We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #21 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Not much to say about this hotel other than if you want a nice, clean hotel, excellent food and a hearty breakfast at a decent price right in the heart of the city then this is for you. Staff couldn't have been better either. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Advisor_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Mick061,

Not much else to say but thanks for summing us up so well. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to point out what we do so well.

Its quite simple, good rooms, good food, good prices, great staff, great location as well as free parking in the city centre and free unlimited fibre optic broad band.

Thanks again.

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very central hotel with free parking available. Rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. Had safe, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge and gowns/slippers provided. Staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us to check in 2 hours early.
Breakfast was pretty steep at £9.95 if booked in advance or £14.95 if on the day, however plenty of other options available as hotel so central.
Hotel did provide earplugs and note to say may be noisy due to central location however we didn't hear a thing.
Would definitely recommend staying here, good value and we will be back!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath (we had a walk in shower - which we preferred) but if required best to req...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Hazel W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the amenities we have to offer.

We do offer a great deal on breakfast by picking up a voucher for £10 the night before which is significantly cheaper than the other 4 star hotels in the city and with all food cooked fresh to order you are welcome to enjoy as much of it as you like for your £10.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Wild highly recommend. Gt central location and gt hotel. The room was spacious and dressing grown and slippers were provided. Staff very helpful. Wi-fi free and gd band width. Breakfast was buffet and was an excellent selection. Wld recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gideon000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Gideon000,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our free wi-fi. Its fibreoptic and currently the fastest in the city.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night stay during X factor live tour. The AECC hotels were very expensive so we took a chance through Booking.com and got a great rate. I didn't have high hopes but was very pleasantly surprised. Just a 10 minute walk from the train station, this hotel is in a perfect location within Union Street Gardens and near the shopping centres. The staff on check in were very friendly and helpful and later booked us a taxi to get to the AECC (£12). The room was a good size and although it had slightly dated furniture and television system it provided good value for money. It was extremely clean including the bathroom which was a good size and everything was provided. We didn't have a problem with noise and didn't need the earplugs, perhaps because of the Mojitos we consumed in the hotel bar?! At all times the staff across the hotel were very friendly. The breakfast we added on using the vouchers provided (£10pp), very nice and plenty provided. If prices are favourable in the future I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Remember you get what you pay for, a standard twin is exactly that. If you want more, pay for an upg...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Donnamu,

Thanks for your great review on your recent stay.

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and took advantage of the excellent cocktail list in the bar, Im sure as well as making you sleep better it also made some of the X-Factor finalists sound a little better too ;-)

We look forward to having you back to stay again. If you are booking online again, please look at www.thistle.com as it is the guaranteed lowest rate available, even cheaper than booking.com and the like.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Check in was a breeze - Receptionist was very friendly and helpful - she even phoned out room after 10 minutes to check that all was ok for us (don't know her name but she have short dark hair and glasses). Room was extremely comfortable and quiet. Excellent breakfast at restaurant. Great value for money. Would have no hesistation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Kelly S,

Thank you so much for your recent review, Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Its really encouraging to hear that Dorota our reception team member looked after you so well. We encourage call backs to all of our check in's to check that everything is the way you would like it in your room, there's nothing worse than finding out on check out that we could have done something better. We prefer the proactive approach and I'm glad you appreciated this.

We look forward to having you visit again.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I had a one night stay at the Thistle Hotel. The hotel was very clean and fresh and the room was very clean. I was early for breakfast, so not everything was available at the time as the staff were still setting up. I would recommend this hotel for a very good, very central stay. My only criticism is that my room was at the front, so there was traffic noise and loud music from pubs/clubs etc. The hotel does warn of this and provides ear plugs, but if you prefer quiet, it would be worth asking for a quieter room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Beyla,

Thank you for your recent review. Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was particularly pleasesd to hear that despite being early for breakfast the team were happy to let you enjoy an early breakfast from what we had ready at the time.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice,, however I chose the kings suite as it seemed to offer more for value,, for one nights stay the cost was £129.00,, the price included a full cooked breakfast,, mini fridge and coffee machine in the room also,, free wifi and there's also a docking system yet you have to Bluetooth the music I gave up after the 5th attempt,,reception staff are well mannered and helpful,, the hotel bar is very expensive and would advise people not to use it,, there's bath robes slippers and toiletries in the kings suite also a hair dryer ,, there's plenty of places to eat and drink within walking distance as the location is right in the centre,,plenty of towels are left to use so also less luggage, the rooms are nice and also cleaned to a high standard,,

Room Tip: Safety deposits boxes are free within the room,, no need to pack towels,robes,slippers or toiletries...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear smiler-7,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and particularly noticed the new ameneties we have in our suites such as the Nespresso coffee machines and top of the range Bose bluetooth docks as well as the complimentary drinks and snacks provided in your fridge. I'm sorry to hear you had trouble connecting, one of our friendly staff could have helped you out with that.

All of our rooms come with complimentary toiletries, towels and free fibreoptic wifi so even those not lucky enough to have a suite are still well looked after.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £53 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing