We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep clean and update needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Deep clean and update needed!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately this hotel was booked by the company I work for.
The feeling of dread begins when you pull into the car park of the Britannia Hotel outside is in need of some serious TLC.
My room was 224 which was unclean. The bathroom basin had pubic hair in it and the bathroom furniture is old and worn.
The bed had pubic hair in and smelt unclean when you pulled the sheets back.
The room had big cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling and one wall had stained wall paper similar to a leak this is on top of all the scraps and marks all over the walls. Ceiling also had big cracks in it.
The entire hotel needs updating and bringing to a standard people expect. The manager of this hotel has no excuse for the unsanitary state of the room I checked into but no doubt I will get a reply to this post stating her email address and asking me to email her as she has every other bad review on this site anyone can copy and paste!
I checked out at 6pm and went else where.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Onelife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and as I explained in my email, I only ask customers to send me an email when I do not have there details and I need to investigate the complaint.

Unfortunately it was concluded that we had made a terrible mistake with your room and as you checked in at 12 noon before our allocated checkin time - the room had not been fully serviced. This was our mistake and as we explained at thye time, when we did not charge you anything for your stay and I have since apoligised in my email.

This was unexceptable and I apoligise once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    88
    116
    142
    402
See reviews for
90
170
59
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port harcourt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Over that past years I have stayed at this hotel over 70 nights on and off. It's always been the worst hotel ever it's never changed in the past 10 years which I have been going. The only reason it been able to be so bad is due to the fact that oil company's, like the one I work for book us into it. We don't want it! And thats only due to the fact they can't find anywhere else. Well now they can with all the big chains building hotels next to the airport the only way that this hotel will get anyone in is by improving, and by god they need to. If they say they have a new manager it's good luck to you cos you will need it to. Due to the unavailability of rooms in aberdeen This hotel has taken good money off people and given naf all back to is customers for long enough. I wish it good luck in its much overdue massive change In service. I for one praise competition cos now you have it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do have plans to change the hotel and hopefully next time you stay you will see a difference.

We are introducing a new menu and all staff are currently under going retraining. New uniforms have been ordered and rennovations have began. We now including leisure in all stay and hopfully this will lead to more satisfied customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We were worried about staying here after all the bad reviews but was fine. Close to airport, a little out of town but good transport links. Room was nice, breakie was good. Room just needed a little TLC but no complaints from me.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and Breakfast. We are currently renovating so the rooms will we upgraded in turn. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel 10-13 April 2014 as part of a (Caledonian) coach tour which cost around £100 for 3 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal so cannot complain about 'value for money'.

I agree with many comments about the standard of accommodation, décor, noisy central heating system, standard of (some) food, etc. I don't wish to repeat some earlier comments - suffice to say here appears to be lots of scope for improvement. The owners of the hotel chain might want to appraise how best they can help raise standards all round. My room was clean and served the purpose for sleeping in (apart from sometimes noisy central heating through the night - even when the thermostat was turned off).

The Manager says renovations are underway but I agree with other reviewer comments suggesting that (overall) the management and service delivery could be much better.

Finally, on a positive note: In relation to the restaurant service and waiting staff, I found the young lady and gentleman (Grahame - referred to by earlier reviewers as the guy with the red hair and piercings) to be extremely helpful, attentive and professional. Praise is extended to the young waiting staff who appeared to be doing their best in what looked like an often challenging environment. Note: they may be training but will learn my example.

Room Tip: Seems like a hit and miss - some rooms appear better than others. Tip: if you have a problem let th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is only through feedback we can strive to improve. I will pass your comments on to Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We only booked this one because the groupon offer was so cheap (included a discount voucher as well). We were staying one night so how bad could it be? First things first, the hotel was opened in 1974 and from the outside it looks like it. Design and layouit internally reflects when it was built. The chap on reception was not from the north east of Scotland so his accent was difficult but not impossible. I can understand why some people may have found him unhelpful but we got there with some careful listening. At reception there are plenty of signs pointing you to the car registration sign in computer so that was no problem. We have used these in different hotels of different standards throuout the UK. Our room (205) was large for a budget hotel but small for an expensive one. On par with Holiday inn express. Room was clean, i even did the finger round the skirtingboard test, which it passed. Bed was comfortable and the water was hot. bathroom was clean but dated, caulking around the bath needs repairing. TV weas not installed yesterday but was a flat screen so is reasonabley new. Tea and coffee making facilities OK. Only complaint was ther lack of electrical sockets - just the one for the TV and kettle so charging the laptop/ phone was a pain. Our package included full access to the Spa on site. A smallish pool that had a slight current so i could imagine it was one of those infinity pools. Also used the steam room and sauna and looked at the gym through the window. The steam room was like something from The Sweeney but was effective. We had a set meal in the evening, there was a prty of pensioners in so the dinning room was closed to the rest of the guests until 7:15, we were not told this when we checked in but there was a sign outside the dinning room. No problem. Service was OK, a couple of youngsters with a few rough edges. Yes the chap is heavily tatooed and pierced but, as our daughter also has peircings we know how clean she has to keep them to avoid infection. Unsightly to us oldsters but no mar on the service. The dinning room itself was clean and tidy, a little dated but not a disaster. Disappointed in the starter, pate that was at room temperature, the edges a slightly different colour which indicates the plate was lying around for some time. Wilted salad and tasteless coleslau. this suggests poor kitchen managment and we were concerned about what would arrive for the main. Suprisweed that it was OK. Chicken cooked just right, not been lying around as it was moist and had not dried out. Boiled potatoes in theior skins, just soft enough and no indication of being microwaved. Veggies good and bad, mange touts still had a bite to them, broccoli just right but the cauliflower hard as a rock. Desert was a standard ice cream or cheese cake, the ice cream OK but the cheesecake again at room temperature. Breakfast the next morning was the full scottish. Service efficient and with a smile. Hash browns and blackpudding overcooked but good bacon and sausages.
Would I go back? Not at the full price but as an alternative to Holiday Inn/ Travel Lodge/ Premier Inn and at their prices? Yes.

Room Tip: 205 was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenkievukabuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this report. I have only just taken over the hotel and this helps reinforce that the small changes are beginning to work.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The smell of stale alcohol greeted us at reception which gave an indication of standards. Were allocated room 28 which was a nightmare. Its next to a generator or central heating unit next door which is constantly noisy and kept us all awake most of the night. The room was not clean - massive cobwebs inside window and chocolate sweet not swept from floor. Breakfast - the food was OK and self service but there were only cold plates for hot food, cold coffee from thermos flasks and stewed tea from similar flask. The seats in the dining room appeared filthy and should have been thrown out years ago. The whole place is in need of a serious refurbishment. A hotel to be avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 28 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcciesOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Firstly I must apoligise for you disappointing stay but I am sorry but we do not have a room 28 so i am unable to identify the room you stayed in?

I wish you had brought this to our attention at the time and we would have endevoured to make your stay more enjoyable.

My email address is karen.day@britanniahotels.com and I would be grateful if you could please drop me a line with your room name and date of stay and I will investigate further for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This has got to be one of the worst hotels that I have stayed in, to come and find the reception clerk asleep is atrocious. This is a bad perception and review of how a hotel should be. As for one member of staff in the restaurant with red hair and piercings on his face has a bad manner towards guests and if this is the kind of staff you have working there I will be telling everyone to avoid this hotel. I hope these members of staff are dealt with appropriately and in a correct manner I will be taken this further.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Louise my Night Porter came to me the next morning with your comments and appropriate action has been taken.

Should you wish to discuss this in further detail please email me. My email address is karen.day@britanniahotels.com and I would be grateful if you could please drop me a line with your room name and date of stay and I will investigate further for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#21 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,001 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#37 of 65 in Aberdeen
528 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
5.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Property: Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing