We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very well hotel, reception staff are excellent and check in was easy and speedy. Rooms are of a high standard and immaculately clean. I had a room at the rear of the hotel and didnt get disturbed by noise. Breakfast is excellent and the morning staff were lovely. This is not the cheapest option in Aberdeen but the location is great and the hotel has much charm. I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheatreTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear TheatreTravel2010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found everything to your satisfaction. The hotel certainly does have some charm, we are 121 years old and The Caledonian was the first hotel in Aberdeen so has plenty of history too.

We look forward to having you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    344
    149
    65
    31
See reviews for
84
342
88
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed for three nights in an Executive Room with breakfast included. The room was okay and the breakfasts not worth bothering about. One morning the fire alarm went off at 7am and we were all evacuated into the street. There seemed to be no organisation of staff and no one checked the room numbers and names and the staff looked as confused as the guests. This is the third and last time I shall stay in this hotel as there is much better value to be had in Aberdeen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Justonemoreholiday,

Thank you for taking the time again to post a review on your recent stay.

The fire alarm is there to protect our guests and our staff and the priority at all times is ensuring the safety of everyone within the hotel. As I am sure you are aware the fire brigade were in attendance on this occasion and were more than happy with how the evacuation was carried out.

Please feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhynie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean, comfortable and wonderful staff. We have stayed at the Caley several times over the last few years and have always enjoyed our stay. It is a good quality hotel made great by its staff, serves a fine breakfast, has a central locaion that is made even better by the proximity of the beautful Union Terrace Garden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear malcolm e,

Thank you so much for your review. I think you summed us up to a T in your 5 star review.

It's great to read another review praising our staff as we really feel they make our hotel what it is. I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast as we offer an extensive selection with more than enough choice for everyone...with your description of 'fine' I can only assume you are local and therefor I hope you indulged on some haggis and tattie scones to start your day.

We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed saturday night at Balmoral suite enjoyed it so much booked the sunday night as well.
Great view over Union Terrace, a little noisy but you are in the heart of Aberdeen city centre and it just becomes a part of the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Janet W,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review of your recent stay.

The Balmoral Suite is indeed a lovely room, the high ceilings are stunning and with a lovely view of Union Terrace Gardens its hard to beat in the city centre.

I am glad you appreciated that sometimes in the city centre there may be some noise that is completely outwith our control.

Thanks again and we hope to have you visit again soon.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is great and staff is friendly - I also enjoyed the communal areas. However, the rooms are not always up to scratch, with my room having cracked bathroom tiles, hair in the bath tub, stains on the mirror and a very loud ventilation system.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Petals88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Petals88,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was pleased to hear that our staff were friendly and the communal areas were pleasing.

I must apologise for the issues you encountered in your room, these have been passed to the relevant managers to action as a matter of urgency.

Kind Regards

Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed in the Balmoral Suite for one night. The suite was luxurious, very spacious and with every comfort. Breakfast was delicious with a wide choice of appetising foods to suit all if not most tastes. The hotel is very clean and decorated to a very high standard. Staff are welcoming, friendly and professional. The atmosphere is relaxed and despite being in the centre of town, there was little noise even with the room overlooking the hotel front. Had a very comfortable sleep. Have recommended to family and friends and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Solstrand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Solstrand1,

Thank you so much for your excellent 5 star review!

I am really pleased to hear that everything was to your liking. The Balmoral Suite you stayed in is one of my personal favourites with its high ceiling it has so much charm and character. Add in the Bose bluetooth sound dock and Nespresso coffee machine and you have the best of both modern and traditional.

We look forward to welcoming you ,and hopefully those you have receommended us to, soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

our first visit to the Caley for Afternoon Tea and we were not disappointed. First class service from our waitress who looked after us . Great selection of sandwiches and cakes. my only complaint would be the scones were a little hard . Nice to see a selection of gluten free cakes on offer which was enjoyed by one of our group. will be back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G, Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear marymac13,

Thanks for your recent review on our your visit for afternoon tea.

Our vintage afternoon tea's are one of the reasons people keep coming back to us and its great to hear that you enjoyed yours. We are always happy to deal with any special dietary requirements so it's great to hear this was appreciated.

I strongly believe that in terms of value for money that our afternoon tea is second to none in the city. With a selection of home baked cakes, a choice of sandwiches and your choice of leaf tea all served in the luxurious and traditional surroundings for only £13.95 its definitely hard to beat.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Colin Gunn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,983 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Property: Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing