We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dog friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, bed only, clean room, fab sized bed. The hotel is dog friendly! But at 25 pounds for the night, just for bringing a dog along is extreme,especially as nothing is provided for them.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review on the Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen City Centre, We have many returning guests that bring their pets with them. Hypnos Beds are a standard across the brand giving you comfort and plenty of room. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    268
    206
    97
    61
See reviews for
90
275
47
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Last night (09.05.14) I had a university ball in the Copthorne Hotel. The organisation was very poor. Some friends had dietary requirements and the hotel knew about it a long time before, but they still were not prepared for it. For the main deal we had chicken, risotto with mushrooms and some vegetables, a vegetarian friend had to constantly remind waiters about her dietary requirements and once everyone got their meal, she had to wait around 10 minutes to get only risotto on her plate.... Furthermore, another friend who couldn't eat diary products got for dessert pieces of pineapple, grapes and orange.... Regarding the food, the chicken breast was way overcooked, the meat was extremely dry and it was painful to swallow it. Also, the risotto was under-cooked and the rice was quite hard. The dessert (lemon cheesecake) was tasteless. Moreover, we didn't even get glasses for water on the tables (although we had jugs with water) and everyone had to go to the bar and ask for a glass, ridiculous. The organisation was so bad that our side of the room got our mains and once we had nearly finished them only then did the other side get theirs i.e 20 mins after us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I am disappointed to read that elements of your evening was not what you was expecting, this event is extremely important to us & one we have hosted for the last two years. Regarding the points you have raised we work hard with the team to ensure we are always looking at ways to improve the service delivery and of course the guest expectation, so I would like to thank you for bringing them to my attention. Food selection or menu choice is not made by the hotel yet the team work closely with the client to try to select an appropriate offering. I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future so that you can see & sample the great Menu we have within the bar & restaurant that brings many cultures together in a variety of ways.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Visiting Scotland first time in my life, this hotel was a perfect stay! Very close to Union St. - the main street in Aberdeen - it's just 5 to 10 minutes walking from main places downtown.

For those like me who are whiskies "passionate", going down Rose st., just on the corner with Union st, there's a whisky shop offering tasting to customers and they are very professional about the bottles they sell!

The room was very comfortable with huge king size bed for two 'large' sleeping, and in-room free coffee and biscuits were quite enough for an afternoon snack or light breakfast.
Location is also perfect for the winter sales shopping, very close to shopping centers and other special shops.
If I'll go back to Aberdeen, I'll for sure stay again here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emi-jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
The whiskey shop will be pleased you gave them a mention this is one we direct a lot of visitors to when they are looking to take back a true taste of Scotland. I will pass on your kind words to the team who will I am sure look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was excellent. I booked it the night before and still got an excellent room. Everything was clean, fresh and modern. Free parking was included, and available. I did not stay for breakfast, so cannot comment on this.

The one negative was that the wifi signal appeared to be too weak to properly reach my room. I didn't complain though as I was only three for a night and was quite busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraP1881983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I pleased you enjoyed your stay, next time please try our breakfast. One last thing like us and follow us on either Facebook or Twitter to get some more great weekend offers.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel and our room was beautiful, very spacious and beautifully clean. We were most impressed by every member of staff we encountered - nothing was too much trouble, and they were very attentive at reception, in the bar and at breakfast. Breakfast itself was piping hot and delicious.
Particular thanks should go to David Crighton, who not only recommended the hotel, but who also arranged our break, ensuring every detail was perfect. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64Size9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Your comments will mean a lot to the team in Aberdeen as our focus always is you the guest and making you “welcome” each and every time you stay with us. David is one of our newest members to the management team and come to us with some great experience and positive ideas. I hope you get to come back and stay with us again so that the team can “welcome” you.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Overall my stay was reasonable but when we decided to have a drink at the residents bar after our function we turned into criminals. Credit card details must be given, no cash, incase you order your drinks and run away, even though your staying in the hotel. Never been in a hotel with so much mistrust.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seany89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I am pleased you enjoyed a recent visit to the Copthorne Aberdeen City Centre and that a function you attended went well. Our guest security and comfort is important to us and making sure that billing procedures on departure are correct to avoid delay and in some cases embarrassment is part of this process. Unfortunately it is the sign of the times and before a guest can charge anything to their room we have to open an account for them, to do this we require either a credit or debit card details left with the front desk so that charges may be processed correctly. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked in for Saturday night, the reception girls Abbey & Maria were very efficient and cheery, the room was immaculate and spacious, everything worked!
Ordered room service at 1 in the morning, arrived promptly, and appeared to be freshly made.
Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnKarwl-Jackes, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Abbey & Maria are delighted you have mentioned them and this enforces the “Welcome” message we are promoting within the hotel.
All guests are important to us and we are pleased we get the chance to “welcome” them to the Copthorne Aberdeen. Please like and follow us on Facebook & Twitter to find out more on our “welcome” message and to be one of the first to hear of some great weekend offers.
Kind Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen

Property: Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Address: 122 Huntly Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located in city center, 7 miles to airport & within walking distance of museums, galleries, shops & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing