We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Hotel for a Special function”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Special Hotel for a Special function”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife Elizabeth had a special function in the Sanderson Room at Palm Court Hotel on 6th April. The dinner was attended by 30+ ladies. All commented on the excellent dinner and the service given by all staff. Thanks to Sharlene for her efficient help in the planning for this function. A very special thanks to Graham Urquhart who went beyond the call of duty with the final touches and to all his staff who served the meal and made this a very memorable day for all. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented a comment made by guests from all over Scotland. For those who stayed over they all were impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms and the high standards set. Breakfast was brilliant. All had a great stay in this hotel and I cannot recommend it enough. The value for money is beyond doubt one of the best in Aberdeen. Do give it a try, you will not regret it. Thanks again for GREAT FOOD, EXCELLENT SERVICE AND FRIENDLY MANAGEMENT AND STAFF.

Room Tip: Every room has its own ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughM523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and I am delighted that your wife enjoyed her recent event here at the Hotel. We strive to ensure our quality and service exceeds our customers expectations and I am delighted your wife had the opportunity to experience this first hand.

Once again thank you for your review and hopefully you can join your wife the next time you visit the hotel.

With Best Wishes
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    170
    71
    35
    35
See reviews for
272
205
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

5 nights stay. Not given room we booked. Were comped a drink while they sorted it out, and were then charged for one of the two drinks. Beds were a mattress with no box spring low to the floor. Breakfast almost inedible. Some of the staff were excellent. These people need to find a better hotel to work at. Upon check out, the woman at reception was downright miserable. Price was over 4 times what others we knew were paying in Aberdeen at this time.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the Hotel.

As per your husband's review the one previous, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the hotel and felt necessary to write two separate reviews. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further please be sure to contact me at the hotel.

With Best Wishes


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We thought because we were paying A LOT of money ( U$ 350 for our midweek nights ) and paying upfront about 2 months ahead and somewhere I saw this classed as 4 star and Tripadvisor ( my bible ) said it was good , that it would be a nice place . It is NOT a nice place . The rooms are very small and dingy . The whole place needs a good scrub . Stains on the carpets all over the place . Walls are marked and dirty . The breakfast was poor (we tried it a few times ) . Poor quality food that was not well prepared . The service (except for a sullen young woman on checkout ) was actually very good . Very noisy , especially at night . Great WIFI. the recently renovated bathroom was very cheaply done . Flimsy plastic everywhere , including the toilet seat and shower floor . The beds had thin mattresses , no box spring and were so low to the ground that it was uncomfortable to get down to sleep . We really felt like we were in some cheap old hotel in Reno . We were expecting much more .

Room Tip: I don't know what to say , we were told that our room was in front and away from the noise . It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdmiller_pcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Good Evening

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel.

I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us here at the Hotel. Should you wish to discuss this further please be sure to get in touch at palmcourt@g1group.com.

With Best Wishes

Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

It you like to sleep well, you better not choose this hotel. You can hear every noise and you learn much more about your neighbor than you want. The bathroom construction is blowsy, between the tiles are finger wide gaps, the mountings are loose and the water out of the tap is interrupted by some air.
The good thing about sleepless night is that the bar has really charme and the selection of beer is fine and therefore it is somehow a help to get some sleep.
The evening meal is average on a british expectancy level. Breakfast may hit you like a hammer (water wet scrambled eggs with dry bacon), especially when Scottish kitchen is not your favour. Unnecessary to mention that the offering of a coffee is more of a threat.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Good Afternoon


Thank you for your review following you recent stay here at the hotel. Feedback good or bad is essential for us to continue.to learn and strive to ensure all our guests enjoy the hospitality within the hotel.

Should you wish to discuss any of your concerns following your stay please be sure to get in touch with me at palmcourt@g1group.com

Thank you once again for your review


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My son had his wedding reception at the Palm Court on the 22nd March and we were blown away with the service, professionalism standard of food and attention to detail.
Graham and his team give 110% and we never had to worry about a thing on the day which meant that we could relax and enjoy every minute. FANTASTIC !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Good Morning Pat and Eddie


Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that you had such a great day at your Son's wedding last Saturday. It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all and I equally enjoyed the day with your guests all having such a memorable day.

We strive to ensure we offer the highest possible level of quality and service and I am so proud of the team and how they offered this at the weekend to you all.

I look forward to see you at the hotel in the near future where we can grab a coffee and catch up


With Best Wishes


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My Brother had his wedding at the Palm Cout hotel on Saturday night and the experience was excellent, Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the whole day was fantastic. The attention to detail and quality of food for the meal was great. I have been to so many weddings and events who cater for a number of people where the food is cold and the service is not personal, this was not the case. The food was piping hot and delicious and the staff accomodated every request with a smile. Rooms and breakfast was were great and all the guests agreed. Everything about the day was fantastic. 10 out of 10 would highly recommend to host any occassion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Good Morning Claire


Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your brother's wedding last weekend. As mentioned on Sunday, it was such a pleasure looking after you all and you all certainly know how to have a great day.

The feedback from the day has be so complimentary and i am equally delighted all your guests had equally as a enjoyable day and had the opportunity to experience our high level of quality and service first hand.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future..

With Best Wishes


Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

No lifts in this Quaint hotel but staff went out of their way to get us a room on ground floor. Full cooked breakfast was one of the best we've had and proper porridge too. Bed was comfortable but bit low for me room was well equipped with all our needs will definately be back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrahamUrquhart, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the hotel whilst attending a wedding.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am delighted you had the opportunity to experience the high level of quality and service we offer first hand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

With Best Wishes

Regards
Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,089 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: 81 Seafield Road, Aberdeen AB15 7YU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the Granite City with its sparkling silver rock buildings and its endless list of attractions and activities. It has something for all, whether your stay is for business or pleasure. The 4 star Palm Court Hotel, located in the quiet West End area of Aberdeen, offers guests a warm and friendly environment with 23 stylish and comfortable bedrooms, ample free onsite parking and complimentary Wi-Fi. The hotel is perfectly situated for onwards travel, with easy access to AECC and Aberdeen Airport. A warm welcome and traditional Scottish food is guaranteed at The Palm Court's restaurant, The Bothy. The stylish yet relaxing surroundings of the restaurant and conservatory are ideal for quick lunch, relaxing meal or special celebratory dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Aberdeen
Hotel Palm Court
Palm Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing