hear whats going on in the rooms next door. This is a very last resort hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautifulbarrelwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Beautifulbarrelwave, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food and will pass your comments onto the Chef. I am surprised that you think that you were bitten as we have not had any issue with this and nothing has ever been reported to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This place is dirty and massively overpriced. My room was £150 for the night. Just £15 would have been too much. The place is filthy- sticky floor, sticky tables, under staffed and poor food. Hate to write a report like this as prefer to be positive, but nothing positive to report unfortunately.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear DandE2014, I am sorry that you did not feel the hotel was worth the rate that you paid, the rates fluctuate depending on availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was simply filthy. Walls were badly marked, the window sills were black, and there was bits broken on almost all skirting boards. Musty smell (had to buy air freshener for the room), carpet stained and I felt distinctly uncomfy. Opted to eat out! I have taken pictures and will suggest my company removes this hotel from our lists.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Greig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Greig G, I am sorry that you did not have a good experience when you stayed with us. The hotel is in bad need of refurbishment and this has now started but will take until the end of thsi year to get everything done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#10 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing