We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday roast slightly disapointed”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday roast slightly disapointed”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

my wife & I fancied a sunday roast unfortunally sunday roast stopped serving at 5:00pm . was handed the menu but was disapointed with menu (we both end up with scampi not the best sunday dinner ) On the plus side good service from staff & have been at the Palm court for h & a family night & both were good so will be back but try & have some type of roast on sunday evening menu

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Good Evening

Thank you for your review and indeed your comments with regards to your recent visit to the hotel. I am pleased to note that again on your recent visit you enjoyed the high level of service we offer and similar to that of previous.

I note your comments with regards to offering the Sunday Roast all day and I will take this on board and bring this as an option at our next food and beverage meeting.

Once again thank you for your review and comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.


With Best Wishes


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    164
    71
    35
    35
See reviews for
269
203
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
542 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was impressed with the service on arrival, being greeted & directed to the table reserved for our party, in what was a very busy room.
The menu afforded plenty of choice, although the food seemed overpriced for meals, which appeared to be more 'bar supper' than the price would suggest.
My meal was satisfactory, but the sweet corn & chive risotto served with the chicken was somewhat solid.
Having any kind of conversation was challenging, as a rather enthusiastic party in the bar seemed intent on raising the noise levels beyond that which was comfortable. Perhaps a manager could have suggested that they tone things down a bit?
The Palm Court is obviously a popular venue, but not one which I could recommend for anything other than the efficient table service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Good Afternoon


Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the service offered during your recent visit to the hotel. I must admit we are extremely busy at the minute particularly with larger bookings many of them birthday and anniversary celebrations.

I am disappointed you though the food offered was of poorer value and I will this feedback to the kitchen team.

Thank you once again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.


With Best Wishes.


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
876 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We went with a huge group and it was handled very well. Food was good and service prompt. We would go back. Lovely decor and cosy pub top it off. Kids meals are very well done especially the desserts. Salads are very nice and my goats cheese tart with figs was great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TippOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. We aim to offer a high standard of quality and service and I am pleased that you had the opportunity to experience this first hand. It also also great to hear the little ones enjoyed there dinner too.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Wishes


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently attended a friends birthday party at the palm court, and what a fantastic night it was ! The staff were very attentive and couldnt do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. The dinner was delicious, compliments to the chef ! This is a very well run hotel with very friendly staff. Cant recommend it highly enough !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreagB6633BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you had such a great night at the recent birthday celebrations. It was certainly a night to remember and one of the larger events we have looked after here at the hotel.

The staff are equally delighted to be seeing such favorable feedback for this event and they appreciate the time taken to post such review.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With Best Wishes

Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We attended a friend's birthday party recently at the Palm Court Hotel. The staff were very attentive and approachable, the atmosphere was great and the overall experience was great. The hotel is compact and makes for easy access to the bedrooms when required :)

Food was excellent - highly recommend a visit even for this alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horseface C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed the recent birthday celebrations you attended here at the hotel. It was certainly a night to remember and one of the larger events we have done at the hotel. It was an absolute pleasure looking after everyone and I will pass your feedback onto the team later this week at their weekly meeting.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Wishes


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked the Palm Court for my mum and dad's sapphire anniversary, for them to renew their vows. Right from the start The service was excellent. Graham wouldn't do enough for us. Both rooms were set up and decorated lovely for us, the good was excellent, and staff were very friendly and quick with service. I could not fault them on anything, and would definitely recommend them for weddings and meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eguy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that all your family had such a great time last weekend on the occasion of your parents sapphire wedding. It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all and I am delighted everything went so well.

I will pass on your feedback to the team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

With best wishes

Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This a reasonably priced clean and tidy hotel that serves a wonderful Scottish breakfast. The staff are many and helpful and the overall impression is a very well run hotel. The only difficulty I found was that staying there and going to bed before 1.00 am when you are not part of the wedding party, is not conducive to getting a nights sleep. The beat from dance music, which I normally like, comes through your room. My suggestion is stay there if you are at the wedding or on a late night, but if you want a good sleep on a Saturday night it is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here at the hotel in particular the breakfast.

As per your review we are particularly busy with weddings and so many couples over the years have had such an enjoyable and memorable day with us. Any guests we are aware that are staying at the hotel who are not part of celebration we always try and allocate these rooms at the back of the hotel away from all the event rooms and I apologise if this was not not as part of your stay.

Thank you again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and hopefully we can allocate a quieter room for you


With best wishes


Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,937 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: 81 Seafield Road, Aberdeen AB15 7YU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the Granite City with its sparkling silver rock buildings and its endless list of attractions and activities. It has something for all, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The 4 star Palm Court Hotel, located in the quiet West End area of Aberdeen, offers guests a warm and friendly environment with 23 stylish and comfortable bedrooms, ample free onsite parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The hotel is perfectly situated for onwards travel, with easy access to AECC and Aberdeen Airport. A warm welcome and traditional Scottish food is guaranteed at The Palm Court's restaurant, The Bothy. The stylish yet relaxing surroundings of the restaurant and conservatory are ideal for quick lunch, relaxing meal or special celebratory dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Aberdeen
Hotel Palm Court
Palm Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing